We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location & gorgeous lobby” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #10 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location & gorgeous lobby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We were married here in 1999. Went back for anniversary stay. Still most beautiful lobby in DC. Could use some renovating - heard that will take place this summer. Very spotty service. Great bartender in lobby bar. Bellman took over an hour to bring up 2 small bags we could have brought up ourselves. We were waiting so long we had to call down to see what happened! Upgraded to corner suite which was ok. TV at end of bed on swivel is nice. Room was clean & bathrrom was clean but hate shower curtain even though not visibly dirty. Prefer shower doors in hotels. Walls are paper-thin! Could hear neighbor singing in his room all morning. So annoying while trying to sleep. Sunday brunch was very $$ for very below par service. Hostess told us it was reservations only - but sat us in nearly empty restaurant that stayed that way thru our meal. Buffet was filled w shrimp, crab, etc but was pretty skimpy on fresh breads - none. Can order eggs but no one told us until we asked. Menu was confusing - list of things on buffet but no mention of eggs or omlettes. Still had lovely time in all. Just trying to write factual review!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you Michelle B! How great that you were married here and came back for an anniversary stay. We love it!

We will check into the areas of improvement you mentioned to ensure that we are exceeding our guests’ expectations each and every time they visit. Thank you again and we hope to host you for another anniversary!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,747
    617
    144
    55
    33
See reviews for
674
741
126
743
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is located close to Georgetown. About 10 minutes Metro to the Pentagon City mall and close enough to the convention center where the Exhibition I came to took place. The hotel is luxurious. The service is extremely friendly and efficient. The (free) Gym was better last year than it is now. The room is very high standard, comfortable and clean. Breakfast is very good and very expensive too. To summarize - great experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you Yoav B! It looks like you traveled a long way to stay in our hotel and we are glad that you had a great experience! We appreciate your compliments towards our staff and facilities and hope to have you back again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I've been traveling to DC for business and family for 20 years. Have never found one nice hotel that we felt very comfortable with, until we stayed at the Fairmont. The property is attractive and well kept, the rooms comfortable and the staff very very friendly and accomodating. The location in Foggy Bottom may not be ideal for everybody, but we love the neighborhood as well. The prices seem fair, particularly on weekends. Only minor complaints:

- Very high charge for internet (which you can get around it seems by joining their loyalty club).
- Towels not the highest thread count.
- I've stayed 3 times and each time my room has been about 1/4 mile walk from the elevator.

I'll be back. It's a great, comfortable place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you very much GLBrown! We are flattered to have become your hotel of choice in DC. And we’re especially pleased that you like us for both business and leisure!

You are correct that Internet is complimentary for Fairmont President’s Club members. We encourage everyone to sign up prior to arrival to enjoy a variety of perks. Joining also allows us to record your preferences—like preferences for room locations. We invite you to email Washington@fairmont.com and tell us that you would like to be closer to the elevators. No more ¼ mile walk!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humacao, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was there for a conference and the rate was very competitive. The location is perfect, quite close to Georgetown and close enough to the mall to be able to walk to the museums. In addition it was close to many fantastic high end restaurants, but also close enough to DuPont Circle or Georgetown to eat for a lower cost in the many ethnic and interesting restaurants there. The hotel was very kind in upgrading me to the club floor which was fantastic and I did not ask for it, thanks!

The room was quite nice but had some quirks. The lights did not always work and the mixing valve in the bathroom occasionally needed to be opened and closed several times to get any hot water. In addition I asked for extra regular coffee in the room which they did for only one night not for each night. None of these things really detracted from the room much. I would stay there again!

The only thing that I found really a little irksome was that the lobby bar had not nearly enough seats. For a hotel that does a lot of groups I found this something that really needs to be addressed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for the review MichaelB88! We agree that the location of the hotel is perfect and are glad that you had the opportunity to experience some of the best of DC.

We are sorry about the quirks in the room, but are glad that you had a positive experience overall. We will look into the things you mentioned—we’re always looking for feedback. And we certainly don’t want any bar guests without a seat!

Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed four nights for business and truly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful property, great location, incredible room and the staff and service were excellent. The area was so nice and great restaurants in the area a walk away. The convention center was a 10 minute cab ride. Did I say the staff was outstanding.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room which was quiet. The suite was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Starr4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you Rball! We love that – “lives up to the Fairmont name.” Sounds like we have a loyalist on our hands!

We hope that you get the chance to return and enjoy another stay with us!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful traditional decor and a friendly outgoing staff. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Frequent guest program gets you free Internet access and the courtyard bar is very inviting.

Only minor complaint is that it seems that the service is a bit chaotic. The bar seemed understaffed and the waiters hustled while people waited and the normally world class gym (seriously) is under renovation and barely equipped but no mention on the website (should be done by 4/13, so a short term issue. Nits, I know, but I have been spoiled by wonderful experiences here and know that with some minor tweaks, this place can rank among DC's best.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevefromAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the review StevefromAtlanta! We love hearing feedback from frequent visitors. And we appreciate all of your compliments!

We will look into the bar service to ensure that no guest has a long wait. We want our courtyard area to be a place of relaxation, not frustration! We hope to have you back again soon and show you our dedication to being DC’s best.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband had to stay here for a business conference, so I tagged along wanting to see some DC sites and catch up with friends. The hotel is beautiful both the exterior and interior and is in a fantastic location. The hotel lobby is HUGE. The loggia was bright and cheery and a nice place to catch up on some work, while we waited on our room (we go there before check in time, so it was not ready). It was too cold to see courtyard, but I'm sure it is beautiful when the flowers are blooming. The surrounding neighborhood is walkable and close to lots of restaurants, etc. The rooms were a nice size and we had a room that overlooked the courtyard.

I signed up for the Presidents club and got a chance to use the much talked about gym. I found it kind of initially confusing to get around. There weren't really any signs posted directing you to the various areas and the front desk person wasn't very helpful (or friendly from what I recall, which was the opposite of everyone else I encountered at the hotel). I managed to find my way. I typically tend to use the machines when I travel and they had plenty of treadmills and ellipticals, although they weren't as up to date as I'd seen in other hotels. I only went in to use the treadmill, so I can't comment on the rest of the fitness area.

It's a full service hotel, so there are lots of amenities, but just to note, they are not all free.

They seem to have a lot of events throughout the year and noticed that they are a pet friendly place and even have pet friendly packages, where your dog can partake in an afternoon tea with you, which is important for any dog that is traveling with their human.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcarroll79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you mtnmchgrl! We are very glad you took the opportunity to join your husband for his business conference and were able to experience our hotel. You’re right about the courtyard—it is beautiful when the flowers are blooming!

We are pleased that you signed up for Fairmont President’s Club (lots of perks!) and used the gym. Thank you for the feedback about it being confusing to get around. We are always looking to improve and will use this as an opportunity to do so.

We hope to have you, your husband, and your dog back soon! We will certainly take care of your pooch—and her humans as well!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing