We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick service, good food, reasonable price”

Chalin's Restaurant
Ranked #1,006 of 3,228 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quick service, good food, reasonable price”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good Chinese restaurant with typical menu you expected to find.
Quick service, good taste , good price and Free rice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hamu_ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
329 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Cuisine”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've eaten here in group dinner settings twice. Group dining is the best test of a Chinese restaurant's capability and Chalin's met the test both times. Having lived in Hong Kong for 11 years, my standards are high and Chalin's achieves the status of being a very good Chinese restaurant in an American setting. Each dish was hot and freshly prepared with proper spices and ingredients. Pricing is not bad for the quality and location. Worth the stop and take a large group so you can experience the full menu diversity.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WARSAWRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Love the Chinese menu!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Chalin's is in the building where I work, so we frequent it for lunches, and I often get carry out to take home. The American menu is fine for standard Chinese fare, but the Chinese menu has some really excellent dishes... we almost always pick from this menu when we go.

My latest crave is for the Crispy Honey Shrimp.. enormous shrimp lightly battered and fried.. layered on a bed of lettuce and pineapple and sprinkled with sugar.. sounds a little weird, but trust me.. it's delicious! My husband always get the Cashew Chicken, and has never complained.

Spring rolls are great, and the hot and sour soup is nice and spicy. The restaurant itself is quiet enough, even when busy, to talk to each person at the table. The wait staff is excellent and always friendly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stef4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than basic Chinese food”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Chalin's has a large, fairly standard menu of Chinese food, but the preparation is better than most in the area. The dining room is pleasant (white table cloth) and not too loud (good for a business lunch but not a romantic date). Service is attentive and the food comes quickly. I've eaten here many times and would come back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seepipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“on the Chinese menu”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

They have an American menu and a Chinese menu. The stuff on the American menu is pretty good. But if you want outstanding, get the beef soup, the fish soup or the pork belly off the Chinese menu. The owner and her daughter may quiz, not expecting you to know about the Chinese meu or to handle the spiceness of the food. But when they come out with one of the three dishes, you are in for a treat.

Of course, I could also throw in the old cliche about all the Chinese eating there,but you'll notice that on your own. This used to be a place called charlie Ching's, but the new owner has made it infinitely better.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank throckmortonSanaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalin's Restaurant also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Chalin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing