We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but don't get room service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #15 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Long Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful but don't get room service”
Reviewed July 23, 2006

We drove down to DC this past weekend, we checked in late 2AM and there was someone readily available to check us in and park our car. The valet was expensive but worth the ease of having the car nearby. Hotel room was nice and clean, over looking a beautiful garden. We ordered room service (they have 24 hour room service) and found the food to be overpriced and inedible. I ordered the cheese burger, which was dry (medium rare) and my boyfriend ordered the 20 dollar pizza, which was absolutely disgusting (crust, sauce - everything). The total room service bill was over 70 dollars (we also ordered two sodas) but we could not eat it. We didn't have the heart or the patience (it was already after 3 at this point) to complain. Otherwise the hotel was lovely, out room was clean and well stocked.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,926
    681
    156
    63
    35
See reviews for
749
803
139
835
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

I was here 2 nights for a family wedding and reception. The desk staff gladly answered at least 3 newcomer questions for me. This was help I really, really needed!
I had 2 meals in the on site restaurant, the Juniper. The food was delivered most quickly, the presentation was artistic and creative, a real treat.
The before dinner drinks, meal with the reception, and band were also a very real treat.
Would recommend this place to all travelers and wedding people!!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank SometimesFunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

Good hotel with good location. Ten minute walk to the Foggy Bottom metro stop. Short safe walk to Georgetown. Very clean hotel with great customer service. Avoid having a car if possible. Most things that tourists want to see are accesible by metro. Bread and Chocolate cafe is around the corner and good to get breakfast late for those of us on west coast time. Starbucks accross the street.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JONOVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We stayed after the Fourth of July holiday. Got a SUPERB rate - $159 per night. We also lucked into an American Express promotion where we were given a $50 per day food and beverage credit when we paid for the room with our card!

Location was excellent. A very nice neighborhood inbetween Dupont Ciircle and Georgetown. Foggy Bottom metro stop a short walk away. Many great places to eat around the hotel. We tried Bread and Chocolate for breakfast, Cosi for a snack, Meiwah for Asian food and Grill Fish. All were excellent. We also had a great tasting breakfast in the hotel courtyard. I would take a 1/2 star away for this if I could. The prices were outrageous. Breakfast for four including two coffees, two juices, yogurt and granola, two waffles, one bacon and an eggs benedict was $75!

Lobby, bar and courtyard area are very attractive without being too stuffy. Our room was quite comfortable. The air conditioning unit was very loud when it cycled on but we were so tired from all our sightseeing that we barely heard it at night.

The staff was very attentive and accommodating. Be sure to sign up for the free Fairmont Presidents club for fitness center and internet benefits.

I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cantfindausername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2006

What a lovely hotel. The rooms were spotless and well-appointed. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Great experience. Just a short walk from Georgetown. Parking at the hotel is $29 mandatory valet. If you don't mind a short walk, there is a parking garage adjacent to the Westin Grand that allows overnight parking. It is the PMI garage. The one on the other side of the street does NOT allow overnight parking. We paid between $11-$18 per day. The Bread and Chocolate just around the corner from the hotel is a great place to get a bit to eat. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank BuffaloNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2006

Wonderful hotel - right on the border with Georgetown. Great place to stay for business, close to the heart of DC. Rooms are large and well appointed.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JBond214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2006

I am not a huge Fairmont fan since they are so hit and miss by city. This one is a definite hit! From check-in through check-out, I kept waiting for the other shoe to drop. Waiting to be disappointed but I was pleasantly surprised at every turn! Great hotel. Staff is extremely pleasant and professional. Room was gorgeous and immaculate. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Don't be fooled by its exterior (it looks like a dive from the outside - very nondescript building). It is grand inside. Excellent value as well. I am planning a personal trip to DC this summer and definitely plan to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mkgesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,166 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
320 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,470 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing