We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Ranked #41 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great Service and Quality”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My organization hosted a two day meeting for a group of 25 professionals at the Churchill. The staff did a great job meeting our A/V and catering needs and were able to accommodate last minute menu changes. It was the perfect meeting space and location for our event (which varied between strategic planning and Embassy visits) and I felt like as if the entire Churchill staff gave our group personal specialized attention.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi Marisa S, Thank you very much for your five star review; we definitely appreciate you taking time to write such wonderful things about The Churchill. It was an honor to host your event in our Kalorama meeting space. We want to make sure all events go off without a hitch, so any last minute catering or AV needs are always accommodated. Thank you for mentioning the fact that our staff gave you and your colleagues personalized service; that's what we strive to do. Please consider us for all your future events, we will be happy to host you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    443
    98
    44
    43
See reviews for
189
315
101
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waimate, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Old historical hotel in good location, DuPont Circle, close to metro 5 min walk, hop on/off bus stop across the road. All staff very helpful and friendly especially Nikita on front desk. rooms large comfy beds

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi Jane W, Thank you for your four star review and for calling The Churchill a "Great DC Hotel." You're absolutely correct, the great location puts guests in close proximity to the Dupont Circle metro, the hop on/off bus, any many fine restaurants and shops. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff (especially Nikita) and the comfortable beds. Please stay with us again whenever you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Moved to the Churchill for a couple of days at the end of a recent trip to DC when my usual hotel's room rate skyrocketed by 3x (!)
What an unexpectedly pleasant surprise - a lovely large and comfortable room, sunny and light, spotlessly clean. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Reliable internet (not easy to find), great location.
Has a quaint air of faded glory about it, but its good. Only thing I missed was a minibar. Oh and the iron and iron board were dreadful - but they are pretty bad in most places I find.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clementine6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi Clementine6, Thank you for your four star review. We are glad to hear you were pleasantly surprised by our spacious well lit rooms, courteous staff, great location, and the reliable internet. I'm sorry the iron and ironing board did not meet your standards; we have plans to replace them soon. Please visit us again when you are in the Washington, DC area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My organization recently had a large event in DC - we traveled with about 50 highschool students and their chaperons, 20 staff, and several VIP guests. The Churchill Hotel worked with us to accommodate all our guests including several catered in house meals. All the staff was super great to work with. They went out of their way to help us move boxes, get into rooms early, accommodate flight delays etc. They were very helpful with getting us around the local area. The hotel itself is beautiful with comfortable and large rooms. Lots of space to get work done and to meet as a group and to relax after a long day! It was a great experience, a great hotel in a great location. We hope to be back again next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Stephanie S, Thank you for your five star review and for sharing your positive experience with the thousands of people who view and read TripAdvisor reviews. I personally remember your school group and the children were very well behaved and the adult staff members were extremely friendly. It was an honor to host your event and meet all of your needs, please come back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

3 of us girls went on our girls trip & stayed here! The staff were all so nice & personal!! Kasem at the front desk was our favorite...he helped us with everything we needed!!! It's a historic hotel that's been updated & super charming:)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AngelaSisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear AngelaSisk, Thank you for your wonderful review of The Churchill. We strive to be as personable as we can with each and every guest. It's so nice to hear that you felt our staff lived up to those expectations; especially Kacem, and as you can imagine, he's a favorite with lots of our guest's. We welcome you and your girls back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Three of us stayed at the Churchill for a week in June 2014. The hotel came with a solid reputation as a landmark DC hotel and we weren't disappointed. The rooms are spacious, esp. for a city hotel, and the bar and lounge area is well-appointed and comfortable. Our only concern was that some of the staff seemed a little under trained and were sometimes not responsive to requests (such as fixing blocked plumbing). In general though, we'll be recommending this hotel to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Shaun W, Thank you for your five star review. We're are certainly glad all of your expectations were met on your recent visit to The Churchill. I'm sorry to hear your blocked plumbing wasn't addressed promptly; we will definitely inform our staff that such requests must be handled immediately. Your recommendation to others is greatly appreciated and please come back and stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gEORGIA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here June 18-21. I can't say enough about the great staff at the Churchill. We loved our stay. Great service from the bar to hotel mgt to housekeeping . Great history to the Churchill and a great location. Hotel restaurant was good but there are many other ones near the hotel.We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GLOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear GLOMAN, we are so pleased to receive such a wonderful review. Your five star rating is also highly appreciated. Glad that everyone was helpful and accommodating and you had great time with us. Thank you for choosing our hotel and being our guest. We definitely want you to visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
983 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#89 of 141 in Washington DC
550 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#102 of 141 in Washington DC
3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,093 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 141 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Property: Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing