We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely be back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nellie's Sports Bar

Nellie's Sports Bar
Ranked #494 of 3,188 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Corner of 9th and U Streets NW
Transit: We are a block and a half East of the 10th street side of the U Street Cardozo Metro Station on the Green and Yellow Lines.
Description: Our name is a tribute to the eccentric and hospitable character of Doug Schantz's great grandmother. The welcoming and inclusive spirit of Nellie's Sports Bar is reflective of the lady who loved to entertain. Nellie's is unique because we are locally owned; serve as a meeting place for local amateur sports teams; feature an expansive rooftop deck with its own bar and amazing views; feature ten flat-panel TVs, a stadium-sized screen, and 3 distinct bars; serve a wide variety of food, including Nellie's-style lighter fare; Nellie's food portions are customizable for one person or the entire team; host a variety of distinctive special events; free WiFi; authentic Griffith Stadium sinks; antique showcases and historic photographs; elegant English pub room walls, stained-glass and back bar mirrors; eighteenth-century lighting fixtures from the Baltimore's Penn Station; unique signage, such as our "OPEN" sign and our vintage scoreboard
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hands down was so much fun! Didn't know what to expect being my first time. Wow, what a show. Food was good, show was amazing. Will be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Gray311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    32
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A raucous good time...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

this is a fun spot to gather with your gaggle of gays, have some wings, see and be seen... it feels very neighborhood-y and despite the fact that the place was PACKED, our service was remarkably good, and the food was just fine. If you're high-maintenance, this may not be the place for you, but if you know how to blend in and have a good time, you'll enjoy it. It flirty, loud and fun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank H Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hands Down, best "straight-friendly" sports bar in D.C.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I travel a lot for work so I have Been to many places all around the USA and the world. Nellies has a welcoming and down to earth vibe. You do not feel like you are on the catwalk like some bars in NYC. The food is amazing and much more exciting than you would expect. You can find your traditional bar grub like wings but also delicious Venezuelan treats like arepas and tequenos. It's a wonderful menu and there are well thought out drinks too.
This is a MUST in D.C. Not only is the place great, but it's welcoming to EVERYONE gay, straight, and anything else in between;). It has an outdoor balcony that is very happening. The drag brunch is delicious as well as entertaining. You must come here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank finallymercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Music, sports and fun, fun, fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Nellie's was pulsing with the beat of techno music, laughter and spring cherry-blossom energy on the hot and sunny April afternoon I visited. The Happy Hour crew included great representation by the LGBT community - this is obviously a happenin' place and how awesome to find it on a first visit to DC! Nellie's was packed on the upper level -- complete with outdoor smoking lounge -- but our friendly bartender got to us right away and even with the shoulder-to-shoulder action the crowd remained jolly and jovial. We ordered some cocktail snacks to go with the vodka & sodas, including French fries to nibble on. Guacamole was delish, as was the edamame. When I got home I realized I'd lost my black scarf somewhere at Nellie's - awesome! I'm looking forward to a return trip to look through what I'm sure is a very interesting lost-and-found box. This is a fairly nice, safeish neighborhood intermixed with small clubs and residences with reasonable opportunities to find decent side-street parking. If you're looking for drag queens, well-toned bodies and a lively atmosphere, don't miss Nellie's! And if it's too crowded, the bar across the street looked pretty darned lively, too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great spot for sport and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Good food, great offers, serving staff very friendly.... just an all round good spot.

We caught drag bingo which is exactly as fun and outragious as you would expect.

Helpful?
Thank Mark_NIron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nellie's Sports Bar also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Nellie's Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing