We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #12 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, good location”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel was fantastic, the public areas and rooms were exceptional. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was delicious. They have their own bee hives on the roof and serve honey bread in the restaurant, it was just mouth watering.
Only gripe was the price of parking your car at the hotel. Washington is a nightmare for parking and you have no option but to use the hotel car park, but at $30 per 24 hours its expensive, and we stayed 3 nights. I asked if there was any reduction for guests and they said no. WiFi was free though!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladywithasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you very much Ladywithasuitcase! It looks like you are a very experienced traveler and we appreciate hearing your input. Nothing like the perspective of someone who has seen hotels all over the world!

We appreciate your compliments toward our property and dining options. You are absolutely right about the honey bread—it’s a staff weakness!

Thank you again and best of luck in your continued travels,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,858
    662
    151
    59
    34
See reviews for
720
780
132
802
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Beautiful hotel and very nice room. Don't know what is average hotel cost in DC but $199 sounded right and was worth it except $45 for parking (parked on street -holiday), no free Wifi and $10 to use pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D.J.W.2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for the review D.J.W.2! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you enjoyed the room. Before your next visit, you should sign up for Fairmont President’s Club. It’s a complimentary guest recognition program that includes free Internet access at all Fairmont properties and free gym access at our property.

Thank you again for reviewing. Please let us know if you need help signing up for Fairmont President’s Club or making any arrangements by emailing Washington@fairmont.com.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A wonderful facility with an extremely friendly and professional staff. Great location and terrific dining options. Lovely and relaxing lobby area with live pianist nightly. Spacious rooms that overlook scenic courtyard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wmcancienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you kindly wmcancienne! What a great review. We appreciate your compliments toward our team, property and dining and are glad that you had such a great stay. It sounds like you noticed all of the best things about our hotel!

We hope to welcome you back soon so that you can continue to enjoy all that the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown has to offer,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We made a family trip to Washington, D.C. and stayed at the Fairmont. The hotel, it's amenities, rooms and staff were absolutely of a high standard for the most reasonable room rate we paid. Lobby has piano bar and we spent an enjoyable evening there rather than trudging out in the January cold. We will definitely stay at the Fairmont during our next stay in Washington. Stefanie

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you very much Stephanie S! We appreciate your five star review. It sounds like you had a wonderful time!

We are grateful for all of your compliments, especially those toward our team. They are truly our greatest asset. And you are right about the piano—enjoyable in all seasons, but especially useful when it’s cold!

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

From the moment we pulled up to check-in until the time we checked out, the staff was professional and committed to excellent service.The Fairmont truly enhanced our Washington DC experience. Our rooms were well-appointed and attention to detail was obvious. We have stayed at many Fairmonts, from Bermuda to Hawaii,and we have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ppotter1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you very much ppotter1953! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and love that you started the visit with high expectations due to past Fairmont experiences. We’re also glad that we exceeded those expectations!

We are grateful for your compliments toward our team—they are indeed professional and committed to excellent service and quite worthy of the recognition.

Thank you again and we hope to have you and your family back again soon,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The staff at the Fairmont were extraordinarily attentive and keen to assist. We were always greeted with the warmest of welcomes by one of the doormen, Omar, who took a real interest in us (including our young son) and did everything he possibly could to assist us whenever we were coming or going. He epitomizes the very best in service (as well as being an extremely kind person) and the Fairmont should be extremely proud to have him on its team.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Guest416Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you very much Guest416Toronto! What a wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that Omar made such an impact on you. We couldn’t agree more---he absolutely epitomizes the very best in service and we are very lucky to have him. He makes us proud each and every day.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and have shared the compliments with our entire team. Omar deserves recognition from all levels.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Have stayed in a Fairmont before in Banff but the customer service in this hotel was simply outstanding. From the minute we arrived to leaving every member of staff could not have been more helpful. It was our first trip to Washington so used the concierge service frequently. They booked a restaurant for us for New Year's Eve, located a lost bag just did everything to make our stay perfect. The hotel is ideally situated for the metro at Foggy Bottom, we walked to a lot of the attractions. The wifi is free in the hotel as long as you sign up to the Fairmont Club this was great for us as there were very few bars or restaurants that offered free wifi something we get a lot in the UK. We didn't got a chance to see all the museums so we will be back and will definitely be staying at the Fairmont. Thanks for making our holiday a fantastic one.

Room Tip: 8th floor away from lifts so nice and quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good policies had a separate bin in the room for recycling.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elin208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you kindly Elin208! We appreciate your five star review and are grateful that you took the time to share your experience with future travelers. There’s no better guidance in making travel decisions than the input from previous guests!

We love hearing your compliments toward our team. They are indeed helpful and intent on doing everything they can to make guests’ stays perfect. We’re glad to hear that they were able to do that for you!

We’re also glad to hear that you will be back to visit the museums and stay with us again. We look forward to having you,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,454 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing