We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southerner with a vehicle”
Review of Chinatown Archway

Chinatown Archway
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
488 reviews
223 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Southerner with a vehicle”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Okay so many times the New Yorkers questioned why would I ever drive in New York. Well the answer was simple, I wanted to take my time and see it all. Chinatown is a must but the parking is crazy as usual. We were lucky that a lady in one of the shops told us that we were in the wrong spot and needed to move to another. The arch is great. Be sure to enjoy the food. I was able to find a wonderful gluten free noodle house and loved the people and the food in it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gwenbraum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    44
    36
    15
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cool to see the archway, but nothing else impressive.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

After taking the metro to Chinatown, the archway was a very nice welcome. Well, that was the only welcome we got. The store owners were not very friendly, a lot of the restaurants looked dirty and there were people on every corner begging for money. We walked around for a bit, then realized that the archway was the best thing about Chinatown, so we boarded the metro for somewhere else. Cool to say that we went to Chinatown, but that's about it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricebill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mk92fl
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“China town or is it China Quarter?”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Beautiful ornate gateway to Chinatown right next to the Verizon center. Comes into its own at night when lit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
491 reviews
459 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“woow”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This archway is really impressive. The rest of the chinatown not so much, but this archway is something I would recommend to see!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,035 reviews
882 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“WHERE HAS THE CHINATOWN GONE?”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Chinatown Archway is the "North Star" to the "disappearing" Chinatown of Washington, DC. As mentioned in my review of the Chinatown of Washington, DC, (TripAdvisor # 131, Things To Do in Washington DC), HIGH RENTS and gentrification are the reasons for the departure of Chinese businesses and residents of Chinatown.

Use the Archway as your landmark when visiting Chinatown. Remaining in this area are few Chinese restaurants and gift shops.Located near by are various types of restaurants, bars, the Verizon Center, Metro Station, Museums (such as the National Portrait Gallery and Smithsonian American Art Museum), etc.

Enjoy your visit!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LolaGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown Archway also viewed

 

Been to Chinatown Archway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing