We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for business and pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Ranked #35 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Located at the Connecticut Ave, on the walking distance (7 min) from the DuPont Circle Metro, it is a nice old-fashioned hotel (historical, they say). Rooms are big, very American, nicely planned 100 years ago. Sowers are very American too. The property is not bright new, but it is supported in rather good condition. I did like to see the accurate fixing of the small wears. Sleeping conditions are OK, ventilation is OK, Breakfast is OK. Really the staff at entrance may be more attentive. The gym is small, but OK. The area around is good for walk

Room Tip: If you want the most quiet room, ask for the one not looking to the square. But I did live in the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silencd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Quaint, old-world property with European charm. Room was spacious although the bathroom was small and cramped and not exactly updated, which we didn't mind. Room was on a higher floor and was quite quiet, hotel is centrally located near Metro, good coffee shops and restaurants and within walking distance of Embassy Row and Adams Morgan. With all the hotel had going for it, in a five day stay we were never once greeted when we arrived or walked through the lobby although they were very pleasant if engaged by us. One day 3 employees were standing at the doors when we walked up to the building and they simply continued their conversation, never looking at us, offering to open the door or a good morning. We entered through another door to avoid interrupting them and joked that we could be masked, armed terrorists walking past the registration desk but wouldn't be noticed because no one ever looked up. Funny, except it IS Washington D. C. Really is a very nice property, we enjoyed our stay there and appreciate the chuckles we got by inattentive staff, especially when we were loading our car to leave and a staff member finally approached us to inquire how long we would be staying. Five days earlier no one was to be found.

Room Tip: Our room on an upper floor was very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayhawk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Despite the fact that the Churchill Hotel is an historic landmark, our 3 days stay there were very disappointing! It felt like the management was inexistent!! The staff was nor professional nor motivated. Our first night we had the choice between a handicapped room, a room with no heat or a room next to a noisy big soda machine... Very surprising when you know that the hotel has 173 guest-rooms and suites available. Very expensive parking too and no breakfast included. The hotel is far from the mall (50 mns minimum by foot) and 15 mns from Dupont Circle. There are good restaurants and bars in the area though.

Room Tip: Check the noise problem (soda machines) and the efficiency of the A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel was very nice. The parking was difficult and internet service should be free, but other than that it was great. I would return for a personal visit to DC. The area was wonderful and easy to walk around to eat and shop and sight see. Walked to subway to visit White House and other areas.

Room Tip: I was in 431 facing Connecticut Ave a great view and several windows, but was a little noisy from st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritat1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in late September 2012. Though it need renovation, I was satisfied with the hotel. However there were some flaws in the operation of the hotel. For example I arrived on Saturday and had a meeting on Monday, I asked the staff for ironing my suit and dress shirt, but they told me that they do not provide the service on weekends. Of course I did not like the answer. But the location is good and safe, I was walking around the blocks near the hotel in the night, but never had a trouble. In the night there was not so much noise outside and I could have a good sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parviz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Large and lovely room with comfortable beds. Situated in the lively Dupond neighborhood within walking distance of the metro.
The only downside was the expensive internet access and difficult to hear desk clerk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieke2012-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel itself is in a great area, within walking distance to several restaurants. I thought the service within the bar area for drinks and dinner was pretty good, though didn't appreciate the server standing with his back to the bar, watching the tv until I cleared my throat.

We had problems with the valet service. Each day, it was an adventure to see if they could find the car, and it often took 10 minutes. On the last day, my colleague thought he'd "beat the system", and called down 15 minutes before we ready to leave and asked for the car to be brought down. They called back and alerted him it was ready (which was great). When he arrived downstairs, it was the WRONG car. So, more waiting and waiting.

Room was clean. Beds were comfortable. The bathroom layout was a bit wonky with the doors to the sink/vanity part of the bathroom opening into the doors to the toilet/shower part of the bathroom. I did appreciate the extra nook in my room that gave me a full desk to work at, but wish the mini-fridge had power (I didn't call about it, as I just wanted to keep my Diet Coke cold).

Lastly, I stayed on the 2nd floor, and wished the heavier drapes weren't just vanity drapes, and could completely cover the sheers over the whole window. I faced a street, and could see pedestrians walking by. I'd like a little more privacy.

Overall, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMarieMc0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,082 reviews
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#80 of 141 in Washington DC
594 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#104 of 141 in Washington DC
4,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,584 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,801 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $103 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing