We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay With Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #19 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here with my family for 4 nights in April. We are 2 adults, a 17 year old and an 11 year old. I'm not quite sure why a couple of reviewers with families did not recommend this hotel. I thought it was a perfect hotel for families and I'll tell you why. The rooms were very spacious for a family of 4. As the last reviewer commented, the courtyard rooms have balconies that lets the beautiful fresh air in and opens up the room to the outside. The Foggy Bottom Metro station is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and you can get to most of the attractions without even changing trains. A bonus is a Whole Foods across the street from the station that has everything you need for a picnic on the mall for takeaway before getting on the metro.You can also easily walk 10 minutes to the heart of Georgetown that has many shops and great family restaurants to explore. The front desk, housekeeping and the concierge were wonderful. We asked for a mini fridge in our room and it was there free of charge within 5 minutes. Hats off to Kitt at the concierge desk for printing out some needed info for us.We will definitely return to the Fairmont D.C. for our next visit. Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMBLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you AMBLF! We appreciate this kind review. We aim to be the top family-friendly hotel in D.C. and are glad your experience was so positive.

We will pass along the compliments to Kitt. She is our Senior Concierge and beyond amazing.

See you again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,228 - 2,234 of 3,045 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just got back from a short trip to Washington to celebrate my husband's birthday. The rooms are a good size and the ones overlooking the courtyard garden have patio doors opening onto a small balcony. This was great for getting some fresh air although the air conditioning was very efficient. The public areas are spacious and all the staff very helpful. The concierge provided a list of restaurants for all budgets and indicated those within walking distance.
The hotel restaurant offers a buffet breakfast which is not cheap but caters for all tastes. We ate dinner there one night and the food was very good.
The hotel is a short walk from two Metro stations which is a quick and relatively cheap way of getting around. The area around the hotel does have a few people sleeping rough but did not find this intimidating.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Fairmont as a great place to stay for both business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Chose a room facing the courtyard garden to be able to open the doors for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonnefrom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you Yvonnefrom12! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your tip about choosing a room that faces the courtyard garden is a good one. Fresh air and beautiful views add to any stay!

We will pass your compliments on to the staff and the concierge team. Thank you again!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at The Fairmont for a family event. The room was perfect. The location is good, within walking distance of Georgetown, and easy access to museums. The staff was wonderful. We needed to eat mid afternoon and were able to order delicious food in the lounge. The room where the bar mitzvah was celebrated was lovely, with a center gazebo-like area for the dancing and "show." Just perfect.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger. Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you DonnaS71! It sounds like you got to celebrate in The Colonnade, one of our hotel’s best features with beautiful views of the courtyard garden. We’re glad you enjoyed--come back and visit us again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just back from a trip to DC and the Fairmont was a great place to stay. The hotel has an elegance that is no longer incorporated into new hotel properties. The lobby, central atrium, and public spaces are more of what you'd expect in London or Paris and give the property an international charm that really works.
A real highlight of the stay was the room. Great size and design with two huge windows. The bed is absolutely incredible! Best hotel sleep I've had in months, and I travel about once a week. Can't say enough about the quality of the beds.
The service throughout the hotel was wonderful, with the minor exception of the breakfast restaurant which seemed to have a painfully slow pace relative to the rest of the place and the demanding clients.
The location is another outstanding feature. Perfectly located to get to the business district and National Mall, but also only a few blocks from Georgetown and the Rock Creek trails.
The price was too high, but they can pull it off in DC, and they have great benefits for President's Club members. If you've got the funds or a corporate card, I'd recommend the Fairmont without hesitation.

Room Tip: No property in DC has much for views but upper floors, facing 24th Street are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SearchingUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you SearchingUsa! We appreciate the comparison to elegant London and Paris properties. Coming from DC, we’re certainly big advocates of international charm!

We’re glad you found the room (especially the bed!) so comfortable. And good point about President’s Club. The benefits just keep getting better.

Thank you again and we hope to have you back!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The bed was sensational, the room was clean, immaculate , AND SO DELICIOUS TO SLEEP ON...I loved the warm receptive people and great food as well. A treasure in dc right near georgetown...I will be back....sandra camhi

Room Tip: they were happy to please
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you Sandra C! What a great way to describe the bedding! It is quite “delicious,” if we do say so ourselves. We can’t wait to have you back!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

All the staff at the Fairmont were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable . Georgetown is a nice area with shops and restaurants. Would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
Thank swh0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to explore Georgetown. We hope to have you back again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We drove to DC from Ontario for the Easter weekend. Needless to stay it was a long drive with a teenager and an eight year old in the back. We arrived 2hrs later than I anticipated but before the official check in time on friday evening. We stayed Gold floor and the hote lwas fully booked so we had to split our visit up by staying in the Capital Corner suite on the 5th fl one night and transfer to the Gold Floor for the final two nights of our stay. This was a bit inconvenient but the staff made it as effortless as possible by moving our luggage and other stuff while we went about exploring etc. As it turns out our double double that we were to have for the 2nd two nights was not available so they apologized and gave us two Gold floor king sized rooms that were connected. Well I wished they were sorry more often, My teenaged daughter that has been living in university student accomodation for the last two years was in heaven and so were we. The rooms were spacious the bathrooms were relaxing and the Gold floor lounge went over and above as usual. TROY drove us to the White House in the BMW and as we arrived we were told the President was in the St John's Church for Easter service. We waited for almost an hour but he went out the side door. I guess they didn't tell him I was part of the President's Club at the Fairmont. Oh well You can't win them all!

Room Tip: Gold Floor we had king rooms Also the Capital corrner suite on the 5th floor was the bomb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tellitlikeitis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Tellitlikeitis64, what a great review! We are certainly glad that your university-living daughter was able to experience the heaven that is Fairmont Gold. We try to avoid any disruptions for guests, but we’re glad that it suits you when we are sorry :-)

We will pass along your compliments to Troy and the staff. And we’ll see what we can do about spreading the President’s Club message…no promises on that one though! Thank you again.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
432 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#24 of 142 in Washington DC
3,294 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,147 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $159 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing