We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, friendly, personal service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Ranked #39 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My day of arrival was very pleasant. My room was ready as requested, since my arrival was earlier than check in. Steven, at the front desk made my trip memorable. He knew my name each time I interacted with him. Hat's off to him. Great place if you are a runner since there is a slight hill going back to the hotel. Running downtown was way to easy, getting back was another story. No pool, weight room adequate. The days I stayed were sunny and 63F or 18C. Great running weather.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed. What a wonderful feeling to wake up in a large bed alone!??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Glenn A, it’s great that you enjoyed your stay at The Churchill Hotel and had good time in Washington DC! We appreciate your review and time that you spent to tell others about your experience. We always try to accommodate our early arrivals if it’s possible and I’m glad that we had a room ready for you. Steven did great job memorizing your name and this is definitely very important in delivering personalized service. Thank you for visiting us and please don’t hesitate to stay with us again every time you are in town. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

The reviews I read before booking this hotel were spot on. It was a wonderful stay and option for my boyfriend and I who were in town for an engagement party and looking to save a little money. It's definitely an older hotel, but it has all the modern amenities we like--a nice bathroom, in-room mini fridge, comfortable bed and quality white linens; walls weren't thin. It almost feels European. The dim bar and restaurant lounge set privately off the main concierge area was a great meeting spot for our friends who were also in town for the event. It was a 10-min walk to the DuPont Circle metro station; steps away from pharmacies, eateries, bars and shopping.

To top it off, it has efficient, friendly staff, too. We will be returning. You couldn't ask for a better hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Rachel K, we are so grateful for your warmhearted words! I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Washington DC and that our team became part of it’s success. We hope to see you back soon and we will do our best to make sure Churchill will be your choice every time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

the entire experience was fabulous, we loved the charm of the historical building but with all the modern conveniences, the location was great and the service was excellent.And with AAA the package included valet parking

Room Tip: ask for a room in the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPC94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear TPC94, thank you for such a positive review! It’s great that you enjoyed your stay in the Churchill Hotel and we definitely want you to return! It is good to know that people visit our website to be aware of special package options. This is truly a way to save some money. Just be advised that these packages are exclusively website offers and cannot be booked through our reservation department. However you can always give us a call in case you need to make amendments to your existing reservation. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

A colleague booked this hotel while we were attending a conference being held at the Hilton across the street. Hotel is well maintained and clean. Big room with a small breakfast nook. Bathroom was basic with large towels, but could use a refit. Heating worked well. The bedding was very comfortable with a thick duvet and fluffy pillows. Free Internet is on the slow side, but a higher speed version is available at a cost. Comfortable bar and friendly staff. The hotel advertises itself as a boutique hotel, but I would take this with a grain of salt. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the side street - it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansr433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear hansr433, We are grateful for writing such a thorough review about The Churchill. I know how hard it is sometimes to find accommodation in this area during big conferences and I’m glad that you discovered our hotel as an alternative to large scale properties holding the majority of events. We do call ourselves a boutique hotel since we are a small and unique property, mostly oriented on small groups and individual travelers. Please tell your friends and colleagues about your experience in The Churchill Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again any time you are in Washington for business or pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute. Wonderful staff in lobby, bar & restaurant. Great location. Bed was very comfortable, did not want to get up in the morning. We were in a Junior Suite which was very nice. On our next trip back to DC we will stay here again. The only negative was paying the $39 to park the car overnight.

Room Tip: Junior Suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Jennifer M, Thank you so much for the five star review! We are glad that you accidentally discovered our hotel and have no regrets about it. Unfortunately traveling to Washington DC by car can be a hassle especially when it comes to finding an affordable parking. But if you are a AAA member I would recommend to use the AAA package rate on our hotel website that saves about 15$ on parking for each night. Please feel free to give us a call any time should you require any clarifications. Thanks again for your kind words about the Churchill Team and our hotel. We’ll be delighted to welcome you back as earliest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I've found a diamond hotel in the rough... I will always stay here for my trips to Washington, DC.
This hotel is very classy! The staff are very helpful, the rooms are stylish, clean, spacious and good value. The restaurant doesn't have a huge menu, but everything on it is tasty.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Simon L, it is always a great pleasure to read reviews like yours! We do appreciate your kind words and five stars that you gave us as a result of our efforts! Please give us a call to make a new reservation or if you have one just to make sure that we have everything arranged to your liking. Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed there for a business conference, nice large room, clean, could use an update. Lobby and restaurant are very nice. love the old elevators. Service was excellent. My only complaint was slow WiFi.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Timmmer, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in The Churchill Hotel! We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by slow internet. The basic internet connection allows someone to check e-mails and surf the majority of internet pages however it is not sufficient when it comes to downloading large size files. We do offer high speed internet for the additional charge. Please feel free to address this issue to the front desk employees next time and they will be able to help with upgrading your connection. Thank you for your nice review and we hope that you will choose us again for the conference next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
1,060 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#104 of 141 in Washington DC
4,012 reviews
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,784 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
2,213 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $88 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing