We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fairmont Georgetown ROCKS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #8 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington
1 review
“Fairmont Georgetown ROCKS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a fabulous hotel. The location, service and food is amazing! The rooms are a very nice size and it's very clean. I highly recommend this location if you are in DC. It's worth every penny that you spend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you Kim H! We are honored to be your first TripAdvisor review, and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We love hearing our hotel is “fabulous”, and that the “service and food is amazing.” That is quite a compliment!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,684
    590
    138
    53
    31
See reviews for
651
716
123
705
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great hotel and convenient to most places in D. C. The staff was very friendly and professional. There was construction going on during my stay, but it was not very noticeable. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy52 C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you Nancy52 C! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are pleased that you had a “great stay.”

Your compliments toward our “very friendly and professional” team are much appreciated.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Love Fairmont hotel brand and this Fairmont does not disappoint. Everyone at the hotel was super friendly and very helpful. Nick at the front desk was great and knew us by name. We stayed in a corner room with toe double beds and it was huge. Beds are super comfy. Restaurant at hotel is a little over priced for good food. Lots of great places in Georgetown which is only about a 5 block walk. Pool is part of a health club so when there are lap swimmers kids can't splash around. I think there are some family swim times on weekends. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atwadell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you atwadell! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Our team is our greatest asset and we are grateful that you recognized them in your review. Nick is an incredible member of our team, and we are glad you had a chance to interact with him.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Having not been to Washington we were not sure were to stay: Georgetown or close to the Whitehouse. I had booked the Hay Adams which looks beautiful and is right across from the White House.

I couldn't seem to get a definitive answer from anywhere so when I received our President Club Member upgrade coupons to be used at the Fairmont that made the decision for me.

We require two rooms and have one suite connecting to a double room. Both rooms are well appointed and decorated in a current and contemporary fashion. On the first night the hotel made an error and should have booked us into a larger suite using our upgrade coupon, but once we saw the room we were ok with staying put in lieu of a monetary credit on our account.

The only complaint I do have about the hotel is the location. While the Georgetown area is one of the loveliest areas I have ever seen in any major city it is really quiet and you will need to take a cab to all the tourist attractions.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Foxjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you very much Foxjax! We appreciate your Fairmont loyalty and are glad that you chose to stay with us.

It sounds like your first trip to Washington was a good one. We appreciate your compliments toward our property and are glad that you enjoyed your rooms and Georgetown.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Beautiful classic look with and excellent location in the heart of Georgetown. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed but the real treat is the service. They anticipate your needs at the Fairmont. You pay for the luxury but it is worth it.

Room Tip: 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you Gareth P! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We love hearing that our service is “First Class.” That is quite a compliment.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed at the Fairmont for a business trip. From the moment I checked in they made it a point to call me by my name, from front desk to room service. Their was construction going on at Hotel, but it was not a problem....no noise, no inconvenience. Another plus, it is within a few miles of DCA airport (Reagan) and a reasonable taxi ride. The Lobby Bar had piano and singer for entertainment on Friday. Not too loud which I like. Food was great, service the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rknothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you rknothead! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Reviews like yours are invaluable to future travelers and we couldn’t be more grateful. Your compliments toward the “great” food are much appreciated.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed at the Fairmont for 5 nights with my two children for a mini city vacation. It is in a perfect location in order for one to view all of the major attractions that DC has to offer. One can even walk as we did. The staff was great as was the room. This is truly a family friendly chain, but also great for business trips. I would not hesitate to recommend this particular Fairmont to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Darin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you Darin U! We are honored to be your first TripAdvisor review, and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Our team is our greatest asset and we are grateful that you recognized them in your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate you recommending us to others.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,913 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#6 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing