We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location for Walkers, Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Ranked #33 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location for Walkers, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I spent 3 nights here recently and had no complaints. Don't go here expecting complete lavishness, but do expect a comfortable stay. The staff (doormen, front desk) were friendly and polite, but not cloyingly so. My room was actually a room for handicapped guests (I booked through a discount website, so I guess that's what they had), but that just meant things were easy to reach and the bathroom was more spacious with accommodations in the shower/tub for folks who might need to lower the shower head or not lower themselves into the bottom of the tub.I appreciated the 2 complimentary bottles of water for coffee or tea. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean, and even though I was near the elevators, they were not loud. (In terms of noise, though, be aware that George Washington University Hospital is nearby - at the Foggy Bottom Metro station - and ambulances come past with sirens on at least a few times a day.)

The lobby is pretty small, so you won't necessarily want to hang here with friends, but Boveda, one of their two restaurants, has a hip "Latin speakeasy" vibe and the ceviche was DELICIOUS. (Speaking of food, go around the corner to Bread & Chocolate and get the Red Flannel Turkey Hash - it's a great way to start your day!) Probably the best thing about this hotel - especially for people who like to walk - is the location. It is pretty much equidistant between Georgetown, Foggy Bottom, and DuPont Circle. There's a path for jogging in nearby Rock Creek Park, and you can walk to the waterfront to watch the geese and ducks. There's lots of restaurants nearby, good people-watching to be done, and a Metro station in two of those three neighborhoods.

Overall, I had a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isparkle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    488
    133
    34
    14
See reviews for
376
357
117
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Westin has become one of my favorite hotel chains. While they are generally too expensive for my travel budget (business or personal) every once in a while I find great deals -- like last week, for $147/night (tax incl). The room was spotless, bed comfortable and the tub was long, deep and so inviting I took a bath after my workout before rushing to work. The gym isn't just a closet with dumbbells like at many hotels - it is spacious, well-stocked and has a bonus of cold towels for use. I was only here for 1 night but the staff were great and I enjoyed my stay very much. I'll be looking for the $147 deal every time I go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We switched to this hotel after one night at another hotel because it was out od date and unsure of cleanliness. What a relief to get to the Westin. Super nice on the phone with reserving, the check in desk. etc.--all of the employees were nice. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was fabulous. The kids and I were happy on our trip. Felt safe b/c the room card worked the hotel allowing no one else to get on our floor. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
413 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was here for a meeting and had a great stay. The staff were attentive and friendly. The bed and linens were very comfortable. It is in Georgetown close to great restaurants, shopping, and near good jogging trail along the Potomac. Attention to details such as half and half cups in room for coffee instead of creamer, good in-room coffee, bottled water in room. Fitness center is pretty good. Several cardio machines, several weight machines, and free weights. Two good restaurants on-site.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent location. You have several great dinning options within walking distance. A $10 cab ride will take you to all of the major tourist locations.

Staff was great. Room was extremely clean. Bar and restaurants are good. If you don't want to pay the daily rate, look at one of the may parking garages near by.

Overall, this is a great option to stay in DC.

Room Tip: As a SPG with a status, I was upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2philuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Westin was a very nice hotel by DC standards. Lots of dining options nearby (very short walk to Georgetown, which has tons of shopping and eating). The price was not bad either (government rate though, so that probably helped the price). The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious (both being hard to find in DC). Also, the service was exceptional - they even arranged to put a small refrigerator in my room so I could stick it with healthy breakfast items. The only things that could use improvement is that the lighting in the bathroom was somewhat dim and there was a slight (as in very slight) musty smell to the room. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay there due to the comfy bed (slept like a baby) and the friendly and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The valet were especially nice. Amajou and Dennis were awesome, made my trip just a little better. The location of the hotel was great, and was very close to the shops in Georgetown. My room was very clean, and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,557 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC ...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Property: The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Address: 2350 M St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel Better when you leave than when you arrived! A short walk or subway ride to The White House, Georgetown's shops and restaurants, the Kennedy Center, and Dupont Circle. The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. Is a refreshing choice for travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing