We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay in charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Ranked #43 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Awesome stay in charming hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

By chance, we booked this hotel on a special. Not sure what to expect, we were delightfully surprised with the ambiance of the Churchill Hotel. Great location by Dupont, and excellent restaurants nearby. Our room was large, and nicely decorated. We enjoyed the old world charm, and the staff very friendly. After an evening out, we were anxious to get back to the room and enjoy ourselves. The beds were so comfortable, that once we laid down, we fell fast asleep. Great nights sleep at that! Good price for DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltrio03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMenase, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Traveltrio03,


We appreciate your wonderful comments about our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to fill out a five star review about the Churchill Embassy Row Hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming back soon.

Best Regards,
MMnease
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    432
    98
    43
    42
See reviews for
180
305
101
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Churchill for the 2013 Inauguration festivities. The Churchill is a historic hotel located close to everything including the White House. While our room was cozy and quaint, the rooms were cute. Our room had a separate sitting room that was unique and worked out perfect for me to read and spouse to work. The bathroom was practical because the bathtub and the toilet resided in one room. The mirror and the sink was in a separate room which was perfect for my daughter and I. Very cute room!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netonline23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMenase, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Netonline23,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a five star review about the Churchill Embassy Row Hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming back soon.

Best Regards,
MMnease
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I say "Simply the Best" because after three (3) stays at the Churchill over several years, the welcoming feeling of all the staff and their focused attention on the guests, the warm and beautiful décor in the rooms, the more intimate European style lobby, the great location north of Dupont Circle make it a wonderful experience every time. The Churchill is spotlessly clean, within walking distance to some of DC's most unique neighborhoods and may be able to offer some great rates depending on the time of the year and availability. Thanks to all the great staff at the Churchill who have made my latest stay as delightful and enjoyable as my earlier visits.

Room Tip: If you want to treat yourself to more space and a nice room layout, the junior suites are a great op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMenase, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Rick N,

We are so thrilled by your amazing remarks! We appreciate that you took the time to write such a detailed account of your stay at the Churchill Embassy Row Hotel during your recent visit to Washington, DC. I’m very happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Regards,
MMenase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Churchill is walking distance from many terrific restaurants but is still 'out of the way' enough to be quiet. The lobby is charming, nicely decorated with a beautiful chandelier, and the bar is spacious and refined. Our junior suite was big for an historic hotel in a big city, with a little desk for someone to work, and a fridge. The accoutrements were really nice--plush towels, really nice toiletries, down comforters, etc. My only complaint is that the hair dryer is not very powerful!--next time, I will bring my own. :)

Room Tip: Junior suite is not a traditional suite--the other room isn't a real "room," but it do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMenase, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear k D,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a five star review about the Churchill Embassy Row Hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming back soon.

Best Regards,
MMnease
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I'm a value-conscious traveler, so I've often used Priceline to get the best deal. The disadvantage, of course, is that you could be far away from the center of your preferred zone. The Churchill has become such a good value, that it's the first place I check when planning a visit to DC.

It's in my preferred location - a few blocks north of Dupont Circle, with lots of restaurants nearby. A bit farther north is residential, so it's not a noisy as downtown, if you avoid the Connecticut Ave side of the building.

The hotel is charming, with a renovated lobby and lots of details in the rooms. The bathrooms are a bit dated, but everything works, and the beds are comfortable. The rooms are very spacious, and the front desk is generous with upgrades when available.

The staff is friendly, and knows your name at checkin, and offers good morning or welcome back each time they see you.

Be sure to check their own website and see what different rate plans that you might be eligible for have available.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, avoid the Connecticut Ave side; it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivavino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMenase, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear VIVAVINO!!

You have made our day! I am so pleased we made it to the top of your list of preferred hotels in Washington DC.We truly appreciate that you took the time to write us a five star review and tell the TripAdvisor public about your recent stay at Churchill Embassy Row Hotel. I’m delighted to learn that you felt well-received by the friendliness of the staff; it is our mission to make our guests feel at home, no matter how far away from their true home they may be! . Thank you again for the wonderful comments!

Best Regards,
MMenase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We got a really cheap rate, room was big, quiet and the staff friendly and funny. It was not central central, but in a nice neighbourhood (Dupont, nice shops, restaurants and bars), pretty close to a metro-station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RialtoBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMenase, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear RialtoBE, thank you for taking the time to fill out a five star review about the Churchill Embassy Row Hotel. We trully appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming back soon.


Best Regards
MMenase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I loved the Churchill hotel in Washington, D.C. I stayed with two friends in a double room and it was extreamly big and spacious. all the decore was perfect everything was clean the staff curious and helpful. great value for money. keep in mind that it is about 15 minute walk to metro at Du Pont and it's a little hilly however if you like walking it's very nice walk. also the yellow line big bus the double decker tour bus stops across the road so that's very useful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMenase, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Cathy N, we truly appreciate your taking the time to convey your great impression of the Churchill Embassy Row Hotel after your recent stay with your friends! I hope we’ll have the privilege of welcoming you back from Australia in the future.

Sincerely,
MMenase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#96 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#90 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Property: Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing