We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick and Tasty, Potbelly Sandwiches Satisfy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Potbelly Sandwich Works

Potbelly Sandwich Works
Ranked #424 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quick and Tasty, Potbelly Sandwiches Satisfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I liked the cheerful attitudes behind the counter at the Union Station store. The bathrooms are cleaned every two hours and a welcome relief from the typical train station atmosphere. Lots of photos and cool wooden cabinets. Family friendly with diaper changing equipment easy to get to and to use inside both bathrooms.

The food is good. Sandwiches are filling, with a modest amount of whatever cold cut you ask for, plus you can get them toasted and with soup or salad for a reasonable price. The milkshakes are fabulous! And, if you like old fashioned dill pickles you can purchase a huge one for a buck. What's not to like?

Seating is at round wire mesh tables and works well for a quick sit down or an informal meeting of friends.

I give it a 4.5 out of 5 overall.

Intrepid Traveler

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    33
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A step above Subway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Visitors seem to enjoy the hustle and bustle of the Potbelly sandwich chain. Stand shoulder to shoulder with locals, and be prepared to order up when you get to the counter, if not before (keep an eye on the counter help, who often call out to ask your order as you're approaching). Don't goof and request your toppings before your sandwich is warmed and ready. This popular shop uses hot peppers, so be prepared for a spicy bite, or request the peppers on the side. Shakes and cookies are also available for those with a sweet tooth.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Qlever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Why aren't Potbelly in the UK?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We loved it - the choice of sandwiches, fillings and sauces and drinks. It's an upmarket Subway in many ways, but classier than the latter in every respect. We were so impressed we kept going back during our visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lonewolf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
605 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Not always consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I say not always consistent based on the fact I would eat there at least once a week, more like twice to sometimes three times. I would generally order the same thing, and 50% of the time the order would get messed up, from the bread to the cheese to the meat, you name it. It was close and fast and those were important factors to me. The line can get very long very fast in this location, so get there early.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Graet place to hit up for lunch for a "little" change. It's a sandwich shop, nothing special but better than the typical subway. Fast service. Can be crwded at lunch, but that is the norm for the options in DC. Good place to get out of the office.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jasonpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potbelly Sandwich Works also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Potbelly Sandwich Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing