We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room and service otherwise lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Ranked #35 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Check-in staff were great , room was ok, great bed so good night sleep which is 85% of what you want, room has the classic problem of being too dark though, you find yourself turning on and off lights. Bathroom, why oh why do we still have to stand in a small bath to have a shower, please. Biggest disappointment was the new restaurant for breakfast, little choice and then not what you want, ie 5 or 6 choices of tea but no english breakfast, thought he was pulling my leg, but no. Wouldnt be upset if i had to stay there again as it is at least next to the grand hyatt who do a great cheese plate at the bar in the evening. Oh and Georgetown ... no its not

Room Tip: not too near the noisey lifts, but not too far either as it can be a long walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSMLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for taking time to submit your review. We appreciate your feedback and advice to our future guests; it will be very beneficial for them. We will review your experience in our food & beverage venue as it is not up to our service standards. We want our guests to feel at their best and understand the importance of that morning beverage of choice.
Should you visit us again, please let us know. We would love for you to experience the bathrooms that we are very proud of…spacious, clean & heavenly.
Thank you again & enjoy the rest of 2012!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,368 - 1,374 of 1,931 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

I love this hotel.

Need-less-to-say, the location is fantastic; but even more than that - the hotel is a wonderful mix of great service, well maintained facilities and D.C. charm.

I was "stuck" (literally snowbound) in the hotel in January of 2010 for three days. That was the year a huge blizzard came through the northeast. It was surreal and exciting all at the same time. There were about 20 guests and we were all basically "shipwrecked" at the hotel. The hotel staff and management took great care of us.

One piece of consideration when staying at this hotel - if you are looking for a hotel near the monuments and D.C. attractions - this may not be your hotel. The Georgetown location is a bit off the tourist track - although there is pretty easy access to the Metro. Just an FYI if you are going to D.C. for a "Capitol" vacation and not business.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your response! We try to do our best when our guests are “stuck” with us…so glad to hear you had a positive experience. We appreciate that you took the time share your review with our future guests. Your feedback on our location will truly help those visiting us in the future.
Enjoy your autumn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Westin Georgetown is not actually in Georgetown. This may or may not matter to you. It was not an inconvenience to me, but confusing when I realized that I was closer to the George Washington University Area and Foggy Bottom than to Georgetown. That said, it's in a great neighborhood, about a 5 minute walk to the Metro, about 30 minute walk to the Lincoln Memorial. There are restaurants in the area, and a CVS drugstore for necessities.

I stayed for four nights in August 2012.

The GOOD
Staff -- room service, concierge, front desk, etc. were extremely professional and courteous. They could not have been better.

Cleanliness -- the public areas and my room were spotless

Bathroom -- as other reviewers have mentioned, the bathroom was renovated and had a separate shower with two shower heads, a soaking tub, solid surface counter...

Quiet -- my room was dead quiet. No noise from the hall, from neighboring rooms or from outside.

Good gym -- the gym is well-equipped and clean with treadmills, recumbant bikes, weights, yoga mats, swiss balls, etc. There is an outdoor pool that I did not try. The hotel also provides new condition New Balance workout clothes and shoes for $5 rental.

The NOT SO GOOD
Weak water pressure -- This is an old building that has been renovated to make it a Westin. As is common in older buildings, the water pressure was extremely weak.

Strange layout -- My room was at the far end of the hall, the equivalent of about a city block length from the elevator. I wonder if there used to be a back stairway or some other way to access the end rooms.

Lack of HD channels -- OK, I'm being picky here. There was a nice HD television in my room but it only had a handful of HD channels. Most of the channels were Standard Def.

No restaurant -- The restaurant was under renovation so there was no on-site eatery. There was a temporary (I think) bar set up in the lobby, but it was far from cozy. Room service, very costly, was available and good.

AC blows on the bed. --- The Westin has an energy saving feature that turn off lights, the television and the AC when you leave the room. This worked great, however when the AC is turned on it blows right on the bed, at least in my room which had a single king size bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevator to avoid a long walk to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raku8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for posting such a helpful review! We love to see our guests share their experiences & tips for our future guests. We have taken your feedback for review. The Food & Beverage renovations are complete and we no longer have the bar in the lobby. We hope that you are able to return and enjoy the delicious options we now offer.
Thank you again for taking time to share your review! Enjoy your autumn.
Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend in september with my son looking at colleges.
Nice area with the fairmont across the street and the ritz a block east.
Ordered room service with a very limited menu. Not sure if this will change after the lobby restaurant is finished its renovation..
we had to pay $10 day for internet but i overheard others say theirs was free.
Parking is $40 night with no in/out.
Instead you can go up a block to N street and park on the street in front of a school for the weekend.
There is a deli across the street where you can sit and get an omelet or bagel if you don't want the $8 bagel at the hotel .
I think Westin has great beds and linens for the price. We paid $150/nt for 2 double beds.
If you want to ride a city share bike, there is a rack right in front of the fairmont.

Room Tip: The hotel is shaped like a horse-shoe but the elevators are not at the middle but on one end. Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jones671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your review. Your feedback is helpful to our hotel & future guests. We are excited to share that the Food & Beverage renovations have been completed and we are now home to the Caucus Room restaurant & Boveda lounge. We hope you are able to visit us again and enjoy the new venues.
Hopefully your college visits all went well and we wish you and your family all the best during this exciting time.
Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I took a little weekend getaway to D.C. and not only were we overwhelmed with the beauty of the city, but the amazing service we received from the entire staff at the Westin. I travel a fair amount for my position, so I am somewhat numb to service at hotels. We were blown away by the friendly staff starting with Melvin at the front desk. He was absolutely amazing and I pulled him aside the next day as his service and professionalism still stuck with me into the next day! WOW!

The rest of the team - Jeffrey, our friendly concierge originally from Burma - helping us find our way and the courteous bell desk team of Amadou and Deening helping us out with a taxi, train locations and bike rentals.

We'll definitely be back and have already sent folks on to this hotel! Well done!

It is fair to note that I NEVER submit or participate in reviews but thought the hotel and its team needed to be acknowledged!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

What a wonderful review to share with our team!! We are so happy to hear that our team was able to make your time in Washington DC so memorable. Thank you for recognizing our associates, the heart & soul of our hotel. Please know that we share & celebrate with them your kind words.
Again, thank you for taking time to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon.
Happy autumn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great location close to downtown DC, the Metro, and Georgetown. Staff was professional and courteous. Sloane was especially helpful and very responsive! Bellhops were fast and friendly. We'll definitely return to this hotel next time we're in the DC area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for sharing your review! We love to hear that our Westin Stay Ambassador, Sloane was able to make your stay special. We are very proud of our associates & know that they take great pride in their hotel.
We look forward to your return.
Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel is in an ideal location between Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro Station (the National Mall is just a 10-minute walk) . We had pre-paid the room with our travel agency and obtained a standard room with two queen beds at 200 dollars/night without breakfast as a super-offer. The hotel has valet parking (40 dollars/day).
Overall the staff has been very kind.
Our room was large enough (we have been given a Starwood preferred guest) and a very comfortable bathroom with shower and bathtub. One of the leather seats in the room had a clear mark from an iron – I thought that this level of hotel should take care of details like these. Room and bathroom were clean, however we had the unpleasant presence of small ants near the coffee pot (which we did not use) for two days in a row. Nothing changed although we have informed the reception. We visited both the gym and the pool and thought they looked really good, but did not use them.
A last remark is the unpleasant habit of hotels to withdraw a certain amount from your credit card at check-in even though the room has been already paid for; to the detriment of the monthly availability of one’s card. Even worse, this hotel has withdrawn three different amounts for three days in a row and was not able to give a clear explanation for it. We finally reached a settlement, but until we see our statement, we will not be able to verify exactly how much has been withdrawn.
All in all the hotel is not bad, but there are several negative aspects for a hotel of this level located in a capital city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bassodonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for taking time to submit a review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and have reviewed them appropriately. We apologize that you did not experience the cleanliness that we pride ourselves on. Should you have any further concerns with your hotel bill, please contact our Accounting team for support. We are available to assist in answering any questions you may have.
Thank you again & have a wonderful autumn.
Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
1,902 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,283 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Address: 2350 M St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $128 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel Better when you leave than when you arrived! A short walk or subway ride to The White House, Georgetown's shops and restaurants, the Kennedy Center, and Dupont Circle. The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. Is a refreshing choice for travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing