We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENCHANTMENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Shaker Heights
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ENCHANTMENT”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Service, quality, and dependability is the key to a excellent hotel. I have already described my experience with my room, location of the hotel. I have nothing negative to express that i liked the least,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you kindly Edwin H! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are honored to be your first TripAdvisor review!

We are especially grateful for your comments regarding “service, quality and dependability.” That is what we strive to offer and we are very glad to have been able to provide that for you.

Thank you again. We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,922
    680
    156
    63
    35
See reviews for
748
802
139
832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The staff at this hotel is top notch, as is the lobby and other public areas. Once you get to your room the quality changes. Updating is absolutely necessary. Check out the furnishings as well as the matress.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you very much Jay B! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are honored to be your first TripAdvisor review.

We are grateful for your compliments toward our team and apologize your disappointment upon entering the room. This feedback is invaluable to us and we appreciate you leaving it.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great location, convenient to GWU, Dupont Circle and Georgetown. Not the best location for seeing the monuments and capital, etc. About 5 blocks to the Foggy Bottom metro stop and 1-2 blocks to Georgetown. Very safe area for women traveling alone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you kindly Sharon H! We are honored to be your first TripAdvisor review and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Your tip about the area being safe for women traveling alone is a great one. We are very grateful you mentioned it – and we’re sure others will be as well!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here for an overnight business trip. We picked it for its location near Georgetown and its government rate. There are a number of hotels in the immediate vicinity, as well as a plethora of drinking and eating choices. It's only a little over a mile from the monuments and other sites around the Capitol region. For those who can afford it, it's worth considering but for those just visiting DC as a tourist, I'd strongly recommend staying at a hotel in Maryland or Virginia with easy Metro access. Also, if driving, expect to pay $45 to park overnight at any hotels in the Georgetown area.

The lobby area was gorgoeous with the standard bar and a limited menu. It sounded like many of the staff spoke French natively. The room was uncharactistically large from what I've been accostumed to in standard 4-star level hotels. It had a sitting area (my room overlooked a street) and small desk workstation. No free wifi here, though. I was also surprised to find an AV box next to the tv to allow hooking up any computer, dvd player, ipod, or smart device you brought with you. I've only seen these in newer brand hotels. A nice feature but one I didn't have a chance to try.

This was my first time at a Fairmont, and it was a pleasant experience, though I don't know if I would have stayed here on my own dime.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notleo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you kindly notleo01! It looks like you are quite an experienced traveler and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. The feedback is invaluable!

You are absolutely right about the large room sizes. Starting at 400 square feet, the rooms are much larger than average—especially for the city!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel had everything we were looking for:
*Great location next to the fun shops and restaurants of Georgetown
*Clean rooms, nice towels, clean bathrooms, hot showers
*An amazing staff. Each and every person that we encountered from the cleaning staff to the valet to the front desk to the concierge was wonderful, knowledgable and friendly. This hotel is doing something really right with training their staff on customer service. You can walk into this hotel in formal wear and high heels or blue jeans and tennis shoes...and you will be treated like a VIP!
*A fair price for hotels in this price range. (Check the AAA rate! It might save you more than the yearly AAA membership.)

This is a first-rate hotel. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasternIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you very much EasternIllinois! What a wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and provide such useful tips for future travelers.

We are most grateful for your compliments toward our team. “Amazing, wonderful, knowledgeable and friendly” are great ways to describe the individuals here. We could not be prouder of them!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Convenient to Georgetown and business center of DC. Nice facilities with high quality throughout. Good for small conferences of 200 or less. Excellent bedding and bath in room. Lounge is nice. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you kindly Michael D! We are honored to be your first TripAdvisor review and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is invaluable to future travelers.

We are grateful for your compliments toward our location and property and are especially grateful for your compliments toward our team. They are truly our greatest asset and we are so fortunate to have them.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

First impression of the hotel when you pull up, is the building, it is absolutely gorgeous! Check in was easy and stress-free, we are members of their Presidents Club (free to sign up!) and you get dedicated check in, we were greeted with a lovely smile, which is sometimes all you need after a long flight from the UK. Our room was just a standard room, we didn't see the need to upgrade as we didn't plan on spending any of our time in the room as we had too much planned! The room was perfect, good size for a weekend away.

Now, at this point, I need to point out, we were in DC on the 2nd October, which was when the government shutdown was on. We were a little apprehensive, as we had this planned as a city break to see all the sites, not a relaxing break, and seeing asthough nearly everything in DC was affected by the shutdown, the staff were super helpful giving us tips on things to do, and places to go which weren't affected.

We were also there during a heatwave! It was early October, and it was about 35 degrees c, which in a city is HOT! The staff were great. Room was great. Hotel was great. If I had to nitpick in order to find a fault, there would be only 1, and it wasn't even that notice-able for us, as we were at the end of a corridor, but you could hear what was going on outside. So my only piece of advice, is ask for a room at the end of a corridor. I can imagine that if you were by a lift, it could be a little noisy.

Also - Sign up for the Presidents Club, it means you get free wifi!

Thank you to the hotel for a lovely stay, we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the end of a corridor, nice and quiet (only if you are a really light sleeper like me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serial_Shopper2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you kindly Serial_Shopper2010! What a wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad you had such a wonderful stay.

You share some wonderful tips in your review and we are positive they will be helpful to future travelers. We would like to especially point out your suggestion to join Fairmont President’s Club—we encourage all guests to do so prior to arrival for a number of perks, including complimentary Internet access. It’s a great program!

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,164 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
316 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,468 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing