We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Ranked #40 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Westin Georgetown. We stayed in a variety of places in the States and Europe during our recent trip away and this hotel was one of the better "value for money" places we stayed.

The rooms were clean and modern (comfy bed, great bathroom), and the staff we encountered were all friendly and helpful. The hotel was easy to get to: we flew into DCA then caught the Metro to Foggy Bottom and walked 5-10 minutes up the road to the hotel, which was an easy walk (with 2 large suitcases) and perhaps the only tricky part was crossing Washington Circle. We left DC on Amtrak and simply caught the bus from opposite Foggy Bottom Metro (there is another bus which picks you up closer I believe but it wasn't running when we left early in the morning). Easy!

The only downside for me about the hotel was the lack of free wi-fi.

Overall DC is a great city - the Smithsonian museums are all free and one of our highlights was biking around this fabulous city using the Capital Bikeshare bikes. As others have mentioned, this hotel isn't actually in Georgetown but Georgetown was so easy to get to using the bikeshare bikes (and definitely worth a visit). Another great find for us was Devon & Blakely which was a place that had inexpensive, healthy and delicious food (soups and salads etc.), just down the street near Washington Circle.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKENZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Guest TKENZ,
I sounds like you had a great time during your visit and we are so pleased to have been your choice in a hotel during your stay. We take pride in our service and facilities and thank you for giving us your feedback about it. Please come back to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,851)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 1,851 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I decided to spend the night in DC in the Georgetown area and what better place to stay than the Westin. A few things I liked about the hotel:
1. Proximity to historic downtown: About a 5min walk to all the stores
2. Dupont Circle: Its about a 10-15 min walk to the hotel and lots of places to eat around there
3. Rooms: as all Westin hotels, excellent with the heavenly bed so comfy. Great night sleep.
4. Service: Friendly staff, courteous desk staff too.

Only bad part: parking is $34/ night, very expensive so if you can avoid driving there or find another parking spot around do that.

Other than that, it was an awesome stay totally worth it and highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehtap3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest Mehtap 3,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and stay with us. Guest service and creating great memorable experiences is what we strive for. Parking in the DC area can be very expensive. We do keep this in mind and try to stay competitive in the parking pricing. Thank you for the feedback and we hope your travels brings you back to our City and Hotel.

Take Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Westin Georgetown was very clean and the staff were friendly enough. There were two things we did not like about our stay at the Westin. First, was the fact that you have to pay extra for the internet- really? That should be standard- even Starbucks has free WiFi. Second, the two restaurants on the property were being renovated and therefore, we had to find somewhere else to dine. We arrived late evening, so it was a bit inconvenient to find food and grab a night cap. Otherwise our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairscanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest Fairscanda,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do offer free Wi-Fi throughout all of the public spaces in the Hotel but do charge for this service in the Sleeping rooms. We will take your comment into consideration and access this service moving forward. Both Restaurants have since been renovated and re-opened and we are getting great reviews. Please come back to visit us soon and try out the new Restaurants while you are here.
Take care and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Georgetown/DC area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The room was great very well appointed with plenty of plugs and the bathroom had both a huge tub and a shower. The mini bar is one of those that if you move an item you get charged, which stressed out my wife. I got on the internet one morning and was met by many choices Basic, enhanced (with dedicated IP ) and premium speed. No speeds were listed next to each selection. I got basic for 9.99 since Premium was $30 a day and I was not planning on streaming video. It was so slow it was unusable even for mail and basic web browsing . I felt like I was on dial up. The concierge is NEVER there , and the desk clerks were not very helpful for information about the area. It is a beautiful hotel right near DuPont and Georgetown ( it is not technically in Georgetown.)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest Brian L,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give us your feed back. We strive very hard to provide the levels of service that exceed our guest's expectations. Internet is an important part of the service and I will certainly pass your comments to our IT team. In addition, your comments about the Front Desk service will be communicated to our Front Desk Team as well. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope that your future travels will bring you back to our Hotel. Take Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I completed a two night stay at this property and was pleased. The staff is a real high point here, they are very friendly and attentive to SPG status and amenities. Rooms are large and feature spacious bathrooms with separate vanity and walk-in shower. This is a solid option in DC and I look forward to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 737,823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your review! Your feedback is very valuable to us & our future guests. Thank you for mentioning our associates, we are so proud of our team & their consistent loyalty to our guests. We look forward to your return to the hotel!
Enjoy your autumn & stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent a weekend at this hotel. All the staff was friendly and accomodating. The valets were especially kind, even when I asked to leave my car out front for an 15 extra min. They were so busy, yet he was still professional- a true test. Loved the room, bed - very comfty. Need to get rid of the desk and add a comfty chair. When I got out of the bed, I had to steer around the desk chair. There was just not enough room. The Front Desk told me the the dining room was open (remodeling) but, it wasn't. Shouldn't they know?? How do you get an upgrade? Is there a trick?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your response & your rating! Your feedback is very valuable to us and we appreciate your honest assessment of the hotel. We apologize for not being “in the know” about our new Food & Beverage venues. Should you be returning to the area, please feel free to connect with our Director of Operations, Peter Yeung prior to your stay.
Thank you again & stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We enjoyed a brief weekend stay at this lovely hotel located in Foggy bottom near GW and within an easy walk to Georgetown. The room was a good size, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was huge with a large tub (wish I'd had time to use it) and a not so huge, but still nice shower. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shootslowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your feedback & generous rating! Your feedback will be very useful to our future guests. We look forward to your return, and next time…make sure you enjoy our Heavenly Bath!
Stay well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#24 of 142 in Washington DC
1,843 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#16 of 142 in Washington DC
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#36 of 142 in Washington DC
1,247 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#15 of 142 in Washington DC
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Address: 2350 M St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $174 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel Better when you leave than when you arrived! A short walk or subway ride to The White House, Georgetown's shops and restaurants, the Kennedy Center, and Dupont Circle. The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. Is a refreshing choice for travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing