We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Days Inn Washington Dc/gateway
Ranked #131 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    33
    24
    30
See reviews for
34
27
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DURHAM
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I arrived to a less than "nice looking" hotel front, immediately felt I had made a mistake. Went to my conference and returned to horrifically loud music coming from the banquet room,staff said "they had warned guest that there would be a loud party!" My room was only feet away from that, knowing I didn't dare try for a cab that night I went to my room only to be awakened around 2:00 AM to fighting and screaming coming from 2 doors away, banging on walls, breaking glass, heard someone banging on that door asking "are you okay, do you need help?". This continued for 3 hrs, I notified front desk who said it was domestic, I insisted and they agreed to get the police involved. Around 5 o'clock AM it finally stopped. It was unfriendly to say the least and the worst experience I ever had to put it mildly.

Room Tip: All rooms face center court parking lot and noisy city street. There is no elevator, I had help from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLENDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALTER POINT NA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel facilities good albeit a bit tired. Huge restaurant poorly staffed but food (oriental) OK and large serves. Shuttle service excellent. Internet service appallingly bad. Very slow, reception in room inadequate - had to stand outside the room for average reception. Clearly inadeqaute bandwidth for the demand being placed on it. Road access difficult due to location relevant to roads which are extremely busy. OK if you're heading into DC but otherwise requires long detours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Murray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DaysInnGateway, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Washington Dc/gateway, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking this time out and writing a review of your stay. We apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying due to the slow internet service during your stay. Our goal is to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, please know that your comments and issues were addressed. Again, thank you for your comments and it is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.


Sincerely,

Michael S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Me and my friends stayed at this hotel when we past by D.C. The staff was really friendly and the area had really convenient access to the city. The hotel had free Wifi and even had a free shuttle to Union Station which was just great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DaysInnGateway, General Manager at Days Inn Washington Dc/gateway, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We're really happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We appreciate you mentioning our room cleanliness and our kind guest service staff, in which we are proud of. We take pride in guest services and making sure each guest stay is satisfactory.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope that you will have the chance to come back and enjoy another stay with us on your next visit in Washington DC.

Sincerely,
Mike S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I wanted somewhere that was quiet and out of the city. We stumbled across this hotel from off the highway. Once we walked in, the front desk staff were nice and very informative about the area. The double bed room that we got was very spacious and the bathroom was clean. The best thing about this hotel is the price!!! They offer free shuttle, free wifi, and free breakfast. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front desk. you'll have better access to wifi. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DaysInnGateway, General Manager at Days Inn Washington Dc/gateway, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Frank Y, Thank you for staying with us at the Days inn Gateway and submitting a review. We are glad to hear that we could accommodate your needs while you were visiting Washington DC area.

Thank you for mentioning about our informative staff services; our room cleanliness and our continental style breakfast which is complimentary; I’m very proud of our team. We hope that you will have the chance to come back and enjoy another stay with us on your next visit in Washington DC.

Sincerely,
Michael S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I found some stains on the dressers and there was an old urine stain on the sheets. They had been washed, but it was still visable. We were checked in and found out there was no elevators. I went up the stairs to the second floor only to notice that the pool was out of order. There were weird people in the parking lot at all hours, shouting and being loud. I could hear everyone walking up and down the stairs. When I had an issue with a delivery of food, they were no help. Didn't want to listen. I asked the desk clerk to call a taxi, which she did. She told us the wait would be fifteen to twenty minutes, closer to thirty-five. The driver was no a liscended taxi driver, just someone she had called. (Beware of any taxi in DC, they are all insane drivers) The road close is very busy and almost impossiable to get across. The only thing close to eat is fast food like McDonald's and Checkers. Overall, I would even stay here another night if I hadn't already paid.

Room Tip: Do not have your windows open or try to sleep with no sounds in your room. People outside will keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

When we arrived we were promptly checked in and informed we could have free breakfast and free shuttle into the centre.

We found our room to be an excellent standard for the $103 per night. Room had great new mattress and coffee machine. Everywhere clean and tidy.

Too far from centre to walk but free shuttle bus very good. Breakfast was simple, tea/coffee/juice, toast, pastrys and muffins.

Only only complaint is that it was far too noisy and no attempt was made by staff to stop parties and shouting which went on til 3am. As a group in our 20's we don't mind some noise but it was so crazy.

Would recommend to others

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gls09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DaysInnGateway, General Manager at Days Inn Washington Dc/gateway, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the time you took in writing this review of your stay here at the Days Inn Gateway. First, I'm glad to hear that we could accommodate you while you stayed in Washington DC. Thank you for complimenting our clean rooms and the new mattresses we got in a majority of our rooms. We're planning on replacing a lot of them so that each guest's stay can be as comfortable as yours. I would like you to know that since you last stayed with us, we've upgraded our breakfast even more by providing guests with fresh apples and oranges in the morning and overall more of a variety selection to start their morning. Lastly, we do apologize for the noise coming from the surrounding areas of the hotel. Please know that the issue with the noise control has been addressed and we are committed to making this a quiet and comfortable stay for all of our guest.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 202-832-5800.

Sincerely,
Michael S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#109 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#114 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
5.5 mi away
Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#115 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
Quality Inn & Suites New York Av...
#130 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#112 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC NoMa Union Station
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#94 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Washington Dc/gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Washington Dc/gateway

Property: Days Inn Washington Dc/gateway
Address: 2700 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-1951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Washington Dc/gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Washington Dc/gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gateway Hotel Washington Dc
Days Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing