We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service, location, and price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #80 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Customer Service, location, and price!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We chose this hotel after having to cancel our Crown Plaza stay by Dulles International do to a flight cancellation. The reservation was easy enough and chose this one because of the hot tub/pool facility.

Our check-in is easy enough, and after driving for 8 hours, the only thing I want to do is soak in the hot tub and relax. Unfortunately, someone misplaced the plastic filter cover, which forced the spa to be closed. What luck. It was inoperable Thursday evening and all day Friday. We managed to wake up at the crack of dawn on Saturday to enjoy a few minutes of it before we had to drive back out. The front desk did make it up by offering us complimentary breakfast from the restaurant during our stay.

The rooms are spacious and comfy and those sleep number beds are out of control! My partner likes brick and I like a cloud. It was the perfect compromise. Free wireless also made the stay more enjoyable-- where other hotels in the area charged at least $10/day for their in-room wifi. Fridges and Microwaves in room are also a nice touch.

Valet was fairly efficient. Front desk was responsive with our requests for more coffee K-cups and to have our alarm clock replaced (ours wasn't working). The housekeeper we ran into in the elevator on Saturday morning was very friendly.

The price was great at $94/night for a spot close to the Capitol and anything else you can imagine. I'd recommend this for anyone coming into town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theatregeek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
668DavidD668, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear theatergeek7,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are glad you decided to stay downtown with us. I apologize for the inconvenience with the hot tub. You’re exactly right: it was a safety issue with the drain cover that forced us to temporarily close the hot tub until it could be properly reinstalled. It took a little longer than we liked to get the new cover- but could not risk operating without that critical part in place.

Thanks for letting everyone know about our comfortable beds and the other amenities you mentioned… and best of all the friendly housekeeper in the elevator. Our HK team is the heart of the hotel….. friendly and fearless no matter how big a mess some of you make! :)

We sincerely appreciate your business, hope to welcome you back soon!

David Del Russo
General Manager
david.del.russo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    453
    147
    59
    42
See reviews for
404
228
82
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great Staff, loved the front desk ladies, very competent, helpfull and friendly. Great housekeeping and the girl at the breakfast buffet was nice as well. This place is great. Nice lobby, business center, rooms, all of the facilities are great ! When your in DC this is the place to stay. Close to everything, spacious, comfortable and all the staff does everything to make sure your stay is great !!!

Room Tip: With our large family we got connecting rooms and it worked out just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear James,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are proud of our service and being recognized by our guests make it all the better. Please come back and see us again.

Rodrigo Arandia
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers, Fl
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very centrally located. The breakfast and dinner menus and quality was good. The housekeeping and maintenance service in the rooms left a lot to be desired. The rooms were smelly and the bathtub was filthy. We came back to a room with a dirty, disposable glove on the floor. With three children between two connecting rooms we had to sit them all on the bed and wait for the hotel staff to retrieve the glove, as we had no idea were it had been used. It took six visits from the staff to finally give us 3 towels and 2 bars of soap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank cherylFtMyers_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear cherylFtMyers_Fl ,

Thank you for your review and feedback. Please accept our most sincere apologies for what happened during your stay. We take great pride in our work so it’s very disheartening when we fail to meet our guests’ expectations. Please rest assured that we will be discussing this matter with our team to make sure that this incident does not repeat. In the meantime, please accept my apologies and we hope that you allow us an opportunity to make it up to you the next time you visit Washington DC. I promise that we will not disappoint.

Rodrigo Arandia
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Comfortable beds, clean spacious rooms, great breakfast. Located next door to two restaurants in addition to the one inside the hotel. A grocery store and pharmacy are a block away. Metro station is several blocks away. It is a safe area, and a great jumping off place for seeing the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank radar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Wonderful people, pleasant, helpful and very accomodating. Every one of them! Nice room, clean and great security for a reasonable price. I have stayed here twice in the last 4 months, and I would gladly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank llbarry54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Close to everything in DC, nice amenities. Quiet and secure. Internet worked great, and very close to nice eating places. Bar and restaurant eating experience was very good. Metro stop is a quick 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at the hotel during a brief visit to DC. The service from the GM and his staff was exclellent, the hotel clean and comfortable. Hotel is 5-10 mins away from the main sightseeing areas and retaurant options are limited. Close to the metro.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Redwov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#84 of 141 in Washington DC
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Phoenix Park Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
302 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing