We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here during the new year's eve. The location is within walking distance of the Georgetown downtown and a short cab ride to National Mall. We stayed at a room with king size bed. The best thing about the room is the space. There is a lot of space to move around. However, it has a very mediocre wardrobe. The hotel lobby is luxurious and classy. The two things I was disappointed about the hotel are (1) wi-fi is NOT free anywhere in the hotel (2) the valet parking is very expansive. I was able to park at another close by valet parking for half the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melicin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you very much Melicin! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are grateful for the feedback.

You are absolutely right about the rooms—the space is quite a treat for a city property. We apologize for your disappointment regarding the wardrobe, wi-fi and valet parking. We highly encourage you to sign up for Fairmont President’s Club before your next visit. It has the perk of complimentary Internet access at all Fairmont properties around the world.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,890 - 1,896 of 2,986 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a lovely time at the Fairmont Washington. Since Christmas is a slow time we got a great rate and thanks to our President's membership an upgrade meant we enjoyed a spacious corner suite. The front desk staff were efficient and attentive and knew us by name immediately. Although a bit tired, our room was clean and quiet. The fitness centre is extensive and there is also a smaller workout room that is available 24/7. This was helpful as the Fitness centre was on holiday hours a couple of days we were there. The hotel is within walking distance of both Georgetown and the Capitol. When our destination was too far to walk, the doorman had a taxi ready in an instant. The lounge had piano entertainment in the evenings and that was a great way to end our day. Thanks Erin and Kathleen for ensuring we had a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Bathrooms could use updating (new tubs needed). Most rooms seem to be a tub with shower-head rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KarenandRobert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you very much KarenandRobert1! We’re glad that you had a fun stay with us. It sounds like you had a perfect holiday in the city.

We love hearing that the front desk staff knew you by name immediately and appreciate you mentioning Erin and Kathleen by name. The team is a wonderful asset to us.

Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights during new year's eve. Price was inexpensive and quality of service was excellent. Our room faced the beautiful courtyard. Location was walking distance to Georgetown and Dupont. I would stay here again and definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you very much Jas m! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you sharing your experience with future travelers. It sounds like you had a great New Year’s Eve!

We are grateful for your compliments toward our team and property and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I spent New Year's Eve at the Fairmont in Washington. It was rather a spur of the moment decision, which enabled me to use an upgrade certificate I had for a wonderful suite. I am a frequent patron of the Fairmont, and this property did not disappoint - everything was clean, fresh and elegant. We had dinner in Georgetown with our daughter, then retired to our suite. Staff was welcoming and very pleasant - from the valets to the desk staff and housekeeping. I am never disappointed with the Fairmont and certainly highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area - centrally located, still quiet and peaceful, and just beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for the five star review jhip! We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and love hearing about your Fairmont loyalty. We think that’s a wonderful thing!

We appreciate your compliments toward our team and agree that they are “welcoming and very pleasant.” We couldn’t be happier with the group that we have here—their passion for hospitality is unsurpassed.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed here recently with my wife and kids on a short vacation over the holidays. The rooms were spacious and clean. The best -- and unexpected -- part, however, was the quality of the adjacent gym/pool where guests have privileges. Really wonderful, with a large pool, wonderful locker rooms and even a ping pong table. The only let down of the hotel was breakfast at the restaurant. It was really slow, though the food was good, and the food did not come out at the same time. The staff apologized and said they were short workers over the holiday, and didn't charge us (which was nice), but still, it's a Fairmont, so we expect a fully staffed restaurant, even over a holiday. I would note that the breakfast at the Hyatt across the street was outstanding, as was the service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for the 5-star review Adam K! It looks like you are very well traveled and we appreciate your expert opinion. We couldn’t agree more about the quality of Balance Gym, the locally-owned gym located on our Mezzanine level. Our General Manager and Hotel Manager are both avid exercisers and were very diligent in their selection process for our on-site gym. We couldn’t be happier with the results!

We apologize for the difficulties you and your family experienced during breakfast. You are absolutely right about it being a Fairmont and we are glad that your expectation is for excellence. That’s wonderful to hear.

We hope we have the opportunity to host you again and exceed all of your expectations,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here many times and never disappointed. Staff goes out of their way to make sure we are taken care of and upgraded when possible. Spacious suites and close to many DC attractions. Never have a hard time finding offstreet parking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank constantlyvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you very much constantlyvaca! We appreciate your Fairmont loyalty and are pleased that you continued to be delighted with multiple stays. We certainly love regulars!

We are very glad to hear that our team always takes care of you. It’s great when they get to know a guest and can honor their preferences each and every visit—and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to do so!

We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent the weekend before christmas at the fairmont, Georgetown. It was a lovely stay. The staff were very polite and helpful, the hotel was festively decorated and the rooms were very smart and comfortable.

We hope to be back next year!

Room Tip: Kings are a nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SandyBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you very much SandyBerg! We are honored that you chose to celebrate the holiday season with us and are glad that you enjoyed everything. The holidays are a wonderful time to visit—the decorating our team does is truly something to behold!

We appreciate your compliments toward the “very polite and helpful” staff. The people who work here are our biggest asset.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#10 of 142 in Washington DC
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,243 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $198 - $747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing