We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #76 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
fort worth
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The service at this hotel is very good.

Everything was clean, and within walking distance to most attractions.

The rooms are kind of small, but great for the price!

There is a restaurant next door named Cosi that serves delicious sandwiches. Check them out

We would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dereckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    432
    139
    57
    39
See reviews for
382
220
79
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
THE VILLAGES
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

There is a Harris Teeters (spelling) a couple of doors away with meals and groceries. Hotel room is spotless. Enjoyed the stay. The metro is close by as is Union Station. There is coffee in the lobby in the morning along with hot water for tea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mokey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I didn't even stay at this hotel, however as I was on my way to work, I found myself in a situation where I was stranded. No Cash, no Credit Cards, not even my phone to order a cab. The Door men did their best to help me try and find a cab to take me to my office and then pay them when I arrived to no avail. They then directed me to the front desk. At first I was helped by Nikita who called my office, and then when the call did not go through, allowed me to use the business center so that I could contact a coworker to pick me up. Unfortunately my corporate email locked me out before I could really contact anyone. I was able to grab a number for a CoWorker, and Latoya called them for me. When they did not answer, Latoya seeing how distressed I was about the whole situation asked me where I worked and then gave me the money to take the metro to work. Rare is the day when people are so kind or so generous to each other when they have no guarantee of a reward. This goes beyond customer service. The people who work at this hotel are hands down, good people. Any company that hires such people will make a customer out of me, and you can bet your bottom I will be staying at a Hilton on my next travel.

Room Tip: Just ask the front desk people. They are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly and the hotel is very boutique, not you usual Hilton, being quiet small it has a unique nature about it. It is located a little out of the action however in a nice part of town, a short walk from Union Station. It is quite new and the room is very comfortable and a good size.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelmo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello!

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Please come back and see us again soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel has a good location, and it feels like a straight forward, no-nonsense option. They have a microwave and a coffee machine in the room, and the mini fridge is empty, so it's perfect if you want to get your own food. They have a 24h pantry at the lobby with any essencials you may need. Rooms are clean and well furnished, and the heating system is great.
Just don't rely on the vending machines and on their dry cleaning service. They have a laundry room you can use, I should have done it myself. The vending machine ate my quarters and the dry cleaners didn't send back a piece of clothing, and was not at all professional about it.
Anyway, the restaurant is great, and so is their breakfast buffet. Definetly coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello!

Thanks so much for taking time to review our new hotel! I am so happy to hear that there are so many things you enjoyed but also sorry that you experienced challenges with our laundry services. If you were not reimbursed for your missing shirt by the dry cleaning company we will be happy to do so. Please contact me directly and I will personally handle for you. I do hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our daughter lives a few blocks away so this hotel is very close. This Hilton Garden Inn is just fantastic is so many ways. I'll start with the staff because this is often the weakest area in a hotel but here it was the strongest. Everyone and I mean everyone on the staff was on point all the time showing us one of the most professionally run operations we have ever seen. We asked for a quiet room but for those who like excitement, request one facing the road and club across the street and you will have plenty to watch. The rooms are very neat and clean and the beds are firm and comfortable. A/C and heat worked great and there is complimentary WiFi which works exceptionally well. Our room had a refrigerator, microwave and safe which are important. Having the supermarket next door is perfect. Plenty of coffee and tea in the AM, and lemonade and tea in the afternoon in the lobby. Nice sitting area on 2nd floor.

Our only issue was lack of hot water one morning but the staff told us they were fixing it and by the evening it was fine. Hey, anyone can experience a mechanical issue so we easily give them a pass on this. We parked at our daughter's apartment which is nice because parking is always an expensive option in any big metro area.

We did not eat at the hotel.

Room Tip: Like excitement? face the road, like quite? face the back or go way up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbdenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing