We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable July 4th in DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #8 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very comfortable July 4th in DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Fairmont at the outskirts of Georgetown and we would go back. The location is great and the prices are reasonable for an upscale hotel in DC. Join their Presidents club for free and there are many perks as well. Their bellmen were really helpful as were the concierge people. The lobby lounge and garden area are a welcome respite after a long day of walking the museums and Capital sites. The $20 breakfast buffet was worth the price and the happy hour lounge prices were low. All in all, the experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigelowrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for the review Bigelowrock! We’re glad to hear that you had such a wonderful experience.

Your suggestion to join Fairmont President’s Club is a good one – one of the best perks of this program is the complimentary Internet access that you get in all Fairmont locations. We encourage you to visit more Fairmonts to check it out for yourself!

Thanks again and we hope to have you back again soon,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,685
    591
    138
    53
    31
See reviews for
651
716
123
706
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We visited with two teen aged grandsons and enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont in an Ambassador suite which worked very well with our grandsons as there are two areas and they slept on a pull out bed in the main room. When one of them caught a cold, the hotel accommodated with a roll-away so the boys did not have to sleep together.....took some logistics but still worked well. We had access to the Gold Floor which was an incredible bonus. Wonderful to start each day with breakfast and then be able to head right out to the sights. On our last night, we came in late after Fourth of July celebrations. I went to the Gold Floor to print our boarding passes and found that the doors had just been closed. The man working there saw me and asked if I needed anything. I told him I had wanted to print my boarding passes and he unlocked the door and gave me access to the computer.....very nice and it was appreciated. The front door staff was so very friendly and welcomed us with all of our comings and goings. We stayed here before and used the Metro on that trip and there is a stop a few blocks away. This trip it seemed just as sensible to take a taxi to the National Mall area as there were four of us and the Metro price was $3 per person. If the taxi was a little extra, the convenience seemed to make up that difference.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you SusanVM! We love hearing from repeat visitors—especially ones who are happy enough with the first experience to bring more family for the second! It sounds like your grandsons are pretty lucky to have the chance to travel with you. DC on the 4th of July can’t be beat.

We appreciate your compliments toward our staff. They are our greatest asset and love any opportunity to praise them!

Let us know when you’re coming back so that we can make your third stay just as enjoyable as the first two,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington County, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were pleased with the Fairmont from the moment we arrived. The staff was very pleasant and attentive. We were able to check-in immediately and head to our room. The rooms are quite large and the beds are comfortable. This hotel has a great location - within walking distance of the Metro or short taxi ride to the downtown sites. There are great restaurants and bars in the area.

Just a quick note about the pool - this is part of a health club below the hotel. They control the hours so it was closed at 8pm on Saturday night when the children wanted to use it. Double-check the availability if you are interested in this amenity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriLynne431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you TerriLynne431! We appreciate the five star review and are grateful that you took the time to share your experience. There’s no better source of information for a future guest!

You are correct about the pool – we hope the children weren’t too upset and were able to find another source of Saturday night fun. Let us know next time you’re coming back!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Lovely hotel in every way. Public areas and rooms are beautiful and the staff in the Lobby Bar were a delight. The Light Fare was great, very substantial and good value. The Concierge in training was disappointing as he told me that there is no public transport to Dulles Airport. I asked him again and he repeated that the only way to get to Dulles was to go by taxi at an approximate cost of 100 dollars. I asked at the Metro station and found a great way to get to the airport for a fraction of the price. Metro then the Washington Flyer Bus. He only pointed out the Trolley Bus Tours, no mention of the Open Top Bus. Disappointed by his lack of knowledge.
Otherwise it was a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FudgeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the review, FudgeScotland! We’re glad you chose us for your trip across the Atlantic!

We apologize for the inconvenience with finding an affordable route to Dulles. The problem has been addressed and will no longer occur. We appreciate your feedback for making this possible!

Thank you again for your compliments and we hope to host you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is excellent in every respect. Accommadtion, food and facilities all excellent. Except for the trainee concierge Bob.(Neither did his 'trained' colleague) Bob did not know any way to get to Dulles airport from Washington - except -by taxi. Which costs between 75 and 100 dollars. He stated that there was no public transport to Dulles. Andy who was on the desk the next night did know how to get to Dulles airport. However, we had worked out a route by ourselves. Metro and Washington Flyer bus. Cost $16. $6 for Metro and $10 for bus. What a shame a brilliant stay was marred by Bob. He did not even offer to find out if there was any way to get to Dulles Airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janis8kerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the review Janis8kerr! We appreciate your feedback and compliments toward the “excellent” hotel. We apologize for your difficulties at the end of your stay. We will address the problem with Kitt Vidnovic, our Head Concierge, to ensure that all staff members are aware of affordable routes to Dulles.

We hope you’ll come back and join us again!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Overnight with family on Gold floor. Cheryl in Reservations was outstanding - coordinated all our requests and added special greetings for our grand-daughter. Staff very friendly, concierge most helpful. Rooms very comfortable,spacious, and quiet. Will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CabooseCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you CabooseCambridge! We’re so happy to hear about your experience. And we believe every word about Cheryl. She is an amazing member of our staff—and even won employee of the year for 2012! We hope to see you again soon.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont in October 2012 with my husband and two small kids. The doorman, the conceirge were very friendly upon our arrival, I cannot say the same for the front-desk staff. The receptionist was dismissive at best, and rude at the worst. Having decided by our clothes or our luggage that we weren't up to the Fairmont standards he wanted to get us out of the way as fast as possible, he didn't answer my question about the layout of the hotel so we didn't know where anything was and didn't enter our rewards number to our room which meant it was a hassle to use the gym downstairs or access the internet. The rooms were clean and well equipped, the house keeping staff were very friendly and efficient and did a great job on our room... but each time I'd need to plug in my laptop I'd be reminded that if only the front desk clerk had keyed an extra 10 strokes I would be doing what I needed to do, instead of filling out an online form first before I could access the internet. I wish the staff were coached to treat all their guests in the same way, whether it was a young family (who happens to be tight on money because one adult is a student) or a fabulously and obviously well off bunch that arrives right behind them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kas17, we’re sorry that you had this experience and appreciate you reaching out so that we can amend it. We strive to treat each and every guest as a unique individual—and to be friendly to all. It’s kind of you to point out all of the nice qualities of the hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again so that we can show you all that Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown can do—please reach out to Washington@fairmont.com next time you are traveling to the city so that we can make your stay special.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,915 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing