We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #12 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific service!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Took the family to Washington for New Years. Great time of year to go. The hotel wasn't busy but the staff were in top form! I contacted the hotel with a question before we booked and they were extremely helpful. I emailed the concierge before we arrived to arrange New Year's Eve dinner for the family, he had great recommendations and took care of reservations. Everyone we interacted with from the moment we stepped out of our car was friendly, well informed and helpful.

The hotel itself is decent high end business. We upgraded to a suite with a connecting room. The connecting room had clearly been more recently freshened up, but the suite wasn't bad, just starting to look slightly tired around the edges.

I tend to favour Fairmont when I travel and not only did they live up to what I have come to expect, but they went beyond at every step. We'll go back for sure!

Room Tip: During the holidays, get a room facing the courtyard. They have thousands of white Christmas lights...
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard for hotels in this class. They'll clean towels only when you want, etc.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you very much Andrew M! We appreciate this rave review and are honored that you chose to spend New Years with us.

We love hearing your compliments toward our team and couldn’t be more grateful for you taking the time to do so. The team we work with is amazing and we can’t say enough good things about them. It sounds like you think the same!

Thank you again; we look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,888
    669
    153
    59
    34
See reviews for
727
790
136
816
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay at this property and always have high expectations for a Fairmont experience. They did not disappoint. Good location for walking to sight seeing locations and staff were fantastic. Lots of hotel choices in the area, but I will choose the this hotel again when I return. Great meeting rooms and services.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much Mike D! There are few things we like hearing more than a guest arriving with high expectations due to previous Fairmont experiences—and us being able to exceed them. Thank you for letting us know!

You are absolutely right about the location. It is ideal for taking in all parts of the city. You are also very right about our team. They are an amazing group of individuals and we love hearing them praised.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We chose the Fairmont for our recent wedding. They did not disappoint. The Colonnade Room was a beautiful venue for the ceremony and reception. Eric, Catering Manager was a joy to work with from start to finish, accommodating every request. Food and beverage were fabulous thanks to the Chef and Banquet Manager. Fairmont staff from General Manager to front desk were friendly and professional. Many of our guests took advantage of discounted room rates and also enjoyed a nice weekend in DC. Highly recommend for special events!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PieJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much PieJean! We are honored that you chose to celebrate your wedding with us and appreciate you sharing the experience. It sounds like it was quite a weekend!

Eric is an amazing asset to our team and we couldn’t be luckier to have him. He goes above and beyond in all aspects of his job and has a true love for creating lifetime memories for his guests. We appreciate you noting this in your review. We also appreciate your compliments toward the rest of our team—from the Chef and Banquet Manager to the members of our Front Desk team, each person who works at the Fairmont is dedicated to providing a wonderful stay.

Thank you again. Congratulations on your marriage—and be sure to get in touch with Eric to plan an anniversary stay next year!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at The Fairmont Washington DC in November 2013. I had to go to Virginia for a funeral, and since my husband had never been to DC and had always wanted to go (and it had been 14 years since I'd been), we decided to extend our trip and drive up to DC after the services.

Not knowing the DC hotels, I used Priceline to book. I targeted specific areas and star ratings. While I had to increase my price and keep extending my area to get a hotel without changing my star rating, we finally landed on the Fairmont. I was very nervous as I had not hear of it before, and we regularly stay at very nice resorts.

When we walked into The Fairmont, we were immediately wowed! We were greeted in the lobby and taken over to the desk to check in. We have different last names and they asked if we wanted 2 beds (haha). The front desk staff worked their magic and put us on the 10th floor in a king room. We went up to our room and our luggage arrived less than five minutes later. We freshened up and headed to the bar for a drink.

We were immediately attended to in the bar area, and there was a pianist playing. The service was outstanding. We headed to dinner in the restaurant, but went back to the bar afterwards for a night cap. Everyone there was so friendly! We were very tired, so we headed back to our room after our drinks.

Over the next few days, we spent time sight-seeing and coming back at night to get ready and pick a place for dinner. We frequently ended up at the bar. :) Jawad actually walked me to the ladies' room rather than just pointing me towards it the second night because I didn't know where it was. Amazing service. The drinks were incredible and the company even better! Jawad and the rest of the bar staff greeted us by name in the evenings. We looked forward to seeing them at night! One evening, we wanted to have dinner in the bar and they arranged to have some items brought to us off the regular bar menu (from room service). I don't think I heard "we can't" or "no" from the staff!

We were having such a great time there that we actually extended our trip there by 3 nights! My 40th birthday is in April, and my husband asked if I wanted to go back to DC for my birthday. I immediately said yes! We toyed with the idea of trying another hotel, but since The Fairmont had a huge impact on our experience, we nixed that idea pretty quickly. Instead of risking Priceline again, we signed up for The Fairmont's President's Club now and already booked our room! We will be there for 6 nights in April and we are looking forward to it already. :)

Room Tip: We had a standard room and it was great. We overlooked the courtyard and enjoyed the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyWharton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much AmyWharton! What a great experience. We are so glad that you took the time to share it with us and your fellow travelers.

The people on our team tend to be what makes a Fairmont experience and it sounds like you noticed that immediately. The front desk is excellent at working their magic and Jawad and the rest of the bar staff are some of the most welcoming people you can encounter after a day exploring. It’s rare that a guest spends any time being served by Jawad without being wowed. Not everyone books an immediate return visit though!

Thank you again for sharing this. We look forward to welcoming you back for your birthday visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York / Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We enjoyed the hotel, location and hospitality. Very comfortable bed. Easy to get a taxi. Easy to get in Georgetown or to the DC monuments. Friendly as well. Would return in the future. Fair price as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ScottyAussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for the five star review ScottyAussy! We’re very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and are honored that you chose to spend the holiday with us.

You hit on many of the major highlights of the hotel—great location, wonderful staff, comfortable beds and fair prices. Thank you for sharing!

We look forward to your return visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here during the new year's eve. The location is within walking distance of the Georgetown downtown and a short cab ride to National Mall. We stayed at a room with king size bed. The best thing about the room is the space. There is a lot of space to move around. However, it has a very mediocre wardrobe. The hotel lobby is luxurious and classy. The two things I was disappointed about the hotel are (1) wi-fi is NOT free anywhere in the hotel (2) the valet parking is very expansive. I was able to park at another close by valet parking for half the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melicin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much Melicin! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are grateful for the feedback.

You are absolutely right about the rooms—the space is quite a treat for a city property. We apologize for your disappointment regarding the wardrobe, wi-fi and valet parking. We highly encourage you to sign up for Fairmont President’s Club before your next visit. It has the perk of complimentary Internet access at all Fairmont properties around the world.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a lovely time at the Fairmont Washington. Since Christmas is a slow time we got a great rate and thanks to our President's membership an upgrade meant we enjoyed a spacious corner suite. The front desk staff were efficient and attentive and knew us by name immediately. Although a bit tired, our room was clean and quiet. The fitness centre is extensive and there is also a smaller workout room that is available 24/7. This was helpful as the Fitness centre was on holiday hours a couple of days we were there. The hotel is within walking distance of both Georgetown and the Capitol. When our destination was too far to walk, the doorman had a taxi ready in an instant. The lounge had piano entertainment in the evenings and that was a great way to end our day. Thanks Erin and Kathleen for ensuring we had a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Bathrooms could use updating (new tubs needed). Most rooms seem to be a tub with shower-head rather...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins were provided in each room. The coffee bar had china mugs rather than disposable cups and that was appreciated.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KarenandRobert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much KarenandRobert1! We’re glad that you had a fun stay with us. It sounds like you had a perfect holiday in the city.

We love hearing that the front desk staff knew you by name immediately and appreciate you mentioning Erin and Kathleen by name. The team is a wonderful asset to us.

Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,148 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,568 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing