We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you expect from a Fairmont”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Sometimes you simply need a way station that is a simple respite from a long travel schedule. While I was not able to truly take advantage of all this property has to offer, the friendly staff, the well appointed room, the bed that was to die for, the nice little slippers and the fact that I could take a real bath and soak the aches and pains of the day away made all the difference. It was an exemplary in room experience.

I would especially like to acknowledge front staff- Two doorman quickly pointed me in the right direction for both my dinner date, and a hot bowl of oatmeal at a nearby Starbucks. In both cases they walked me to the curb and pointed out landmarks to make my walk easier. Along the way I also realised that it was in a GREAT location in G'Town.

I was also impressed with the check out process. A young woman greeted me in the lobby, checked me out on an iPad, directed me to an ATM and looked after getting my bags to cab while I got my cash.

Room Tip: My corner mini suite was especially nice and easy to see how spending a week there would be very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you Tony C for such a kind review! It sounds like you had exactly the experience we want out guests to have. We couldn’t be happier!

We hope that you’ll be able to stay longer next time and truly experience all that the hotel and location have to offer. Thank you again. We look forward to having you back!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,356 - 2,362 of 3,097 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Not impressed with staff and room service; the front desk staff were not helpful until the manager had to intervene and don't even bother with room service - over an hour to get uncooked cold food. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard and the rooms are spacious but that's about all it has to offer.

Room Tip: Stay away from street view rooms - can get quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzyPoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

SuzyPoo, we are terribly sorry you had a negative experience with us. We are unwilling let any guest be disappointed; please call us at (202) 429-2400 and ask for Adam Knight, Hotel Manager. We would like to make our amends and correct the situation.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Washington Fairmont Hotel is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at by far. From the minute you come to the front entrance it is pure elegance. Inside is marble and glass, the rear courtyard is just stunning. The restaurants are outstanding, the rooms are beautiful and a very, very nice spa as well. The location right on M street, and a short walk to Georgetown is also wonderful for those people without a car.
THIS is the hotel to stay at in Washington DC

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 281bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

281bob, we are flattered! From the “stunning” courtyard to the elegant entrance, we are so pleased that you had an impeccable Fairmont Washington D.C., Georgetown experience. It’s what we strive for!

We appreciate you taking the time to review and helping future guests with their travel decisions. The power of guest-to-guest reviews is undeniable. Please come back and stay again soon; we will be waiting to wow you some more!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was my second stay at the Fairmont Washington DC. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is great for business or pleasure and the hotel offers anything you would need while traveling. It is well-located in Georgetown with many restaurants and shops in walking distance, and it’s a short cab ride to the museums and other DC attractions. The room was spacious, well-appointed and had a very comfortable bed. I will definitely plan to stay here again on my next visit to DC.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fern S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you Fern S! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We agree that the amenities and location make the Fairmont a great place to stay and love when guests take advantage of them like you did. We look forward to having you again and promise a third trip just as enjoyable as the first and second!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

from the moment we arrived we were met at the entrance by a lady with an iPad that checked us in super fast ! .....the lobby is spectacular....room was spacious and clean....great water pressure !!!...so close to georgetown and the shops....parked the car and walked or took a cab everywhere....had a great lovely dinner at he hotel ....and the peacock was also a great dinner choice....couldn't have been a better stay....can't wait to go back..... .and with a daughter at AMERICAN UNIVERSITY we will be back soon......hooked on fairmont hotels !!!

Room Tip: spa was closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonycannizzaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you tonycannizzaro. What a kind review! We are glad that you enjoyed the iPad check-in and all of the hotel amenities. We work hard to continuously improve our guest experience; giving our Front Desk Agents the ability to greet guests at the door with a streamlined check-in certainly contributes to that.

We look forward to having you back and wish your daughter best of luck at American University.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Good business hotel -- overall the hotel is a little dated (in particular if compared to the Hyatt or Westin which are close by) but the rooms are spacious and more modern. Large room, good bed, etc. Only thing missing were slippers, which is really really bizarre...Gym and pool were closed for renovations while I was there, but they have that clearly stated on their website so no surprises and they have a small gym room in the meantime which is fine though. I ate in my room twice, food could do with a little jazzing up - quite boring cuisine and not great. Staff is also friendly and professional -you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 72Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback Travelbug! Sorry about the missing slippers; we will look into it and get the problem resolved. No cold feet for our guests! Next time you are in town, be sure to tell us your food preferences. We are more than happy to tweak our menu to meet our guests’ desires.

We appreciate you taking the time to review and aiding future guests with travel decisions. Most of all, we appreciate your enthusiasm for our staff. It’s easy to keep a smiling staff when we have such good guests!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was here last weekend for a professional meeting and it was a good experience. The hotel is beautiful and the service was very good. The room had nice amenities, including a Keurig coffee maker and coffee service and an electric pot to make hot water for tea. Everything was very clean and orderly. The writing desk had ample electrical plugs in a drawer which was really convenient for recharging the phone, computer and tablet. The room was very quiet and I couldn't hear any of my neighbors. Overall, it felt luxurious and I felt pampered.

The only down sides were that one morning the hot water was out and I had to take a tepid shower. That happened to many people at the meeting I was attending, but it was fixed the next day. Also, the maids forgot to restock coffee creamer.

As far as our meeting went, it included refreshments, breakfast, lunch and dinner and all of the food was really good. We had dinner and reception in the Colonnade Room and it was very nice. Food was restocked quickly when it got low, and there was good variety of beverages and snacks. The meeting rooms very comfortable and the temperature was just right. I didn't hear any complaints from anyone else at the meetings.

ADVICE: Before you go, get online and make sure you join the President's Club. They will bring you the newspaper of your choice, and the Internet is FREE if you are a member. They also allow you to record some preferences.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Susan, you offer good advice! Signing up for Fairmont President’s Club is one of the best travel decisions you can make. From free Internet to personalized service, it helps us serve you better.

From the looks of your TripAdvisor reviews, you are very well traveled. Therefore, your 5 star review of our hotel is especially rewarding. We love gaining insight from our most experienced travelers!

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review. We look forward to seeing you here and in Fairmonts around the world.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#44 of 141 in Washington DC
492 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,383 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,171 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $166 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing