We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice touch of luxury, with a price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice touch of luxury, with a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I came to this hotel with a group holding a convention here. Never would have been able to afford it without the group rate we received. The hotel was very clean and polished. It was definitely one of the finer hotels I had ever stayed in. The rooms were cleaned perfectly each day and it always was made to feel fresh and new. The staff was always friendly and willing to help. Great shower and large towels. The air conditioning in the rooms can get downright cold, which was great to me!

My warning to anyone traveling here is in relation to a $100 hold per day that they put on your credit card. This was never stated to me by anyone at the hotel, neither when making my reservation or in a confirmation email. Another member of my group pointed this out to me before my arrival. I called them before arriving and was assured that they would only charge the hold for incidentals up front and then the cost of the room at the end. To be sure I called another time and was told the same information. Upon arriving however, I was told a different story. The host at the desk told me that it was hotel policy to hold $100 per night plus the room cost up front...not what I was told. Since I don't travel with credit of that amount, this was a problem. They worked with me and only took a hold for incidentals for 2 nights but the stress of the situation was not appreciated.

My only other issue is that the facade of the hotel is currently undergoing renovation. During the morning and afternoon hours your room can be filled with the sound of jackhammers and other tools right outside your window. Not what you want to hear when trying to nap after a long day of travel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nzomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you nzomer! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Your compliments toward our “friendly and willing to help” team are much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your room with all of the amenities.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    645
    147
    59
    33
See reviews for
703
763
132
780
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were a group of 10 at Fairmont for 4 nights this week. Very beautiful hotel with large spacious rooms, friendly staff, and a fab gym facility. The location is also very good and can go around the town easily. We had a little disappointment with front desk as they charged us for a already paid stay and locked us out of our rooms. Also for a hotel like this we expect free WIFI but had to pay a lot. Had breakfast there which was good but too pricey. However, found a nice cafe nearby which served a good hot meal at half the price. There are some renovations going on which can be disturbing. The stay was comfortable though

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for the review Shaalu. We apologize for any hardships you endured and appreciate you sharing your feedback. This is always helpful to us as we strive to improve and your notes about the website are very useful.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Fairnont in Georgetown DC June 29-July 3 in room 1017. My sister from Norfolk joined me as we toured Washington DC. (She had just finished 2 rounds of chemo and is cancer free.) Our stay at the Fairmont was a joy! We talked, swam, enjoyed. I would like to mention Mrs. Lopez at the restaurant reception area. She was such a personable and friendly lady. I wanted to be friends with her immediately. She made our dining experience a pleasure.

I thank the Fairmont Hotel and staff for making our get-together a wonderful memory.

-Nancy Shane

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NShaneRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you NShaneRN! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and we are honored to be your first TripAdvisor review.

Thank you for the kind words about our staff. Mrs. Lopez is incredible and we are glad that you had the chance to interact with her. We’re glad we made your trip a “wonderful memory”, that is quite a compliment!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Washington for a for a self-made long weekend. The hotel is in a great part of the city. We were extremely close to all the sites and walking distance to the nice shops on M. The hotel was a little dated in terms of the finishes but it appears to be under renovations so I am assuming that will change. Regardless, the amenities were very nice and everything was in excellent working order. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the little extras, such as bikes for Presidents Club members, made the stay even that much more enjoyable. Their buffet breakfast was great... the interesting juices were a nice treat.

Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you Derek S! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.

We love hearing that the staff was “very friendly and helpful.” Our team is our greatest asset and we are grateful that you recognized them in your review. It’s good to see you took advantage of the Fairmont President’s Club, your membership allows you access to benefits like complimentary hotel bicycle service and Wi-Fi.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Being a Fairmont you know that not much can go wrong with your stay and if you get a good deal its always the recommended option to go. Hotel is close to both Georgetown & Monuments area so makes it easy to get around the city if you are on a holiday.

The room was excellent and even though their is exterior renovation ongoing we were not terribly disturbed. Room Service served from Main Menu at late night which was a big positive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Rohan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you Rohan B!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Reviews like yours are invaluable to future travelers and we couldn’t be more grateful.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My friend and I are "presidential members" and cashed in on our free rooms, upgrades & breakfast coupons. Fabulous 5 days despite construction going on at hotel. We were treated royally and all the staff were very helpful and accomodating. The hotel is close to Georgetown, so we were able to walk to all the momuments, museums, & waterfront. Spacious rooms, clean with spectacular room service. The pool is large enough for laps and the workout rooms packed with all kinds of machines as well as a general gym for classes. Saw many dogs there so it is obvious pet friendly. Especially great service from "Opal" at the front desk who took a great amount of time helping us with our final bill. Concierge Andy very helpful and enthusiastic. I'd stay there again for sure! The only negative was there was construction going on so we got up earlier than we wanted on 2 mornings. Beautiful lobby with fresh flowers daily and an active lobby bar with great cocktails in the evening.

Room Tip: Probably rooms looking over the central garden are optimal & quieter however there was construct...
See more room tips
Green Features: Green leaders gold level with environmenatally friendly practices.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peppy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you Peppy H!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. Opal and Andy are an incredible asset to the Fairmont team and we are glad you had a chance to interact with them.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at the Fairmont for 4 nights on late June 2014. We had a Capital Corner Suite connecting to a Fairmont King Room. Both rooms were quiet, large, bright and absolutely spotless. Beds and pillows were comfortable and the daily housekeeping and turn down service were of extremely high standard. All staff were professional, courteous and cheerful. In particular concierge Eric was knowledgable and extremely helpful regarding choice of restaurants and tours. Edgar from Juniper restaurant was efficient and attentive to all our breakfast needs.
Located in historic Georgetown, the Fairmont is within walking distance to all the great restaurants and shopping of beautiful Georgetown and Waterfront Park ("Farmers Fishers Bakers" was a real favourite). The Fairmont's exceptional service and quality accommodation ensured our first stay in Washington DC was truly memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Michael K!

We are honored you chose to stay with us on your visit to our nation’s capital, and are pleased you had a “memorable stay”. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. Eric and Edgar are incredible and we are glad you had a chance to interact with them.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,130 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing