We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 people in one king bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #17 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“3 people in one king bed”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

As the on-line reservation offered a choice between a king size bed and 2 queen beds, family of 3 people chose a room with 2 queens and prepaid. At arrival, no rooms with 2 beds available and 3 people had to sleep in one bed. Once you pre-paid, they know you cannot walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranceMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi FranceMania, please look for our message in your inbox so that we can learn more about this situation and how it happened.

Thanks,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,953
    690
    156
    63
    35
See reviews for
765
813
141
841
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Fairmont Washington DC is a nice hotel. The rooms are comfortable. The exercise room that is free is small and has outdated equipment. There is another exercise room that is very nice but there is a charge to use it. Breakfast was good but the service was slow. It took me almost 20 minutes to get an omelet after I placed the order and the restaurant was almost empty. My room rate that I was quoted was significantly higher than the rate they were quoting the day I checked in. The refused to match the rate. I spoke with several people who had no authority. I was transferred to a manager who of course did not answer there phone. I left a voice mail asking them to call me, I have yet to hear from them. I will be taking my business elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
WorldTraveler50226, we are sorry to hear about this experience and would like to correct it. I sent you a message with my direct line and ask you to please call me to resolve the rate discrepancy.

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at The Fairmont and everything was superb. Prior to my arrival the concierge, Rob, gave me suggestions for good restaurants and things to do with my 2 teenage boys. He made all the reservations for us and everything was perfect. Rob's recommendation to go to the Spy Museum and tour the Capitol were a hit with the kids. The service at the property was excellent all around. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACJ611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you ACJ611! Rob is an extraordinary member of our team and we are glad that you found his suggestions so apt. We’ve never known him to steer a guest wrong!

Please come back and visit again soon. There are plenty of things throughout the city for your boys to enjoy!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My sister treated me to a trip to DC since it is the one place she hasn't been to in the world! I was skeptical about the location but it turned out to be just right and the service in this hotel is simply the best. All of the staff were professional and attentive. Rob, a concierge, helped us get tickets to the Holocaust Museum that we could use anytime (the museum gives timed passes to control the crowds and enhance your museum experience). We did not get a room facing the beautiful courtyard, M Street, or 24th which would have enhanced the room experience enormously. The room, never-the-less, was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed including the best pillows I have ever had in a hotel. A couple of blocks up M street is a nice area for reasonably priced restaurants. We found that the hotel's bar tenders had the most helpful tips about good restaurants in the area. Starbucks across the street was a welcome sight and we tolerated the less-than-stellar service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleKaper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you SeattleKaper1! And thank you to your sister too for sharing the experience. Hearing that “the service in this hotel is simply the best” is music to our ears! It’s a compliment we can never hear enough and all because our staff truly has a passion for hospitality.

We hope you and your sister are able to return and visit us again.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I share the positive views of other travelers to this hotel. It is well located (a few minutes’ walk to Georgetown, Dupont Circle and the K Street business area), even the standard rooms are well appointed, and the restaurant and lobby lounge sport an excellent menu and service. If there is one flaw it is that the gym is located in an airless, cramped basement room not at all conducive to exercise. I assume this is a temporary measure on account of refurbishing. Other than that, a good stay all around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you RPM59! We appreciate the review and are glad to hear that you share the positive views of other travelers. We hope that you were able to take advantage of the location and see the city in between business appointments!

We recently partnered with Balance Gym, a locally-based, award-winning gym company, to open a location inside the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. Located on the Mezzanine level, Balance Gym Foggy Bottom offers large, airy spaces and a variety of classes, including CrossFit. We encourage you to give it a try next time you’re in town. Thanks again for the review!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night stay in this marvellous hotel strategically located at the edge of the downtown and the trendy upmarket districts of Georgetown and Dupont circle. It was our first visit to Washington and hopefully it will not be our last as we really loved this city. We could not say enough about the service and comfort and attention laid on by this hotel and its marvellous staff. Our room was very spacious on the 6th floor and had a very comfortable king bed with desk workstation and plenty of wardrobe space. It was cleaned and fresh linen left everyday. We had buffet breakfast most mornings and the quality was excellent with a good variety. We didnt have lunch or evening meal so can't comment about that. We were too busy sight seeing and eating up at some of the many restaurants up the street in the Georgetown area. Its worth visiting Washington harbour when you're in this part of town as it has some very nice restaurants and trendy bars along the riverfront just of the main Georgetown strip. But what sets the Fairmont out above all, is its staff. Nothing is too much bother and you are always greeted with a helpful smile from the doormen to the cleaners there is a genuine welcoming feeling from them all. They make you feel important and genuinely welcome in the hotel no matter who you are. Other guests we spoke to agreed We were particularly grateful to Kitt, Ron and Andy on the concierge desk and Eric the bellboy who did his best to sort out our internet problems. The bar staff were always friendly courteous and efficient particularly Awet who nothing was too much trouble for. We would highly recommend this hotel particularly if you want to sightsee in the city. The hop-on hop off buses have a stop just up the street from it so thats a good starting point. The taxis are always easy to get and not that expensive and the Whitehouse is only 15mins walk. If you intend to visit this beautiful city there is no better place than the Fairmont for comfort, luxury and service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you Gerryirishman! We appreciate you taking the time to review. We are especially glad that our staff made an impression on you! We will pass along your compliments to Kitt, Ron, Andy, Eric and Awet.

Your closing sentence says it all: “If you intend to visit this beautiful city there is no better place than the Fairmont for comfort, luxury and service.” Thank you again!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here with my family for 4 nights in April. We are 2 adults, a 17 year old and an 11 year old. I'm not quite sure why a couple of reviewers with families did not recommend this hotel. I thought it was a perfect hotel for families and I'll tell you why. The rooms were very spacious for a family of 4. As the last reviewer commented, the courtyard rooms have balconies that lets the beautiful fresh air in and opens up the room to the outside. The Foggy Bottom Metro station is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and you can get to most of the attractions without even changing trains. A bonus is a Whole Foods across the street from the station that has everything you need for a picnic on the mall for takeaway before getting on the metro.You can also easily walk 10 minutes to the heart of Georgetown that has many shops and great family restaurants to explore. The front desk, housekeeping and the concierge were wonderful. We asked for a mini fridge in our room and it was there free of charge within 5 minutes. Hats off to Kitt at the concierge desk for printing out some needed info for us.We will definitely return to the Fairmont D.C. for our next visit. Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMBLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you AMBLF! We appreciate this kind review. We aim to be the top family-friendly hotel in D.C. and are glad your experience was so positive.

We will pass along the compliments to Kitt. She is our Senior Concierge and beyond amazing.

See you again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,177 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
339 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,485 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing