We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #85 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Lovely room, great food and good wine choice and a staff that makes you feel like you are at home. This is a great place for a business traveler. Comfortable work space. Would also be great for families. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swhite58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Excellent value and superb guest service. What a great place to stay while in DC. Very convenient to the Metro/Bikeshare. Walking distance to Union Station and Capitol HIll. Staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: HIghest even number rooms have the best views of the Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was great!! Everyone who worked there was always smiling and so polite. Very nice rooms. Modern and comfortable. The breakfast at the restaurant was great! Had just about anything you could possible want and for a decent price. The only downfall for me is that I smoke and it is a smokefree hotel. But that isn't anybodys fault but my own. Also, it is more than a short walk to all the museums. We walked but by the time you get there you dont want to walk anymore. But other than those two things it was a great hotel!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

First time in this hotel, so location was nice, close to the red line, hotel seems to be somewhat up to date in décor and amenities. The restaurant was OK, nothing to write home about. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only real down fall on this hotel was the beds, very hard. The area surrounding the hotel has a limited restaurants choices.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSecure98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This Hilton property is located in a great location in Washington D.C. I was greeted by a friendly smile at the curb and the front desk staff were friendly and efficient in checking me in. The room was nothing less than outstanding! As I encountered hotel maintaince and cleaning staff, I was always properly greeted and asked if I needed any assistance. I highly recommend the Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel was in an up and coming area, but maybe not the best location for a family with younger children. The room was very good looking. We were just settling in to the room when we noticed a cockroach near the coffee maker. Although the staff were accommodating we still decided to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hutchinson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback with your most recent stay. I was shocked to see the comment about a cockroach in your room. We have never had any issues with even an ant in any of our guestrooms as long as I've been here. We actually perform monthly pest control preventative maintanence where most hotels only perform it quarterly if even that much. Please contact me at your convenience so I can find out in more detail your experience. Thanks very much.

Anthony McKitrick
Assistant General Manager
202-534-1342

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel was great. It is about six blocks behind Union Station, so if you have an early train to catch the location is perfect. Ten minute walk or two minutes by cab. The Red Line Metro is right behind it, the first stop after Union Station. The hotel itself is very clean and modern, with a small but perfectly accommodating lobby. The staff were very friendly and prompt. I have to say that among front desk staffs, this was one of the best. Good humored and helpful. I was with my teenaged son (who has autism) and they could not have been nicer.

When we checked in we were given a pretty impressive list of opportunities to eat and drink and swim and exercise as guests of the hotel. They offer receptions with food and beverages, and generally try to keep the guests amused. We didn't attend any but wish that we could have.

The room did not appear to be an upgrade, so I think that I am discussing a pretty standard accommodation. It was quite quiet and clean and had what we needed. It was not huge, but we had plenty of space. There was a large very modern (and unfortunately uncomfortable) chair, an ottoman, a desk, flat screen TV, dedicated bed reading lights (nice touch, especially with outlets next to them for charging the phones.) So many places don't have enough outlets but this did. The wifi worked well and was free because of frequent Hilton stays. The bed was clean and comfortable with some system for adjusting it that we did not try. It was fine as is. A good night's sleep. Included breakfast was good.

I was especially grateful for the small fridge and microwave. The hotel is adjacent to a very nice Harris-Teeter grocery store, which was beautifully stocked with many prepared and other foods. Because of my son's quirky palate and social issues, it is easier to avoid crowded and noisy restaurants, so this was an unexpected bonus. If you have a family or just don't want to dine alone in a restaurant, this grocery store was a terrific option for healthful and/or convenient meals. We even were able to get what we needed for a picnic on the train, so did not have to have a microwaved hot dog or juggle a fast food package from the station. We saved money and had a fantastic train meal that made the other passengers envious, thanks to the fridge, microwave and location of the hotel. Well done. There is also a CVS across the street and several restaurants within a minute or two, so it is hard to lack for anything.

We needed some cabs and if you give them a bit of notice (10-15 minutes) one will be waiting for you. The front desk clerk even escorted us out to make sure no one took the cab ordered for us!

Although I stay in a lot of Hiltons I think this may have been my first time in a Garden Inn. It won't be my last. I have stayed in most hotels in DC by now (or at least it seems that way) and while this was not the fanciest or most prestigious, it was entirely comfortable, low-key, clean, well-situated, and did not nickel and dime you to death for every little amenity. It makes me crazy to stay at a luxury hotel blocks from this one and pay $15/night for the internet, or be forced to use the in-house room service at ripoff rates if all I want is a light meal and some privacy. This was so convenient to the Metro and train station that the entire city was at your fingertips. New go-to hotel for DC. And did I mention that the rate was half of what I usually pay for DC hotels? For the price, it was a real treat.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with no adjacent/shared door so it would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank withkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write so many wonderful things about the hotel. It sounds as though you put a lot of time and effort into it which means we really must have had a positive impact on your experience here in D.C. We really hope to see you again soon!

Anthony McKitrick
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
2,662 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#114 of 141 in Washington DC
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $138 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing