We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Excellent Location - Top Notch Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #17 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was only at the Fairmont D.C. for a night, but it was a great experience. The hotel's location left me within close proximity to Georgetown, but also close enough to all the sights and transportation (a quick walk to DuPont Circle and all of the embassies). The gardens are lovely, and the perfect escape from the city. An in-room balcony was the cherry on top - loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matticulousme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you matticulousme! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself and had a great experience. We agree—nothing like an in-room balcony to top off a wonderful stay, especially when you’re able to see the Cherry Blossoms and other delights in the courtyard!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,946)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,124 - 2,130 of 2,946 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

True to Fairmont form, the staff here hits a high bar for friendliness; we were courteously greeted by every single staff person who crossed our path during our entire stay and treated patiently and kindly during every interaction. Our suite was well-appointed and the hallways remained quiet, a particular preference of mine. The elevators were always immediately available with no waiting, another appreciated convenience. There is a lovely central atrium outdoor courtyard that was at it's peak of bloom, lit by tiny white lights at night- just magical. Even though there were several private parties/ corporate meetings during our stay, I never felt like they were intrusive or that we were unable to access necessary public space. The restaurant staff was extremely gracious and the breakfasts were lovely, especially the delicious Illy coffee. Their meeting space appears to be a wonderful area.
I was struck by several of the furnishings in the public spaces, most notably the lobby, where it was obvious particular parts of the fabrics were extremely worn on chairs. These pieces were threadbare to the degree that they were past the point of donation to Goodwill. We were also disappointed when we checked the website for the hotel restaurant only to find that the menu was outdated. We then called and asked the concierge for a current menu, but a hour passed with no response. Our friends grew tired of waiting and instead made dinner reservations elsewhere.
On the whole, however, it is an excellent location and the staff is largely consistent and exceptionally well-trained. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the interior courtyard would be preferred
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrus1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you very much for the review petrus1966. Your feedback is greatly appreciated—and being incorporated. Juniperdc.com now lists the correct spring menus—we apologize for the inconvenience! We are also changing the appearance of the furniture in the lobby. You’ll have to come back to see the beautiful changes!

We are very glad to hear that the experience was “true to Fairmont form.” Quite a compliment! Thank you again and we look forward to having you back.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

As the on-line reservation offered a choice between a king size bed and 2 queen beds, family of 3 people chose a room with 2 queens and prepaid. At arrival, no rooms with 2 beds available and 3 people had to sleep in one bed. Once you pre-paid, they know you cannot walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranceMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi FranceMania, please look for our message in your inbox so that we can learn more about this situation and how it happened.

Thanks,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Fairmont Washington DC is a nice hotel. The rooms are comfortable. The exercise room that is free is small and has outdated equipment. There is another exercise room that is very nice but there is a charge to use it. Breakfast was good but the service was slow. It took me almost 20 minutes to get an omelet after I placed the order and the restaurant was almost empty. My room rate that I was quoted was significantly higher than the rate they were quoting the day I checked in. The refused to match the rate. I spoke with several people who had no authority. I was transferred to a manager who of course did not answer there phone. I left a voice mail asking them to call me, I have yet to hear from them. I will be taking my business elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveler50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

WorldTraveler50226, we are sorry to hear about this experience and would like to correct it. I sent you a message with my direct line and ask you to please call me to resolve the rate discrepancy.

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at The Fairmont and everything was superb. Prior to my arrival the concierge, Rob, gave me suggestions for good restaurants and things to do with my 2 teenage boys. He made all the reservations for us and everything was perfect. Rob's recommendation to go to the Spy Museum and tour the Capitol were a hit with the kids. The service at the property was excellent all around. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACJ611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you ACJ611! Rob is an extraordinary member of our team and we are glad that you found his suggestions so apt. We’ve never known him to steer a guest wrong!

Please come back and visit again soon. There are plenty of things throughout the city for your boys to enjoy!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My sister treated me to a trip to DC since it is the one place she hasn't been to in the world! I was skeptical about the location but it turned out to be just right and the service in this hotel is simply the best. All of the staff were professional and attentive. Rob, a concierge, helped us get tickets to the Holocaust Museum that we could use anytime (the museum gives timed passes to control the crowds and enhance your museum experience). We did not get a room facing the beautiful courtyard, M Street, or 24th which would have enhanced the room experience enormously. The room, never-the-less, was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed including the best pillows I have ever had in a hotel. A couple of blocks up M street is a nice area for reasonably priced restaurants. We found that the hotel's bar tenders had the most helpful tips about good restaurants in the area. Starbucks across the street was a welcome sight and we tolerated the less-than-stellar service!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleKaper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you SeattleKaper1! And thank you to your sister too for sharing the experience. Hearing that “the service in this hotel is simply the best” is music to our ears! It’s a compliment we can never hear enough and all because our staff truly has a passion for hospitality.

We hope you and your sister are able to return and visit us again.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I share the positive views of other travelers to this hotel. It is well located (a few minutes’ walk to Georgetown, Dupont Circle and the K Street business area), even the standard rooms are well appointed, and the restaurant and lobby lounge sport an excellent menu and service. If there is one flaw it is that the gym is located in an airless, cramped basement room not at all conducive to exercise. I assume this is a temporary measure on account of refurbishing. Other than that, a good stay all around.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you RPM59! We appreciate the review and are glad to hear that you share the positive views of other travelers. We hope that you were able to take advantage of the location and see the city in between business appointments!

We recently partnered with Balance Gym, a locally-based, award-winning gym company, to open a location inside the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. Located on the Mezzanine level, Balance Gym Foggy Bottom offers large, airy spaces and a variety of classes, including CrossFit. We encourage you to give it a try next time you’re in town. Thanks again for the review!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
365 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,199 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#7 of 142 in Washington DC
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $217 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing