We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy stay in Washington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #19 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel in the Embassies area. The service is prompt and kind, the location is perfect and the environment beautiful. A note of criticism is that for a hotel of this level, things such as free Internet, free water bottle in the room, some free coffee in the lobby should be granted.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank LuisaColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for the kind review LuisaColorado. We love words like classy, perfect and beautiful when describing our property!

Next time you visit, we highly recommend signing up for Fairmont President’s Club. One of the perks of membership is complimentary Internet. You can also save preferences on your profile, so if you would like a certain kind of coffee for the in-room Keurig, we’d make sure to have it available. At the Fairmont, we strive to be as environmentally friendly as possible and try to limit the use of disposable water bottles. However, we have filtered still and sparkling water offered in glass bottles available for no charge in all of our dining areas. Feel free to call our Royal Service department any time you’re feeling parched—and let us know before you visit next, we’ll make sure to stock your room.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,298 - 2,304 of 3,041 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

i stay there twice a year after my first stay the doormen remember your face and greet you with a smile and a welcome back. the hotel is well located in the georgetown area, also many excellent places to have a fine dinner in the general area, many can be walked to

Room Tip: the times that i have been there i have found all of the rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you very much George M! We’re delighted that you feel at home in our hotel. We’ll pass your compliments on to our doormen—they have memories that blow us away. We appreciate you taking the time to review and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've been helping with a conference that has been held at this hotel for the past 3 years. After three visits, I've only found one thing I didn't like, and its pretty petty. The staff were great to work with. The food for the conference was excellent. The young lady that checked me in went above and beyond. I believe her name was Sarah. She got me a great room with an adjoining room for my son. Here's my only petty complaint...the TV in my room was on a center dresser and rotated 180 degrees to be viewed from the bed or the couch (like I said, she got me a great room), but it only rotated towards the hall to the bathroom and you couldn't see the TV from the desk. I like watching TV in the evening while I'm catching up on work and I could sit at the desk and see the TV. I told you it was petty. I did, however, have a nice window above the desk that looked right down M street. But I would rate this hotel 5 stars anytime.

Room Tip: Getting a room right on M street gives you something to view. If you want a good suite, a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you RLMartin for being such a loyal guest! We truly appreciate it. We will pass your compliments on to Sarah. She’s great and we’re lucky to have her!

Our Director of Engineering will look into the TV situation and see what he can do to improve the experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to review and for giving us five stars!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Sometimes you simply need a way station that is a simple respite from a long travel schedule. While I was not able to truly take advantage of all this property has to offer, the friendly staff, the well appointed room, the bed that was to die for, the nice little slippers and the fact that I could take a real bath and soak the aches and pains of the day away made all the difference. It was an exemplary in room experience.

I would especially like to acknowledge front staff- Two doorman quickly pointed me in the right direction for both my dinner date, and a hot bowl of oatmeal at a nearby Starbucks. In both cases they walked me to the curb and pointed out landmarks to make my walk easier. Along the way I also realised that it was in a GREAT location in G'Town.

I was also impressed with the check out process. A young woman greeted me in the lobby, checked me out on an iPad, directed me to an ATM and looked after getting my bags to cab while I got my cash.

Room Tip: My corner mini suite was especially nice and easy to see how spending a week there would be very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you Tony C for such a kind review! It sounds like you had exactly the experience we want out guests to have. We couldn’t be happier!

We hope that you’ll be able to stay longer next time and truly experience all that the hotel and location have to offer. Thank you again. We look forward to having you back!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Not impressed with staff and room service; the front desk staff were not helpful until the manager had to intervene and don't even bother with room service - over an hour to get uncooked cold food. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard and the rooms are spacious but that's about all it has to offer.

Room Tip: Stay away from street view rooms - can get quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzyPoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

SuzyPoo, we are terribly sorry you had a negative experience with us. We are unwilling let any guest be disappointed; please call us at (202) 429-2400 and ask for Adam Knight, Hotel Manager. We would like to make our amends and correct the situation.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Washington Fairmont Hotel is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at by far. From the minute you come to the front entrance it is pure elegance. Inside is marble and glass, the rear courtyard is just stunning. The restaurants are outstanding, the rooms are beautiful and a very, very nice spa as well. The location right on M street, and a short walk to Georgetown is also wonderful for those people without a car.
THIS is the hotel to stay at in Washington DC

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 281bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

281bob, we are flattered! From the “stunning” courtyard to the elegant entrance, we are so pleased that you had an impeccable Fairmont Washington D.C., Georgetown experience. It’s what we strive for!

We appreciate you taking the time to review and helping future guests with their travel decisions. The power of guest-to-guest reviews is undeniable. Please come back and stay again soon; we will be waiting to wow you some more!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was my second stay at the Fairmont Washington DC. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is great for business or pleasure and the hotel offers anything you would need while traveling. It is well-located in Georgetown with many restaurants and shops in walking distance, and it’s a short cab ride to the museums and other DC attractions. The room was spacious, well-appointed and had a very comfortable bed. I will definitely plan to stay here again on my next visit to DC.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fern S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you Fern S! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We agree that the amenities and location make the Fairmont a great place to stay and love when guests take advantage of them like you did. We look forward to having you again and promise a third trip just as enjoyable as the first and second!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
432 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,290 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,147 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $162 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing