We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel and at a great price.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great hotel and at a great price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great hotel for its price structure. Not that far away from things and if you don't want to walk taxis are plentiful. At the breakfast bar there were made to order omelets - YUM! The wine is pricey at the bar but that is typical for a hotel. The parking was decently priced compared to other hotels in the area. There is a Harris Teeter next door that is open until midnight. Really a great experience and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks very much for the great comments about our hotel. We're really glad you enjoyed everything! We hope to see you again soon.

Anthony McKitrick
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    403
    130
    54
    37
See reviews for
357
207
75
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Allamuchy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is located about 6 blocks (easy walk) north of Washington Union Train Station, and 2 short blocks from the NoMA / Galaudett Metro station.

The hotel is clean, modern in its amenities, quiet, and convenient. It has the feel of a very good European hotel. An on-premises restaurant serves a great breakfast.

Rooms are well appointed, the staff is knowledgeable and helpful in all respects.

Great location if traveling to DC on business as well as an excellent place to start and end a day of sightseeing in the capital.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside part of the building (even numbered rooms). All rooms are quiet. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwavelingTweedies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very nice quiet hotel in the City center. Great beds, TV and channel lineup, good shower, nice breakfast and very courteous staff. The Food and Service at B. Smith's at the Historic Train Station and The District Chop House were both excellent.

Room Tip: Great central location plus a very nice large grocery store next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank big10sjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I recently stayed here and instantly fell in love with the property. I had looked it up online before I booked it but the pictures do it no justice. This hotel is out of this world beautiful!! Plus, it lies in the heart of DC near the best attractions. On top of it being a beautiful property, the service i received was amazing! Everyone was very hospitable, warm, welcoming, and friendly. Also, before I arrived I had been corresponding with the sales coordinator Lois Evan. She is true gem and asset to your property!! She was very professional, accomodating, and patient during our correspondence. I had many questions and she was right there to answer them. She also played a huge part in me choosing this porperty. Lois, is definitely a model employee and you guys are ever so lucky to have her.

Let me not forget to talk about the breakfast. The breakfast was out of this world!! My friends and I made it our business to have breakfast. The wait staff was great and right there whenever we needed them. Everything about this property from the location, to the staff, to the food, and the ambiance made my stay every penny worth staying. Every time I come to DC I will only stay at this property. There's nothing like receiving 5 star service and it being delivered across the board from the beginning to end.

THIS IS TRULY THE GREATEST PLACE ON EARTH!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
HI Cathy,

I'm so excited after reading your enthusiastic review! I'm so glad we made your experience unforgettable and that Lois went above and beyond to take care of you. She is a true assett and we are very lucky to have her on our team! We hope to see you again soon when you return to Washington.

Anthony McKitrick
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is in the booming NoMa district, so staying in a neighborhood has its perks with a grocery store and Starbucks on the same street. The Metro is a short walk away, and it is very close to Capitol Hill. This was my second stay here, and the staff are very nice and are attentive to any issues that arise. I travel to DC a lot and this is by far my favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carriep75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights while in DC. The location is pretty good. I walked to the mall and surrounding sites everyday and it wasn't bad. It is a lot of walking but as long as you have a good pair of gym shoes, you'll be fine. Plus I crammed a lot of site seeing in those 3 days so I think I walked more than most would. The service was fantastic. I arrived an hour before check in but they gave me a room right away. The first night, I had a hard time sleeping as the bed was very soft. I talked to the front desk and they said the bed was adjustable which I didn't know or see anything in the room to tell me that. But the front desk gave me a voucher for breakfast and to my surprise, when I got back to my room, there was a tray of cheese, crackers, and fruit waiting for me. The next two nights were much better as I adjusted the bed to my liking. I was on the second floor in an inner room away from the street. It was quiet, spacious and the room was clean. Pretty basic but not bad. There was a microwave which was handy to reheat leftovers. An in room safe would have been nice but they do have one at the front desk you can use. This hotel was the least expensive one within walking distance to everything and I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and service. I was very satisfied with my stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubsgirl017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Loved this hotel. I was planning my 10 year high school reunion from across the country and setting up a room block for my classmates to be able to stay in DC to encourage them to stay the night and not drive back to the suburbs after the reunion fun. Not only is the Hilton brand new and gorgeous, the hotel was right across the street from the venue & very affordable. Lois, the sales manager at the Hilton, made it easy for many classmates to make the decision to stay the night! She offered a very competitive rate (the Marriott which is an older hotel and would have been further from our reunion venue quoted me significantly higher!) and her customer service was awesome. Being the organizer of the event there was a lot of pressure to make sure things ran smoothly and I can't thank Lois and the friendly staff at the hotel for making the booking process easy for our classmates (she even extended the room rate for us for an extra week since some were procrastinating to book!) and in turn making me look good.

I got several compliments from my classmates how great of a stay they had at the hotel and I personally really enjoyed my lovely suite (complete with not just 1 flat screen TV, but 2) and I loved the business center, which came in handy on the day of my event since I needed to print out the most updated guest list, etc. (all for free of course). Definitely a must stay, walking distance to the metro and close to sightseeing. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Corner suite with a view of Ibiza nightclub was awesome - big city feel but still quite when you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#74 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#102 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#76 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing