We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Churchill, classy, good value, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Ranked #42 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I needed a hotel within the government rate in DC and my usual hotel was full. My travel agent found The Churchill in the same area at the necessary rate. I was very pleasantly surprised.

Pluses:
Embassy area, right on Connecticut Ave.
Plenty of good restaurants in the area (hotel has its own restaurant but I didn't try it this trip).
Very nice room.
The staff are superb, friendly and competent.
Directly across from the Hilton and costs a lot less.

Minuses:
It is smack in the middle between the Dupont Circle metro and the Woodley Park/Zoo metro stations on Connecticut Ave. That's really the ONLY downside is that if you metro in/around DC you have to walk a few blocks first. I actually think this is relatively minor because I like walking and this helped me get my exercise in the for the day. I could see this being a problem if you had kids in tow or were mobility impaired. There are buses and taxis readily available, however.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BScopatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTruesdelle, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear BScopatz, thank you for the great review! We truly appreciate your time and effort to make this property more known among business travelers. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and show our hospitality. Please try our Chartwell Grill Restaurant on your next visit. It can be a good dining alternative for in-house guests during cold winter evenings. We definitely want you to return and Welcome to the Churchill Family! (NP/FOS)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
There are newer reviews for Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Old stately hotel that has seen some better days but remains a good deal value in the area immediately north of Dupont Circle. My fiancee booked it last minute on Expedia and got a very good rate for one night's stay. The lobby is nice and has an ecclectic selection of art but once again the hotel is quite old and thus has many quirks including the smaller sized elevators (very slow be forewarned) and guest rooms with unusual shapes and non standard corners. Thats part of the appeal but then again several of the fixtures were installed crooked in the bathoom (including the toilet). Its part of the charm of an old hotel yes but improvements abound. Oddly also each floor advertises an ice machine and vending machine but our floor (9th) only had the vending machine so I had to venture down to the 6th to find an ice machine (no vending on that floor). The staff seemed energetic but overwhelmed but were helpful when we left behind our luggage in storage for the afternoon. Its a decent hotel for a good (for DC rate) in an excellent neighbourhood. Walking to the distant Metro however is a chore and parking is valet only so be prepared to pay.

Room Tip: Nice feature since its an antique hotel that all the window open (at least partially)
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJDC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTruesdelle, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear KJDC19, Thank you for such a detailed and well structured review. I’m sure that a lot of people will find it helpful planning their first visit to DC and our hotel specifically. I really liked your comparison between our hotel and old dame. It could be ‘Sir’ since hotel was named after Winston Churchill but it doesn’t change the idea of having something old-fashioned and traditional. There is a magnetic charm about some buildings and residential areas in Washington DC that attracts a lot of visitors to this city. I can proudly say that Churchill is one of those old-world charms. Our hotel is a historic building erected in 1906 and it was originally designed as a luxury apartment complex. Then apartment units were cut into separate hotel rooms that gave each room a unique shape and layout. Some peculiarities of the hotel such as elevators probably don’t look very comfortable but help to create the desired antique atmosphere. I agree with you that old-fashioned doesn’t mean worn out. And I can assure you that we work hard to match the hotel facilities with the requirements of contemporary world. Thanks again for your comments and we will be delighted to welcome you back to our renovated Churchill in the nearest future! (NP/FOS)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We enjoyed 2 nights at the Churchill over Christmas visiting old friends and relatives. The location is so awesome, with Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan so packed with restaurants and entertainment. We walked everywhere and enjoyed entertaining in our room. The fridge and workspace made for a great buffet and there was plenty of room. Our king size bed and covers were excellent and the bath was nice, though a bit small. The staff were all very friendly. I don't know where the whiners are coming from. Our rate included free valet parking, but we found a place on the street since it was a weekend. We had breakfast in the grill onour last morning, and it was just fine. Ask for a room facing Connecticut Av and you get a great view of McClellan's Statue as well as a good panoramic view of DC. Don't miss thePhillips Gallery especially if the traveling Van Gogh exhibit is still there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTruesdelle, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Rowland H, It is always a pleasure to welcome you back! Thank you for pointing out our room features. Junior Suite is probably the most popular room type due to its size and better view location. We’ll definitely make sure you get the same room on your next visit. We were glad to hear that you found time to visit Van Gogh exhibit. This great exhibition featuring 35 paintings will be taking place in The Phillips Collection for one more month only. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you back next Christmas! (NP/FOS)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Churchill is our favorite place to stay in Washington. Not only is it a moderate-sized intimate historic hotel, but it is quiet and very comfortable. It's a welcome haven from the hustle and bustle of Connecticut Avenue. We love the starched and ironed sheets, beautiful art and interior architectural details, and interesting friendly support staff from all over the world. We are vegans and the hotel restaurant served side dishes of fresh vegetables for dinner and oatmeal made with water for breakfast. Relaxed atmosphere. Many of the rooms have lovely views. We use the AAA special rate which has valet parking included in the price. This gives us the use of our car if we want. Otherwise it is a hike to either the Dupont Circle and Woodley Park metro station.

Room Tip: The rooms are quiet and mattresses are excellent. When you check in, ask for the best available ro...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 442Heidi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTruesdelle, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear 442Heidi44, thanks a lot for your lovely review! Pleasant words always inspire and motivate in delivering even better service. It’s good to know that some people regularly choose our hotel out of numerous properties in the area. Parking is really a hassle in DC and I completely agree with you that our AAA package would be probably the best way to save some money for those who travel by car. Please keep on checking our website offers that could be of great help in planning your next trip to Washington. Look forward to welcoming you back to The Churchill Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed at the Churchill for 5 nights.
The place is a bit old but the room was clean and well maintained. The bed was very comfy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I had a safety box in the room that didn't work and as soon as I mentioned it at the reception they sent someone to fix it. The location is great for many good restaurants and easy to get to the city's main attractions (although the main purpose of my stay was for a conference nearby). The hotel's restaurant is also nice- a good choice if you don't want to get out and for breakfasts.
The cost is very reasonable- great value for the money. This was my second time at the Churchill and I'd definitely go back if I have business in DC again.

Room Tip: There are some rooms at the street level. Last time I got one of those and asked to change it right...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aviv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTruesdelle, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Greetings Aviv S, Thank you for posting such a nice review about The Churchill. It's very nice to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your accommodations while in D.C. for business. Thank you for also pointing out how comfortable you thought the bedding was and how friendly our staff is. Please come back and stay with us on your next business trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel combines an oldy worldy feel with up-to-date comforts. The first surprise came with a complimentary upgrade to a suite, which had a sweeping view of Connecticut Avenue (and the 'Reagan' Hilton). Its location is ideal, with both Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan being a mere stone's throw away. As a result, there are plenty of wining and dining opportunities in the close vicinity. Even the monuments are within (a brisk) walking distance; if you're not up for a hike, the Dupont metrostop is only a few minutes away from the hotel. A few minor points: (1) mineral water isn't provided unless asked (?); (2) the gym is very small and doesn't seem to be maintained as it should be with both the water dispenser (!) and tv being broken; (3) no parking facility. On the whole, however, an excellent experience and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTruesdelle, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Bertie33, Thank you for staying at The Churchill and posting you had an excellent experience. We love to surprise our guest with complimentary upgrades when available and the view of Connecticut Avenue is simply breathtaking. You definitely chose the right hotel if you’re seeking value, a great location, and many dining opportunities. Please note we do offer valet parking for our guest when available, and I'm sorry if the TV in our fitness room wasn't functioning at the time of your visit. Please email me directly at michael. truesdelle@thechurchillhotel.com and I'll personally make sure you have complimentary water in your suite on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in Washington and the Churchill is among the nicest. The staff were extremely efficient and helpful. The hotel is clean, bright and very appealing. The service in the bar area was just what you would expect in a very fine hotel. The location of The Churchill is great for visitors to DC. It is near Adams Morgan, Dupont Circle and close to the downtown area. We also found the value for what we paid to be excellent. I would strongly recommend The Churchill to couples and families who want to break out of the "chain" hotel experience. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Upper floors are a good idea in any Washington DC hotel; they help eliminate the traffic noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveswope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTruesdelle, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear DeacSteve, Thank you very much for your five star review. As you mentioned, Churchill is not a chain hotel and we work hard on making it our advantage. It’s our pleasure to indulge and spoil our guests! That’s great that you had a chance to explore the area! Kindly note that Georgetown is also in a walkable proximity to the hotel. This neighborhood is well-known by it’s Riverfront, restaurants, park areas such as Dumbarton Oaks and of course shopping. We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future. Please feel free to call us directly to make any pre-arrival arrangements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,001 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#82 of 142 in Washington DC
568 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#103 of 142 in Washington DC
3,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
2,124 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,194 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 142 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $125 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing