We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to recognize a deserving associate, Deenny, who managers to front door/valet parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Want to recognize a deserving associate, Deenny, who managers to front door/valet parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Deenny is always on top of the flow of the entry way to this bustling hotel with a too small driveway. However, due to his diligence and professional manner, the place is always a comfortable reception.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    480
    130
    34
    12
See reviews for
365
352
115
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Modern and serene throughout. Exceptionally comfortable beds. Rooms are soothing tone-on-tone brown/bronze/light green décor with beautiful European furniture. Large, attractive baths with a remarkable lit-from-behind mirror (must be seen to be understood) that takes a good 10 years off your face. Note that the room’s light switches require only a very gentle tap to turn fixtures on and off. Friendly, efficient, and proactive staff throughout.

Super location on a quiet, “gold coast” corner across from the Fairmont and Park Hyatt Hotels and the Blue Duck Tavern. It’s an easy 2-3 block walk down M Street across a bridge to Georgetown but with none of the Georgetown traffic or noise. I think this area and the Westin would be perfect for corporate and grown up travelers but less so for tourists or families with children. The Capitol, Smithsonian, and White House, e.g., are not nearby.

The Caucus Room restaurant (in the Westin) is attractive and serves excellent coffee and tea, but other menu items were unremarkable to us.

Cab prices: Capitol/Union Station $12-15 with tip; Smithsonian/White House $10-12. Foggy Bottom Metro station is a few blocks away. No one in his right mind wants to drive around Washington, DC. If you bring your car, whatever the hotel charges for parking, and whatever the restrictions are, just factor it into your trip planning and be done with it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_in_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I just spent a lovely holiday weekend in the Washington, DC area visting our children and grandchildren. WE stayed at the Westin Georgetown and hyad a great stay. We were upgraded to an executive suite with a nice seating area, the beds were extremely comfortable and it was quiet at night. Sloane Aurelia in Guest Services at the hotel was especially helpful. We would strongly recommend this hotel.

Hap Pareti
Ft.Lauderdael, Fl.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hap P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I recently spent the weekend at Westin. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, especially Amadou and Erwing. The room was very clean, comfortable, and spacious. I would most definitely stay at the Westin Georgetown again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Every year, my family makes our annual traditional Christmas trip to D.C. to shop in Georgetown, see the White House Christmas Tree, have dinner at the Old Ebbitt Grill and end up at the Downtown DC Holiday Market located on the sidewalk of F Street, NW between 7th and 9th Streets, in front of the Smithsonian American Art Museum and National Portrait Gallery. We try to stay at different hotels, mostly SPG properties. The Westin in our opinion rated as one of our top 2 stays over the past years. The location was great for everything we wanted to do. We drove our vehicle into DC and the GPS was accurate getting us to the hotel. Once at the hotel the 2 front doorman (Deenny & Amadou) could not have been any nicer helping us with our bags and joking around with our kids. They made you feel as if you were coming home. Once we unloaded we used self parking which was half a block away and was $34.00 USD for overnight parking (cheapest around the area). We have a Suburban which fit in the underground lot. Even better the elevator in the parking garage was connected to the hotel and puts you right in the lobby. When we checked in, the front desk staff especially Sloan, could not have been more pleasant and accommodating and were very expedient. The rooms were very clean, updated and spacious for all of us. We did not eat at the hotel or use the room service so I can't comment on that. The walk to Georgetown was a quick 7 minutes, .5 miles out the front door and directly down M Street where there was everything you could want from food to pharmacies. Getting over to the White House to see the tree and have dinner was a 10-15 minute cab ride at a cost between $10-12.00 USD. The Westin staff could not have been more accommadating, friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend staying there with the family and will return next year.

Room Tip: when booking ask for an outside room with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that you had a lovely stay. Guest Service is extremely important to us and we appreciate your feedback. I will share your notes with our Team. We hope to see you again in the near future. Happy Holidays from our Westin Georgetown Hotel Family. Say Hi to your Kids for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I recently stayed at the Westin due to its convenient location. After having stayed at other locations on previous visits, I was pleasantly surprised by the extremely comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. The staff was very efficient and helpful (thank you to Erwing and Victor, who helped me with my car and checked luggage). Although parking was expensive and there was no free internet, overall I would definitely choose this hotel again due to the comfort and quality of the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Westin Georgetown is one of my favorite places to stay in DC. The have a stellar team and I'm including everyone from each department and service area. Outstanding service means a great deal to me and they always hit the mark. A special recognition to Amadou and Deenny. They are always awesome, super friendly, highly professional and true definers of great service. Also, the renovated restaurant and lounge are top notch.

J. Love

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JewelCLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,534 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC ...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Property: The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Address: 2350 M St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel Better when you leave than when you arrived! A short walk or subway ride to The White House, Georgetown's shops and restaurants, the Kennedy Center, and Dupont Circle. The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. Is a refreshing choice for travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing