We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel when traveling with your pet.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hotel when traveling with your pet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My brother and I stayed here for a wedding in October with our German Shepard. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was excellent, from the cleaning staff, who had her photo taken with our dog, and the concierge, who went out of her way to make our stay memorable. The highlight was their new Pinkies and Paws High Tea, with amazing treats for us and our dog. Washington is a great place to travel with your dog, and the Fairmont is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We are delighted that you and your dog were able to raise your pinkies and paws at our afternoon tea. Please come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,816
    645
    148
    59
    33
See reviews for
703
763
132
782
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed three great nights here. Staff was exceeding friendly especially the bar staff. Don't miss Happy Hour 4-7 pm week nights. Great food and drink at reasonable prices. Nothing to do with hotel but Fairmont is getting too restrictive with their President's Club rewards.

Room Tip: Courtyard is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I work near the hotel and was a member of the Health Club. I am writing to say that they are renovating the gym, pool, jacuzzi area through February at least. They may have a small area with some machines to use temporarily. If having a good exercise or swim facility is important, then look elsewhere for the next few months. Otherwise it's a nice business hotel, much too pricey for families. The lobby is nice and in warm months the courtyard is lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

A bit expensive, but the hotel has a nice lobby, good comfortable well equipped rooms, and helpful respectful staff. The breakfast though needs some improvement in quality and variety. All business hotels should have free wifi, no one should pay for wifi at thus day and age. Wifi and breakfast were included in my room rate. I was happy with my stay. I give the hotel a 9 out of 10 overall.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaled7691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Level Contributor
309 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the Fairmont for a wedding. The room was lovely and spacious. The bathroom was also lovely and spacious. Comfy bed. It is an older facility but beautifully maintained. We joined their President's club to get complimentary internet and fitness center. The food served at the wedding and brunch was delicious. Staff was very helpful - especially the bellhops and valet!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rf06903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are very proud of our smiling staff, and we are so glad you noticed. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A great hotel to stay in, superb conference facilities and good food too. The staff is ever smiling and helpful. And its literally 2 blocks away from the famous and lively Georgetown and the shopping street. So thats a bonus on top of all that. Been going there for past 3 years - always a pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary fl
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Fairmont with our 4 children and had 2 rooms. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location. Rob the concierge went above and beyond to make our visit in Georgetown extra special. Rob coordinated a special dinner for our family and in and hour had a private tour book. If you have never visited DC before it is worth every penny to book a private tour through Rob with Marty. Beautiful lounge are and very relaxing after a day in the city. We can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your visit. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,160 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing