We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Inviting Safe Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Fairmont Georgetown is an oasis in an incredibly busy city. The staff takes the time to welcome you each time you return to the property. The menu in the Juniper Restaurant caters to such varied nutritional needs. The lobby is so comfortable and the piano player at the end of the day adds to the comfortable ambiance. I would recommend this hotel for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you kindly Eileen W! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you had such a great stay.

Your description of the hotel being an oasis in the heart of a busy city is spot on. After our team, that is the most desirable quality of the property. We appreciate you mentioning it!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,872 - 1,878 of 3,119 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014


Best hotel in the world staff are second to none, the service was fantastic, the room’s were fit for a king, the location was ideal all the staff could not be more attentive, the selection of food in the restaurant was fantastic, also the food in the lobby was fantastic, they have a beautiful garden with cherry blossoms, and a fantastic water feature and it is so peaceful.
You could go to Washington and just stay in the Fairmount hotel and go nowhere else and the holiday would not be wasted.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank govenour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you very much Governour! What a wonderful review! We are very flattered and honored that you shared such feedback.

We agree with you one hundred percent that our team is second to none. They are our greatest asset and an absolute pleasure to work with. We are so grateful for you taking the time to recognize them. They certainly deserve it!

Thank you again for your rave review. We really appreciate it,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel is beautiful, well kept, and wonderfully serviced by professional and hardworking staff. I stayed here by myself on a spur of the moment trip to Washington D.C. I loved the decor, and layout of the hotel. for some reason it wasn't busy when I was there and both times I ate at the hotel restaurant I was the only person there. I don't know why because the food was absolutely amazing. I ate so much, and so well. The bread that they serve to start the meal is glazed with honey from their hives on the roof. After staying there 1 night most staff would call me by name and the bartender remembered my drink of choice from the night before. It is not close to the National Mall or the White House but it is just outside of Georgetown. The main street is filled with great shops and stores. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamT1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you very much LiamT1987! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are very glad to hear that your stay made you love the Fairmont brand. That is quite a compliment!

We are most grateful for your compliments toward our team. “Professional and hardworking” are great ways to describe them. We could not be proud.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a first class hotel for location, comfort, facilities and bedrooms - at a reasonable price for the standard. It is only a short taxi ride, or a 20 minute walk away from main tourist attractions such as the White House.

The hotel staff were very professional and courteous at all times.

I would not hesitate to return, or recommend the Fairmont to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you kindly Neil A! We are honored to be your first TripAdvisor review and are glad that you enjoyed our “first class hotel.”

We are most grateful for your compliments toward our team. They are incredible individuals and we could not be more fortunate to have them.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great stay, especially with good package rate. Good service and an elegant, well located hotel. Would highly recommend, for both business and family. Lobby particularly is elegant and welcoming and location near restaurants and Georgetown generally makes it an excellent locale.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Douglas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you very much Douglas T! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and help future travelers with their hotel decision. Reviews are such a wonderful source of information!

We are grateful for your compliments toward our team and property and are glad to hear that you would recommend us for both business and family.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a great hotel. Staff were excellent, all really welcoming and helpful. Room was great, overlooked central courtyard, very spacious and well equipped. Didn't eat in the hotel at all, but lots of choices nearby, and Georgetown only a few minutes walk away. Would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1310petem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you kindly 1310petem! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you had an excellent stay.

We are especially grateful for your compliments toward our team. They are truly our greatest asset and worthy of all your praise.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I visited this hotel for DC's famous Cherry Blossom Festival on April, it was my second night we were so tired and exhausted after walking 5 hours straight and went straight to shower and wow~!! The water pressure was fantastic you can't have this kind of water pressure at hotel only at big SPA.
They're in great location near George Town and Lincoln Memorial.
Great comfortable room, helpful staffs. I'll definitely go back here if I revisit DC later.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you very much Chris J! We’re glad to hear that you liked the water pressure – certainly a key requirement for a good stay!

We are very happy that you were able to visit during this beautiful time of year and that your experience was so positive. We appreciate you taking the time to review and help future travelers with their hotel decisions.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,427 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
519 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,756 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $185 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing