We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Even Better Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #12 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Even Better Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our first time at the Fairmont; but it won't be our last!!! From the moment we drove into the circular driveway and were met by the staff until we went back to get our car and head home the hotel and its' staff was outstanding. Each and every staff member did a fantastic job and were always so helpful. Next time you are in DC (for business or vacation) this is a hotel worth staying at. Close to Georgetown and other DC attractions - never needed the car to get around DC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bungie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much Bungie60! This is a very kind and touching review. We value our team above all else and are incredibly pleased when guests recognize their contributions. Thank you!

We agree with you 100% that the location is ideal for getting around the city and exploring Georgetown and other D.C. attractions. We appreciate your endorsement and agree with you—all visitors to D.C. should stay with us! Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    645
    147
    58
    33
See reviews for
703
763
132
779
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We loved our five nights at the Fairmont in DC. Fabulous service as always at any Fairmont and really stunning property. A short walk to Foggy Bottom station with access to everything and a comfortable walk across the bridge to Georgetown shops and restaurants. Their partnership with an independent health club means a $5 charge for an evening swim - the only slightly disappointing feature.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wscstgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you very much Wscstgrl! We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay…and that perfection is the bar you set for a Fairmont stay! We appreciate your compliments toward our team and their “fabulous service” and apologize for the disappointing fee. We hope the amazing health club made up for it!

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I took my wife there for our anniversary and we had a wonderful time. The staff was great, the hotel was very clean and the location was outstanding. I would definitely recommend staying there. They even sent chocolate covered strawberries to the room free of charge. It was a all around pleasant stay, if you go to D.C thus is where you should stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmj240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you jmj240! Happy belated anniversary! We’re so glad that you chose to spend it with us and that we could make it special for you. Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Come back and visit again soon.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

As Fairmont President Club members this was out first visit to this property. It met our high expectations. Everything was virtually perfect; arrival, reception, bellman service breakfast and, of course, the immaculate spacious corner room.

Our trip continued on to New York City, where we did not stay in a Fairmont property. (long story) it wasn't bad but upon arrival my wife looked around the room and said "well…it's not the Fairmont." We're spoiled!

The location on M St. is convenient to anything one wants to do in the DC area. The M St./Georgetown area provides numerous dining options. The M St. area itself has a collegiate feel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you very much B C! We love this review! Fairmont loyalists are so important to us and we can’t encourage brand advocates enough. Each and every Fairmont strives to turn moments into memories and it sounds like you have had this experience—enough to be spoiled!

We appreciate your compliments toward our staff and property. We hope to host another “virtually perfect” stay again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We come here every year for a work function and are never dissapointed. Typically we try to upgrade the room and this time with my wife being 6 months pregnant it would have been worth it but we werent offered the option while others in our group were. The rooms are fairly clean on the surface with the exception of the details like air vents and corners by the baseboards with dust. If you have dust allergies you will want to address it. Beds are on the very soft side so be prepared. The service was very good except for one gentleman in the bar area who refused to smile. All in all a nice place with good amenities and good service. Prime location and close proximity to great food make this worth a try.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swetfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review swetfam4! We appreciate hearing feedback from repeat visitors—especially ones who return every year. We apologize for not offering an upgrade this visit and urge you to email Washington@fairmont.com with your stay details so that we can note the preference on your profile. The more we know about you and what you like during your stay, the better we can serve you. Trust us when we say we love to know!

Congratulations on your wife’s pregnancy! We hope that during next year’s function, both she and the baby will join you. Our team loves to spoil our youngest guests and would be honored to have the opportunity to do so.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent four days in Washingston in July this year and had a fabulous time. The hotel is very well located near Georgetown (around 4 minute walk), close to the river and the subway/taxi/bikes offer good access to the centre of Washington. The room was spacious, well equipped and had access to an ice machine (standard I believe in many US hotels).
The concierge was very helpful and provided lots of advice on local attractions. We used the bikes they had available for free, provided with a lock, helmet and water.
While we were there they had installed some beehives on their roof, although you were not able to visit them or purchase the honey they did appear to use it in all of their menus, foods, drinks and soaps!

Down points, the bar service was really slow. I had to go to the bar to request drinks or settle the bills on three occasions, not quite the standard I was expecting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review jamesy45! It looks like you are quite a seasoned traveler and we appreciate the value of seeing how we compare to luxury hotels around the world.

We’re very glad that you had the opportunity to interact with our Concierge team and get suggestions on local attractions—and then use the complimentary BMW bikes to visit them! We apologize for the slow service you experienced at our bar. We are extremely happy to tell you that we take guest feedback very seriously and incorporate it into our operations. After hearing feedback that our restaurant and bar service could be quicker, we created a new position, Director of Restaurants, and will have the very talented Lino Rodrigues focusing on this area of the hotel full-time. We look forward to hosting you again so that you can see the improvements!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
393 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel in a convenient location. Rooms are attractive and comfortable. Lots of places nearby to get coffee or breakfast and avoid the expense of hotel breakfasts. Spacious attractive lobby with music and bar available for late night cocktails. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for the kind review Paul C! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and couldn’t agree more about the location. Bordering both Georgetown and Dupont Circle and only moments from all of the monuments and memorials, guests will never run out of neighborhood gems to explore while staying with us!

We greatly appreciate your compliments toward our staff. They are indeed friendly and helpful—we love to have the opportunity to praise them along with our guests!

Thank you again and we hope to host you next time you are in town,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,123 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing