We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception
Ranked #14 of 446 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Definitely an overwhelming experience... but in a good way. The staff is very helpful in directing you how to get to the various places within the basilica and the service itself was nice (semi-traditional).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,286
    237
    38
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A D.C. must-see”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Basilica is a marvel itself. Even if your not religious, if your visiting D.C see if you can stop by and spend some time to walk around this magnificent church. The upper part of this church is amazing - the architecture is something to be admired. There are small chapels dedicated to different representations of Blessed Virgin Mary - each decorated beautifully. The mosaics and stain glass windows are artistically done well. After the upper church, go down to the lower church and it will give you a very solemn, quiet and unique experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tparunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is amazing and a must see. Beautiful building full lots of history. I was there when a school choir was singing. The groups songs filled the whole hall. It was beautiful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
555 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Breath taking. A must see.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I am extremely happy we made the time while in DC to visit this church. It is amazing! We did the one hour tour and am thankful for that. I do not know if I would have walked away with as much appreciation if we hadn't done the tour. I believe there is a book you can purchase that will explain each room but the tour did that for us. Breath taking. Metro is very close to the university and worth the trip. Each room is unique and special. Loved our visit and was one of the highlights of our trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Me9247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I like to go and also take freinds to the Shrine. It is so nice and peaceful.It is in the middle of town Lovely windowsand aalso a nice gift shop. So much to see.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception also viewed

 

Been to Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing