We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding at this hotel and we are so happy we did. The service here is fantastic and our guests all raved about their experiences. The decor is not particularly unique in the rooms, but they are comfortable and spacious. The lobby and courtyard are beautiful and we enjoyed all of the food we ate. Location is great, minutes to Georgetown and Dupont Circle. The event staff are amazing, but that is a subject for a different review!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 042581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,402 - 2,408 of 2,986 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

I liked the beds, the courtyard, and the happy hour. The Gold floor certainly did have its conveniences. I found the decor bland and some of the staff on the Gold floor so eager to be helpful they were almost intrusive. The spa area is large but the pool is not and you may find it full of young children so you can't swim. The jacuzzi was full of teenagers and the sauna and steam room were not hot. The immediate vicinity has little of interest but you can walk up towards Dupont Circle where it is more lively and there are pavement cafes; it is not too far to the metro. The hotel is very expensive. If you want everything on tap and are prepared to pay for it, this hotel will suit you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Our recent visit, April 4-April 7, 2012, was made perfect by the hotel staff. Everything, our room, the lounging areas, and the beautiful solarium lobby were always very neat, clean and beautiful. The room was well thought out for connivence and comfort. Every staff person encountered behaved perfectly and was very welcoming. In particular, Sarah and Troy on the Gold Floor, went the extra mile to be as friendly and helpful as possible.

Room Tip: Try the Gold floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrpgnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed with our 2 young children at The Fairmont over Easter weekend. Our stay was wonderful - every hotel staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. The location was great-2 blocks from the metro and walking distance to Georgetown. There was a very large conference at the hotel during our stay, but we barely noticed the crowd. The hotel is clean, beautifully decorated, quiet, and the beds are comfortable with huge feather down pillows! We were really impressed and will definitely stay at the Fairmont again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ahgross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the first week of April as a splurge for our 20th anniversary. And from the time we stepped out of the car in front of the hotel till now (checking out tomorrow) it has never diappointed. We stayed on the Gold Floor, which in itself, is amazing but the level of service is outstanding. But, the entire hotel staff is great but we dealt more with the people on the Gold Floor. Sarah, the Conceige on the Gold Floor made every request I made for surprises for my husband above and beyond what I even imagined. We stayed here for a week and now matter who worked, they all knew our names. We had the Executive Suite and it was facing the road but the noise never really bothered us. The room was very spacious and comfortable. I am not into modern design so this fit us just well. We will now consider going places based on where Fairmont's are located.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farmersue38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Fairmont is a classy hotel through and through without a trace of pretense. The service at this hotel right from the doormen, the front desk staff, the concierge, room service all the way to housekeeping was A-plus. The hotel lobby is exquisite and a highlight for us each night was relaxing in the lively (but not loud) lobby. Special thanks to Dante the lobby bartender who took some extra effort in bringing warm cookies for my son. Speaking of
lively, the hotel is in the very active Georgetown area and the walk to/from Foggy Bottom Metro is not taxing at all. We stayed in a room facing the hotel courtyard which had the plus of being cut off from the street noise. We would highly recommend staying at this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stay at this property about once every two weeks. The staff is amazing - they know my name. I don't have to tell them who I am when I check in. The restaurant has lovely happy hour specials with seasonal drinks, and I enjoy spending time in the outdoor courtyard in the summer. The rooms are very nice with everything you need, and they are generally spotless. I would recommend this property for a luxury stay near the White House and Georgetown. One downside is they don't have a Willow Stream spa - but they do offer spa services. It would be great if they could add that!

Room Tip: The lower level floors have just been renovated - ask for them (below the 6th floor). If you get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PackLightTravelHeavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#10 of 142 in Washington DC
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,243 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $198 - $747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing