We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel in an area spoilt for choice...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Ranked #42 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good business hotel in an area spoilt for choice...”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Excellent hotel, centrally located with good food options. I stayed on the 6th floor (looks like it may be reserved for members of the SPG loyalty program) which has big rooms, big bathrooms, good working desk, lots of light. Fast Internet included at no extra charge. Coffee maker with 3 Starbucks coffee pouches in the room (and a few Tazo tea bags).
Lots of breakfast choices available in the basement restaurant (from healthy to indulgent) and good coffee! (very important...).
The Mexican restaurant is fun; good margarita's and lots of small bite choices on the menu. Worth a try.
Service is impeccable, and worth mentioning is the option to "rent" exercise clothes for $5 per day in case you forgot to bring them (or just chose to travel light). Nice touch! (do they have running shoes size 14? I didn't ask).
The area where the hotel is located is absolutely filled with hotels, bars and restaurants, so no lack of choice. But the Westin is definitely a "recommend".

Green Features: As is usual these days, you can indicate whether you want to receive clean towels/linens or go another day with what is there. There is also an option to skip maid service altogether (make your own bed I suppose).
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan Willem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! Your information is so valuable to our future guests. Thank you for mentioning Boveda, our new Mexican food venue and our Westin Gear Lending Program. (good question..the shoe sizes go to size 13 but we would find 14 if we knew far enough in advance)
Enjoy your summer & we look forward to your return!
Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    582
    160
    46
    21
See reviews for
466
433
129
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

James Garlinghouse was an excellent provider of service. he took care of my every need at check in. Then the next day he was back on duty and took care of my checkout and all my other needs and questions. What an exemplary job he did. Bravo!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NabilAllaoua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to recognize James! We are fully aware that our associates are the foundation of our guest experience and we cannot be more proud of them. Your comment means so much.
Thank you again!
Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Lovely hotel with amazing staff, very friendly and attentive. Two terrific restaurants in the lower level: The Caucus Room (French Bistro style with the BEST mixologist, Ryan, and marvelous Steakfrites with really delicious duck-fat-fried potatoes; and Boveda (Latin style cuisine). Had wonderful pork belly tacos that were off-the-hook yummy. A very pleasant stay with a well-appointed room -- except that the pillows with the king-sized bed were far too small. Shocked at the $2+ price for using the room phone to make local calls -- definitely a minus. Daily parking rates $45/car -- typical for parking-place-short Washington DC but nevertheless a little steep.

Room Tip: Sign up for the Starwood Preferred Guest card program to get a 5th floor SPG room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Energy-efficient light bulbs. Lights controlled to off when guests leave room -- pretty cool.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikik9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback! We especially enjoyed reading your review of Ryan & our Boveda & Caucus Room Food & Beverage venues. We are very proud of these venues and the team that works there. Thank you!
Your feedback is very important to our future guests & to the associates at the hotel. We hope you are able to visit again.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
154 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Westin Georgetown. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom was large and recently updated. We enjoyed drinks downstairs on the patio out front and we liked the fact there were plenty of places to walk to for dinner.

If you are a runner or walker the Lincoln Memorial is only 1.5 miles away on a safe route - take advantage of it.

My only complaint is the valet parking, I didn't expect it to be cheap, but $45.00 a night is ridiculous. My fault for not asking up front...


We were only here for one night.I would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpanningTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is located on M Street and is about a 10 minute walk to one end of Georgetown; however, most of the shops and restaurants that are really popular are toward the other end of M Street. In peak times the walk from this hotel to Pizzeria Paradiso or Georgetown Cupcake, for example, takes up to 25 minutes. Still, there are not many hotels in Georgetown so it makes this a good option. The hotel staff are friendly, rooms very large and clean, and the beds super comfortable. We went on Memorial Day weekend and the pool was open for the season. The pool is on the mezzanine level and smaller that you may imagine. There is a business center with computers and wifi access, but there is a charge. A 15 minute session will cost you $5.95. Internet charges are ridiculous and really should be included in the rate you pay for the hotel stay. The hotel bar has a decent happy hour deal with the exception of the wine - $7 for house wine doesn't seem like a bargain. Don't bother going outside of happy hour as it is overpriced. We got this hotel for a steal through priceline. I would stay here again for a similar rate, but not the regular price. The closest metro is Foggy Bottom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cityorcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are taking time to review the specific items that you mentioned. Your information will assist our future guests and help us ensure that our guests had the best stay.
Thank you & enjoy…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel itself was fine. Typical for Westin. Great location near Georgetown and close enough to Dupont Circle to walk. Overall, it was fine. Nothing extraordinary. This was a good choice but it didn't leave us with the feeling that we received over the top service. It simply was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBStPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stay in March during spring break for 3 days. The location is too far to walk for many DC attractions. Our room was small but nicely appointed. The AC was not working but it was repaired immediately after contacting the desk. The bathroom was luxurious and almost the same size as the room. The hotel held a nice complementary Meet and Greet Tuesday night and served delicious appetizers. The manager also send a cake to our room because it was my son's birthday that day. The door man was also very kind. Marriott wasn't very far, so the next morning, we walked there for their buffet since our hotel doesn't offer one. It worked out wonderfully. The hotel is also close to a Trader Joe's, so it gave us a cheaper dining option. We would stay again if only it's closer to the museums.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
Green Features: just the basic, if you apt to not change towels, you get a credit or extra points.
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Westin Georgetown! Your feedback is very important to us & future guests. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay & wish you all the best this summer.
Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
1,770 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
486 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
1,158 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Property: The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Address: 2350 M St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel Better when you leave than when you arrived! A short walk or subway ride to The White House, Georgetown's shops and restaurants, the Kennedy Center, and Dupont Circle. The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. Is a refreshing choice for travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing