We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #17 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked the American Girl (standard room) package at this hotel for my daughter's 13th birthday. A few days before we arrived, we got an email asking about my daughter's favourite cake and icing flavours. When we arrived, we were impressed with the spacious, sunny lobby, which always smelled fresh and floral. I asked about the package upon check in (a travel doll bed is part of the package) and the desk agent said he would find out where the amenity might be and call me in the room. When we arrived at the room, our door said "Ambassador Suite" on it and we were amazed to walk into a beautiful, huge, two room suite with a dining table, pull out king sofa bed, king bedroom and beautiful, massive bathroom. On the coffee table was the American Girl bed, along with a gift bag with some lovely gifts including a stuffed panda and a Washington T-shirt, and balloons. Really above and beyond! Our daughter was delighted! Shortly after we arrived, a beautiful personalized mini-birthday cake arrived, along with milk and star shaped cookies, all compliments of the manager. We ordered room service and with it came chocolate dipped strawberries, with a birthday message on the plate in chocolate. Really, my daughter felt like a princess! This special treatment was so special and beyond anything we might have expected. Every staff member we encountered was so kind, helpful and seemed to love their job. We had dinner at Juniper and it was very good, when we said we were in town for a birthday, out came a lovely birthday dessert, complete with a candle! The Fairmont really knows how to celebrate and make guests feel special. The hotel was clean, fresh and bright, and we loved the location. We had booked for only one night to take advantage of the American Girl package and then moved to the Sofitel, as we thought the room and location would be better, but we really wished we had stayed at the Fairmont for the entire visit. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone- it was a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The room facing the courtyard (interior) was quiet and the view of the courtyard was lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strfdtravllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

It was so nice having you and your family stay with us. We love our partnership with American Girl and there is nothing better than seeing the faces on little girls when they see that both they and their American Girl have had their beds turned down. We can't wait for you to stay with us again. We are also going to have American Girl Birthday parties, tea parties and slumber parties. Thanks again for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,952)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,309 - 2,315 of 2,953 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had the most lovely stay in this gorgeous hotel in February. Every member of staff we encountered was hugely friendly & helpful. The lobby area is gorgeous & the hotel conveniently located for sightseeing on foot. Immaculate & impressive rooms. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here on a Friday night package. Drinks in the lobby/garden area were great..especially the happy hour special menu pricing. Relatively close to Georgetown. Even closer to Marcel's for a spectacular dinner. Room was comfortable and well-appointed. Very nice breakfast buffet with the package. Parking steep at $45 but it is Downtown DC! This hotel ranks with our visits to St.Regis and The Jefferson. We will do it again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutsideShot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed here the last week in July--the first week of the Olympics, The hotel lobby was tastefully decorated and they set up a special TV and viewing area in the lounge to watch the games. The outdoor courtyard was gorgeous, although it was really too hot to ever eat our meals out there. The room was nice--nothing special but served its purpose. The bathroom was bigger than most hotel room bathrooms and the shower pressure was awesome. We ate breakfast every day in Juniper restaurant, opting for the buffet option. It was definitely pricey, so we didn't eat any other meals there.

The area is pretty nice. A short walk into Georgetown with tons of shops and restaurants. Dupont Circle is a close walk too.

My only complaint is the parking. There is really no street parking, as the meters all around the hotel are 2 hours every day but Sunday. The hotel parking is 42$ for overnight parking. There is a PMI garage under the Westin across the street that is cheaper.

Overall, the Fairmont was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caribe_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Each time I am in Washington I stay at the Fairmont. It's a very nice hotel just near Georgetown and not too far from the center. The hotel faboulous, the rooms are very clean (everyday) and the service more than excellent. A special mention for the people at the piano bar: they know how to welcome you. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobSchmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our family ended up at this hotel after we lost power at our home and checked in to escape the heat. We got two rooms..

Registration was excellent and very courteous. The rooms were very good, and the service excellent. I have nothing but complements for our trip.

The best part was enjoying the location -- the Westend. The area is lovely on a weekend with everything from restaurants to a nearby Trader Joe's. You see Washington DC at its Summer best.

Room Tip: The views from the street side are prerry nice, and not loud.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMcLeanVAFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I went to visit my daughter in nearby Georgetown, 1.5 miles from this fabulous hotel and had a wonderful stay here. Amenities are first rate, staff treats you like they're happy you're there and everything is clean! I used the spa which is wonderful and most importantly they honored my request for a quiet room as I had been traveling all week. Their only mistake, and why I would give it a 4.5 if I could is that the coffee-maker didn't work despite their attempts to fix it. However, they brought up a fresh pot in 15 minutes so in the end they made up for it with just some waiting from me. Room was beautiful and bathroom gorgeous!

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel and tell them your needs - the rooms over their courtyard are quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkeimkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#7 of 142 in Washington DC
370 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,201 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#8 of 142 in Washington DC
1,506 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $216 - $683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing