We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy hotel fab location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
swansea
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Classy hotel fab location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on the last night of our tour around the states. It was one of the best hotels that we had stayed the location was superb and could walk into George Town where the famous cupcake shop is that is often on the tv. The service was good and the room were lovely, spacious clean and well equipped the gardens are very pretty. There was valet service but parking was expensive and I do miss the breakfast being included.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swanseanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Swanseanurse, thank you for the kind review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to try some of Georgetown's favorite cupcakes. They're a must have!

Keep an eye out for some of our packages, especially over the summer, for options that include parking and breakfast. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    645
    147
    59
    33
See reviews for
703
763
132
780
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time during a weekend in June 2012 stayed at The Fairmont for a local wedding. The hotel is beautiful and classic - not super modernized like some of the surrounding options. The lobby is great to relax and have a drink with all of the afternoon light from the adjacent courtyard. The brunch is pricey but delicious and worth the splurge for the endless buffet of treats. The rooms are lovely and well designed. My one complaint is that the toilet in our suite's bathroom was not clean when we arrived. Guest services responded right away and sent up complimentary snacks and wine as an apology. Definitely a top choice for a stay in DC! (Side note - we wanted to get our nails done at the spa but it is in the gym, very small and not in line with a luxury hotel.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kr_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
kr_333, thank you for the review! We love getting feedback from locals.

Thank you for the compliments towards our classically beautiful property. It's one of the things we love most and like to share with our guests. Sorry about the bathroom mishap -- we're glad guest services was able to quickly take care of it. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here a few times now and it is a lovely hotel. The main thing for me is that its not too busy so you have a relaxed check in and a chilled out passage to your room. We stayed in the Capitol Corner suite....lots of space and though its just the one room, the bedroom and lounge are separated by a large cabinet that houses the tv, minibar, dvd etc...so feels like a different room. The corner suite gives views of both sides of the hotel so you get a massive amoount of light into the room. One main bathroom followed by one guest w/c as you enter. A great minibar, good selection of movies(on demand) and decent 24hrs room service menu. Located in a quieter part of DC but within walking of Georgetown and a short ride to the main tourist areas though you can walk this if needed. The breakfast is excellent as is the service and the dining room is beautiful. The piano bar just off the lobby is also a great place to chill out either before or after a night out.

Room Tip: get a suite if budget allows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eatenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
BobKJi, thank you for the kind review and the recommendations you offer future guests. We appreciate it and are certain they do too!

You're certainly right that the atmosphere is more relaxed and calming than other DC locations--we like to call it an Urban Oasis. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Full disclosure- I am a President's Club member and so enjoy Fairmont owned properties because of their reliability, accountability, responsiveness to my needs, and good restaurants/food service. I am never disappointed when I stay in a Fairmont property and if there is one in the destination to which I am bound I will seek it out for my stay. Our family visited Washington for four days prior to Christmas and what a great time it was to visit this wonderful city. The hotel is centrally located in Georgetown, and we could walk to most places or grab the metro (another great feature of this city). The only drawback was that their pool facility was closed when we visited but we were able to use the Four Seasons facilities which were excellent. The concierge services are excellent with knowledgeable and helpful individuals at all times. Because it was a quiet time, the hotel administration allowed us to upgrade to a full suite with two bedrooms and a connecting living room which made the stay for our family of five truly luxurious and utterly enjoyable. The lounge area with bar is a lovely place to have a drink (try their signature honey based mixed drinks- their own roof-top honey!) and little snacks. It was a very safe and secure location for our family and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would expect all rooms are great but if there is an event, perhaps ask for a room away from this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinookTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
ChinookTravel_12, thank you for the review! We're glad your family had an enjoyable and luxurious stay.

Thank you for seeking out Fairmonts anytime you travel! Our General Manager is fond of saying that we have only done our job if a guest returns home and says that he stayed at a Fairmont; we've failed if he says he stayed in a hotel. Thanks for you loyalty and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very nice hotel with friendly staff. Great location. This may seem strange, but the quick elevators made this a five. I've stayed in too many hotels where the elevators were slow and creaky. What a great change. My daughters really enjoyed being near the WWF. It was an easy walk to the metro for sightseeing.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the great comments. We love being located next to the World Wild Life Fund - a great organization. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Love DC...usually stay right in town...wanted something different. Decided to stay at the Fairmont because of all the wonderful reviews. Well the reviews were right. The service, hospitality, clean hudge rooms...beautiful. lobby..everything...one of the nicest hotels I ever stayrd in...the Juniper restaurant for breakfast was top notch. I cant wait to go back again. It was my birthday and they treated me with chocolate covered srawberries and sparkling water...fresh clean bathrobes and slippers...I was in heaven..on weekends they have "afternoon tea"...how cute (you have to make reservations for that)...I love this hotel...everyone was so warm and always had smiles on their faces...Cant say enough...

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cece59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Cece59, this review truly captures what we aim for as a hotel. We love exceeding guests' expectations and are pleased we were able to do that with you!

We love that you pointed out the smiles on our staffs' faces. Everyone here truly enjoys their job and it shows. We hope to be able to celebrate another birthday with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed at the Fairmont while I was in washington last month and what an experience. The staff were more than helpful with everything I needed and the rooms were amazing. Lots of size and well appointed. The hotel was quite and inviting and I would have to say that the highlight of the stay was the afternoon live piano with a drink after a long days work. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank day5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We hope you will come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,130 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing