We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #12 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best of DC”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've stayed here several times over the years. The rooms are lovely and the service is impeccable--always goes the extra mile. I always look forward to returning. Also is a handy location, close to Dupont Circle and Georgetown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MileHighMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you MileHighMe! We are grateful for your loyalty and are glad that you have always had such a positive experience. Especially with our staff--we love that you noticed the service going the extra mile.

We hope to continue to see you in DC. We look forward to you returning as well!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,888
    669
    153
    59
    34
See reviews for
727
790
136
816
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I travel oftentimes for business whenever I get a chance I try a different high-end hotel. The valet, bellman, front desk and everyone was gracious and polite as envision. Lobby area court-yard spendid. Room comfortable with great corner view. Attended a small business meeting the next day. Meeting room OK burned out light and musty unbelieveable warm room. Continental breakfeat present. Asked waiter if possible to arrange something else because of my dietary consideration. To my dismay, I was refer to call room service. ( took 45 minutes ) The unspiring weary waiter has mucho time busy chatting with his associate but to provide pleasurable and enchanting experience. I'm fluent in 5 languages what I overheard doesn't speak positively about this establishment. Dirty plates and utensils wasn't timely clear remained duration of meeting. Definitely not worth it. Expected reasonable impeccable service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently stayed 4 nights at The Fairmont for a business conference and was impressed with the hotel. The front staff, concierge, and bellhops were all courteous and helpful. My room and bathroom were quite spacious with relatively modern, updated decor. Even though my room directly overlooked 24th St., I did not have any problems with noise in the evenings. The restaurant was a bit pricey, especially for breakfast (but that is to be expected in this area), but the food was actually quite good. Overall I was impressed with the hotel and would highly recommend it - the rooms are nice, the staff are friendly, and the location is great (just a few short blocks from the Metro).
The only bad thing about the hotel was the complimentary gym - it had 2 treadmills, 2 elliptical machines, 2 bikes, 1 rack of dumbbells up to 35 lbs, and only 1 weight bench. If you need to do cardio then it is probably better to just jog around the city (and I noticed that the hotel did provide a nice jogging route map in the room). Nonetheless, there was very little space to do any kind of weight work at the gym, so I'm glad I was fortunate enough to have the area to myself when I went. There was another fitness club in the hotel that you could access for an additional fee, so my guess is that facility would be much nicer than the complimentary gym and probably worth checking out if you want a serious workout. This was my only complaint about the hotel, however, and is relatively minor given that I was pleased with all the other aspects of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilius77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the review emilius77! We are glad that you had an enjoyable four nights with us.

It sounds like you take staying fit on the road seriously! The 24-hour Fitness Center you mentioned was recently renovated; we appreciate your feedback and will see what we can do to make more room for weight training. We also highly encourage the use of Balance Gym Foggy Bottom. Through our partnership with Balance Gym, we are able to offer guests access for discounted rates – only $5 for President’s Club members and free for Platinum level members and Gold Floor guests!

We hope another business conference or desire for vacation brings you to DC again soon. We’d love to have you back!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
226 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Loved the check-in via email. My room was ready when I arrived, as promised. Room was beautiful - spacious and elegant. Very comfortable bed with good lighting for reading or working. Desk area good. Room service arrived within half hour and was absolutely delicious. I just love this hotel and it is even better since my last stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UWSall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you NYerUWS! There are few things we like hearing better than guests who continue to be blown away by the hotel!

We hope to have you back soon and to continue to exceed your expectations. Thank you again!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just stayed here on business last month. The hotel is lovely with a very open, airy feeling. The rooms are spacious and appointed beautifully. No issues with internet connection. Gym was closed for renovation. Staff was excellent and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorpPlanner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you CorpPlanner_11! If your name is any indication, we suspect you get to travel frequently and see hotels the world over. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We appreciate your kind words and compliments to our staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were well treated by the staff, the concierges were helpful, the room was good and there was a good piano player in the foyer at night. We were on vacation with our 17-year-old son, while many of the other guests appeared to be on business ... but that was in no way a detraction and we certainly were well cared for. The location was perfect for us. It is an easy westward walk to Georgetown with its fabulous choice of restaurants to suit anyone's taste and budget. A 20-minute walk to the East are all the government and museum attractions that Washington is famous for. We like walking and the sun was out, so that's what we usually did. But the Foggy Bottom Metro is pretty close, so we used that a few times. In a nutshell, we were pleased and we would be happy to stay at the Fairmont again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edojidai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you edojidai for the kind review. We are flattered to be your hotel of choice while traveling with your family.

You certainly got to experience the major perks of our location! We hope you found some new family favorites and will return again and again.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I arrived at the Fairmont on Christmas Day with my wife and daughter. Our room was quite spacious, clean, comfortable, and had a beautiful view of the atrium. The front desk personnel are incredible! For example, eventhough there was an umbrella in our room's closet for us to use, we were in need of another since there were 3 of us. When we inquired at the front desk, the young man let us borrow his personal umbrella which he brought to work that day. Historic Georgetown is nearby. We would walk there every night for dinner since the hotel's restaurant was a bit pricey. There are numerous places to shop in Georgetown too. It is also a short walk to the Foggy Bottom metro station. There is a CVS a block away from the hotel and another in Georgetown to stock up on any needed supplies, snacks, water, etc... The hotel was beautiful, the staff was wonderful, and our stay was truly memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review fny007! We appreciate all of your compliments, especially towards our staff. Our staff is truly extraordinary and we love when guests are able to experience that. We will have to ask around to find out who lent you his personal umbrella to thank him!

Your final sentence sums up everything we hope to offer our guests: “The hotel was beautiful, the staff was wonderful, and our stay was truly memorable.” We hope to have you back again soon and to continue to exceed your expectations.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,148 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,568 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing