We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place at night!”
Review of Capital View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capital View
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not the best place at night!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed at the hostel on i street. Ok for a budget stay in DC. Close to the metro, only 10 mins walk. It is clean enough. We stayed in room 5 and it was quite small (4 people), had no rubbish bin and little space for our suitcases. The bathroom wasn't the best but was ok. There were three showers and only one toilet on our floor. We didn't use the kitchen, living room or roof due to lack of time so I can't comment on those. We also didn't have any need to interact with staff after checking in. Wifi was really good and helped us out a lot. We are both 24 year old girls and felt the average age of residents was much older. We left for the airport at 4am on a Saturday morning and were greeted by prostitutes and other dangerous looking people outside the hostel. As residents can only exit through the side door, we had to wait outside for our shuttle. This was unnerving and we felt unsafe. Our shuttle even drove by and parked a block away, had a feeling this was due to the antics going on outside and not because the driver couldn't find the hostel. I would not walk outside late at night. Overall, the hostel is fine for a short stay, when you only need a place to sleep and shower!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiRiAmAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    38
    32
    13
    15
See reviews for
4
15
51
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

To start off Capital View has 2 locations.
I am only reviewing the one located on 301 I Street.
I chose Capital View Hostel based on reviews here on tripadvisor and stayed there in late March for 3 nights and did not know what to expect since I don’t have much hostel experience; but the price was reasonable.
Pros: They have a (no shoe policy) and adopted a great system where you come in and you can store all your shoes. Since the place is carpeted, it reduces the wear-&-tear and even keeps down the back and forth noise from constant foot traffic.
- Hot water with excellent water pressure for a good shower.
- All the common areas: computer room, living room kitchen etc. all well kept.
- Full kitchen! If your trip involves a couple of days, it doesn’t hurt to cook a quick bite and save money.
- Filtered water dispenser for you to refill (endlessly) your water bottles.
- Friendly young professional staff that also stays out of your way making you feel like its your home and feel comfortable.
- The rooms remain warm in the winter
- Clean bed sheets and comfortable bedding (only speaking on behalf of room 9) but I assume the rest of the house is much the same.

Cons:
- At times its hard to get hold of a staff member. Its usually 1 person who stays there overnight in their own room. But before 10am or after 10pm hard to find someone if you need something.
- Computer connections are slow, but they have wifi and its best to bring your own lab top if you need to be connected, (which can be stored and locked in the locker in your room)
- Showers and bathrooms are moldy. At times you can even smell it.
- Common areas appear tidy, but most of the time lack attention to detail. Example, fridge seems full but that’s because if full of molding food or empty bottles. Couches appear nice until you see a dirty t-shirt or sock covered by a nicely placed pillow. etc..
- Room 9 though clean was stuffy and hard to get any window open.

Hope my review helps you as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franko f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is the worst hostel I've stayed in. For what I assume are 50 beds there were only three working showers, and a few toilets. On my level, only one shower worked (very limited, and sporadic hot water), as well as a toilet. The sink you would usually expect to see in a bathroom was sitting on the floor, busted from the wall. There's nothing worse than exiting a toilet and not being able to wash your hands. Only marginally better are the first floor bathrooms where, although there is a sink, there is no soap.

The neighbourhood is terrible - while it's reassuring to see police cars patrolling the area you have to wonder why. Strip clubs and questionable late-night activities on nearby un-lit corners made for a worrying walk home.

The rooms themselves were actually okay, though loud noises throughout the night -- sirens, music blaring from cars outside, etc. -- disrupted sleep. They were reasonably clean, and the linen provided was comfortable enough. A lack of rubbish bins thought meant that rubbish piled up with nowhere to go (and never cleaned by staff).

The main couch in the living area on the ground floor had disgusting stains and an odd odour that would put off even the most daring guest, limiting options to relax after a long day. Three computers had Internet and were sufficient in speed, though nothing special.

I honestly can't think of a worse experience I've ever had, and wouldn't send my worst enemy there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMGet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed with my 14 peers about a week ago. The location is nice, its about 3 blocks away from the Judiciary Square station, and quite near to the Union Station. I walked to the National Mall as well, so it is quite near. I especially love the rooftop!
The facilitation is adequate, it has wi-fi all over the hotel. It has kitchen and the TV room as well. However, the trash can in the kitchen is rather discomforting, you can smell the pungent smell from a distance. The bathroom is also clean, but maybe a place to hang towels and put bathing needs would be a nice addition to the bathrooms. The rooms are also clean. Maybe a little bit tight for 4 persons, but still "liveable".
Overall, it is adequately nice!

Room Tip: Topmost floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cahyawardhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I stayed there with my other 14 friends and they facilitated us very well. The hostel is clean and i love the tv room+kitchen+free wifi.
Totally recommended for those who wants to stay on DC. Close to chinatown and union station also :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahmadani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2012

aim to please ..... they will do what it takes was unsure but everythaing was great !!

Room Tip: no pool ,,,this is d.c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marino d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hostel was a great place to stay for our mini stay in DC. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the kitchen, bathrooms and room were clean, and we loved the free wi-fi.
The location was great- close to the megabus stop and DC centre.
Our favourite was the rooftop terrace- and loved watching the stars from the hammocks.

I would recommend this place to anyone visiting..not really a party hostel but very friendly and sociable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hulahaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
275 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
801 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View

Property: Capital View
Address: 301 I St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2524
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capital View 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most centrally located hostel in Washington, DC. We are just blocks, and less than 10 minutes away from The Capitol, The Monuments, The Museums, and all of the major attractions in the Capital. Feel free to explore, or just spend the time on our roof top patio, and utilize our roof top pool and Jacuzzi access on weekdays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing