We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Emerald Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We recently stayed at the Fairmont for 4 nights as part of our Honeymoon to the USA. We loved the location as it is so central to all the attractions from Georgetown to the Capital Building.
The staff are all very courteous and helpful. Check in was a breeze and the rooms are very spacious and clean. Nothing was a problem for the concierge or any of the staff.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Nation's Capital.
We were pleasantly surprised by a lovely bottle of Champagne and congratulations note upon check in. It is these little touches that make a difference between a good hotel and a great hotel.
All in all we had nothing to fault and would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzGlobalWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed part of your honeymoon at The Fairmont. Please come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,919
    680
    156
    63
    35
See reviews for
746
802
139
831
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterdown, ON
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed at this amazing facility this past weekend, in the unbelievable Magnolia Suite. It was perfect for our family with a murphy bed in the main living room that the kids loved, as well as a flat screen tv that rotated 180 degrees to face the living room. Not only was the hotel beautiful and the room spectacular, but the staff was great also. These people are professionals! From the doorman Adem, and concierges Robin and Robert right to the people in the fitness and pool area, everyone was so helpful and friendly. The area was great and even walking distance to the White House. There was even a Starbucks directly across the street which was helpful when the kids slept in. We would come back and stay in a second. There's so much to do in this historic city and it is all so close to the Fairmont. Well done!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you so much for letting us know about your wonderful experience in Washington. We look forward to welcoming your family back to The Fairmont in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The DC Fairmont has some pleasant surprises...the delightful view of the courtyard lit at night with a myriad of little white lights along with the sound of fountains provided a relaxing atmosphere to enjoy from the balcony. The fountains also help block out noise inevitable in a major city. The room was not really big or really small, but it was nice to have a little sofa to sit or put your stuff on. My room curiously did not have a mini bar, although it had a spot for it. Vending machines are only on a couple floors, so it was an adventure to get ice and a soda. The bed was comfortable, and the shower water pressure okay. Beautiful lobby.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blarneyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton Beach, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I stayed for two nights and found the hotel to be very nice, great location, but expensive. Given that it is expensive, I think it is fair to assume that the service should be good. I had a terrible experience with room service. They sent the wrong order to my room twice and the evening manager was completely incapable or resolving the issue. I had to go out in a terrible snow storm, in business attire, to find take out food. Enough said...It was a bad experience. The day manager was great and really tried to make up for the problem. I was not looking for a hand out, and will gladly say that tis is a great hotel. However, they definitely have some service issues.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write about your experience. We would like to to make up for the unacceptable service you received. The hotel's food and beverage director welcomes the opportunity to apologize and discuss this with you. Please contact him at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland . u k
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

My wife brought me to this hotel for my 60th birthday, it was the best time .the hotel staff faultless,the room was amazing the bath room large the bed to die for ,the only thing was the cost of the restaurant and room service .$137 for a steak fries onion rings. putting that aside this was the best of the best .will definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkbCleveland.uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you writing about your recent experience at The Fairmont Washington, D.C. We hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

My family goes every year Chrstmas week. We have always stayed the same room "712". I travel all over for business and pleasure and this hotel is a JEM !. I can't say enough about the quality of service and level of detail.. Rooms , healthclub, lobby are all 5 star. Location is best in the city. Every staff member went way out of their way to make sure that my family had a great time. I will be back next year. I am sure that they will gladly give us 712 again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler21nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you so much for the 5 Star review! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

During 2010 my wife and I spent ten nights in this lovely oasis. The Fairmont has the largest, most comfortable lobby and outdoor center courtyard/dining area of any urban hotel we have stayed in. The staff is exceptionally competent and professional, the rooms are large and well appointed and the location is ideal. The West End area is an upscale, interesting mix of condos, townhouses, hotels and corporations. An easy stroll to Foggy Bottom, GWU, Georgetown or Dupont Circle. Enjoy a room on a high floor overlooking M or 24th Street. Avoid the view of the WWF headquarters.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjf09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the courtyard, lobby, guestroom and the neighborhood. Please come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,163 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
316 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,467 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing