We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #17 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel is quite pleasant. The rooms are nicely furnished as well as being quite large. The location of the hotel is only about 5 minutes to the Foggy Bottom Metro Station and only about 10-15 minute to the Potomac and its waterfront restaurants. If you have a car the parking fees are quite high so beware. In addition, don't forget to try the Bee-tini at the lobby bar!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you Kathy60! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We are thrilled you had a chance to try the BeeTini in the Loggia Lounge. The BeeTini is made of honey and honeycomb from our own rooftop hives.

Your tips will prove invaluable to future travelers and we are grateful that you shared them. We value your recommendation and thank you again for leaving a review,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,953
    689
    156
    63
    35
See reviews for
765
813
141
841
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here in June, at the end of a couple of weeks touring in Virginia.
Everything about this hotel we found to be fabulous -
the location - which is near to Foggy Bottom metro (handy for accessing the city) and walking distance to all the bars and restaurants of Georgetown.
the rooms - spacious and very well equipped. Our room overlooked the street, but we were there at a weekend so it was not noisy and we experienced no disturbance from the renovations, although we expect rooms overlooking the courtyard maybe quieter during the week.
Public areas - very comfortable lounge bar, lovely tranquil courtyard, excellent leisure facilities
Staff - all were exceptional both in their friendliness and professionalism.
Unfortunately, due to a family bereavement we had to cut short our stay by one night, but the staff did everything they could to make this unexpected change of plan easy for us.
We hope to return in the near future to finish the sites of Washington and we certainly will book to stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe a courtyard room if staying mid week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoodleandFaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you BoodleandFaff! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review.

We love hearing that we are “Everything a hotel should be!” That is quite a compliment. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. Our team is our greatest asset and we are grateful that you recognized them in your review.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a conference group for 4 nights. Arrived very, very late with group, ordered the best & quickest room service ever - 20 mins.
Beautiful gracious hotel in a beautiful gracious city. In a great location, lovely to wander around the neighbourhood. Short walk into Georgetown, beautiful old homes, great shopping and very nice restaurants.
Service excellent. Food very good. Lifts fast.
We enjoyed free WiFi by joining the Fairmont Presidents Club.
Sit in the gorgeous conservatory at dusk, have a cocktail & people watch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you Maria G! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review.

Reviews like yours are invaluable to future travelers and we couldn’t be more grateful. It sounds like you really took advantage of the great sights in our city.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The high quality standards of any great Fairmont can always be counted on. Professional and friendly service, deluxe rooms and the food is simply wonderful. Take a few moments and enjoy a beverage in the courtyard at night where the lights are twinkling in this romantic oasis within a city hotel. Simply delightful!

Room Tip: If you join the Farimont hotel members club you can get upgrades at great pries and its free and fas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinglady333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you Travellinglady333! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We love hearing that your stay was beyond your expectations. That is quite a compliment! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed the rooms and food as well.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

All credit to Fairmont and consistency as the Washington staff represented the brand very well.
All staff were attentive, cooperative and courteous.
We stayed 3 days and did not want to leave.
The lounge entertainment was excellent and an opportunity to try the famous hotel "beetini" a martini made with honey from hives off the hotel roof.
The restaurant food menu was fine, but there are plenty of great restaurants within a $10 cab ride. however the restaurant appetizers, live music and martini make for a fine evening in the main lounge.
We chose a corner suite with the extra living area which was well worth the upgrade

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the corner suites if you can, its well worth the price. Or if you are in President...
See more room tips
Green Features: Well done, the Italian beers on the roof make the money used in the bread and the Martini's
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you Bob D! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We are honored you chose to stay with us on your visit to our nation’s capital over the July 4th weekend. Thank you for the kind words toward our “attentive, cooperative and courteous” team. Our team is the most important asset of the hotel, and we are so happy when other people take a moment and share their compliments.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heartland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I came to DC with my 11 year old daughter and my mother-in-law to see all our Nation's capital had to offer. We stayed in a standard room with a king bed on the 10th floor for 5 nights. I am also a member of the President's Club (free and highly recommended). Since we had 3 in our room and only one bed, we were able to get a roll away for no extra charge. My mother-in-law said it was extremely comfortable and the king bed was outstanding as well. The room was clean and the employees were helpful and friendly.
We spent most of our days sightseeing, but when we returned at night the bartender, Jawad, warmly greeted us. He remembered our names, our drinks and our room number. Pinot Grigio for me, Shirley Temple for my daughter and a Beetini for my mother-in-law (they have roof-top bee hives!) Amazing considering how busy the beautiful lobby was each evening. A reflection of the great happy hour specials and wonderful service. Although every employee was friendly and helpful, Jawad went above and beyond; a true quality employee.
We paid under $300 per night at this hotel. Considering the convenient location to the metro and the quality of product and service we received; it was a home run!
We didn't try out the gym or the restaurant, but did order room service dessert one of the nights. The service was great, the dessert wasn't anything spectacular. There are plenty of reasonably priced food options close by and we preferred to go that route. The dine in restaurant (Jaiper?) was suppose to be amazing and has great reviews on trip advisor, urbanspoon and from other hotel guests who we asked.
This is the second Fairmont we've stayed in and I would have to say, we are hooked.
Some things to consider: the outside of the hotel is under construction, if you have late nights and like to sleep in, you should ask for a room away from the noise. Also, the a/c on the 10th floor was not working in the hallway. Our room a/c was working perfectly, but keep that in mind when requesting a room. We also requested late checkout, we were able to stay in out room until 2 pm which was extremely helpful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank heartlandfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you heartlandfoodie! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Reviews like yours are invaluable to future travelers and we couldn’t be more grateful.

Your compliments toward our “friendly and helpful” team are much appreciated. Jawad is an incredible team member and we are glad that you recognized him as “a true quality employee.”

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014

All employees are very cooperative and courteous and this is my main reason for returning to this hotel in D.C. In general everything was great except for the breakfast which could have a reasonable price. besides to us saw lots of people going out for that purpose which was a easy task to find good places around.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you Paulo G! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review.

Your compliments toward our “courteous” team are much appreciated. Our team is our greatest asset ,and we are grateful that you recognized them in your review.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,176 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
339 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,485 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing