We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Eastern Market
from $30.00
More Info
from $49.00
More Info
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveler rating
176
160
60
16
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
160
60
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flea market market lunch indoor market crab cakes great market outdoor vendors capitol hill neighborhood vendors selling local artists food vendors unique items for sale inside the building across the street worth the trip great place to visit dc area
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Eastern Market is a fun, eclectic place for food, art, crafts, clothing, and other street market goods. The indoor food market runs every day, while the outdoor arts, crafts, clothes, and fun market is weekend only. Indoors is also a great eatery called The Market Lunch. Be prepared for a long line at the eatery on weekends! We’ve enjoyed shopping and sightseeing every time we’ve gone. Fresh meat, pastas, cheeses, baked goods, Ethnic goods, cooked and fresh, it’s all there and it’s all good! The building itself is also interesting and historic. When you’re there, be sure to visit Capitol Hill Books right across C Street, arguably the messiest - and best - bookstore on the planet!

Thank TexasRangerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was very much looking forward to shopping at the Eastern Market, but was disappointed. There were not that many vendors (this was on a Sunday, which I had read was a good day to go). The Metro stops right there. There were a lot of hand-made articles and unusual items, but I really thought there would be more in volume and types of merchandise.

1  Thank Murphy5708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

Went to the market on a Thursday around lunch time. Basic farmers market in a historic building.
At the market you can find fresh fish, meat, and pork. They also have fruits and vegetables. But I think rather expensive, but may be it was because we were foreigners?
Not a complete market, and no farmers there when we visit it. Not much is going on.
The range of products offered is rather small, and there are only very few opportunities to enjoy the local food in a convenient environment.
I guess it must be a great place to go on the weekends outside as well.

2  Thank springbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

What a charming market! Breakfast was wonderful. The buckwheat blueberry pancakes were delicious . Great vendors .

Thank sftripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Grab breakfast brunch or a picnic. Shop to cook for a gourmet extravaganza. It’s fun to explore the little stalls and it seems well priced.

Thank JosieOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

This is among the farmers markets that we rotate goung to, so we're here about once a month. The fruits and veggies outside are top quality and are comparable to other markets. Inside are 2 outstanding stalks--the best cheese place in the metro DC area and an excellent fresh pasta stall across from it. That's why we make the drive from the 'burbs!!

Thank RonFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

The roads are closed and pedestrians can work freely in the street and road.

You can find many stands selling arts, food, etc

Plenty of restaurants are also available offering seating options.

Thank yveslouisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

I walked through the whole market and did not make a purchase. I had high expectations for this place but found it just nice. Tried some of the food vendors and did enjoy the Cajun cuisine.

1  Thank AlanMill88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

The web site for this market really plays it up. I was disappointed because it had very few places to actually eat. The people selling food to take home and prepare are all the same type of food...lots of different pork, beef and chicken sellers. Only one bakery and I touched a piece of garlic bread (wrapped up of course) and it was very hard. We did buy some fresh pasta and marinara sauce and took it back to our hotel and cooked for dinner - wow delish.....we didn’t go on the weekend where they have outdoor vendors so it might be better then. I’ve been wanting to come here but I won’t be back.

1  Thank VirginiaLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

We were hoping to eat breakfast at the Eastern Market but it didn't have much to offer around the time we got there, so we ate at a café nearby but we did return for lunch at the outdoor market and that was quite good.

The indoor market too was bustling around mid-day with a eclectic mix of wares being sold from fresh produce to souvenirs, food and more.

We chose the Eastern market over the Union market because of it's location and proximity to other attractions.

1  Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews