We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Experience and Exceptional Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #74 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Florham Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience and Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton Garden Inn in Washington DC myself and have also used it when I make travel and conference arrangements for my company. Lois Evans was terrific helping me to arrange a stay for a large group of people with disabilities. The hotel is very accomodating and accessible. Recently our partners had a meeting in Washington and Lois' attention to detail was very helpful and made them feel welcome. The front desk staff are also very pleasent and caring. The hotel is close to the metro, shops, food etc. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    387
    124
    51
    36
See reviews for
345
195
71
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Smithville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Extremely surprised how much I enjoyed this hotel. Every single staff member was pleasant and helpful from check in to check out. For two women traveling with three young children, 9, 7, & 6, we felt very safe and taken care of at this hotel. Noise was not a problem, the walk to the Metro was around the block, and the grocery store, CVS, Starbucks, and McDonalds were pleasantly close. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, we had enough space for the five of us & the kids loved the pool. My only minor complaint is the light for the bathroom is not in the bathroom it is an awkard place. That is it! Our train home was later in the day so they were accommodating enough to give us a later check out with no problem. I would definitely stay there again, with or without kids.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Quigs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Good Afternoon!

It's great to hear everything went so well and the kids had an enjoyable time as well! Come back and stay with us again soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed eleven days last month. Excellent service; outstanding staff; good food. During the hurricane, they handled it very well, all happy and safe. The best location in DC, very simple to catch a taxi any time of day. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner room if you can, good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Good Afternoon!

I am so glad that you had a great experience, even with Hurricane Sandy affecting the weather. Come back and see us on your next trip to The District.

Sincerely,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn is not a typical hotel we would stay in while in a large city but we choose it for location between Verizon Center and Fedex Field and with being unfamiliar with the area that was our basic criteria. We are Diamond Member with Hilton so it seemed like a good bet.

We pulled up front of the hotel, 4pm Friday November 2nd and were greeted right away by the guys working the door (bell men) and the Valet. They had our luggage on the cart and my car whisked away in less than 5 minutes. The lobby is small but very clean and fresh. They have drinks and cookies available. Also a small "store" for you to purchase food for your room.

Overall we found the front desk staff to be unhelpful. I was surprised each time. Perhaps it was a bad weekend but that didn't affect our time there. The guys on the door were always ready to get you a taxi, hold the door or answer questions and very friendly. The restaurant and cleaning personnel were great! Big smiles and welcomes.

Our room on the 13th floor had 2 queen beds, a big desk and a small chair and table area. It was a perfect room for our needs this trip. We had free wifi and breakfast with our offer. We found the breakfast to be very good. Omelets, pancakes, waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal and fruit.. much more too.

Outside the hotel is a night club Ibiza but we never saw or heard anything from it. This hotel is in an up and coming area. A nice grocery store next to it where I got bathsoaps, wine and snacks.. (good mix)...lol

On the other side is a POTBELLY Deli.. We had really great sandwiches there too.

This is a good hotel. Most importantly clean, safe and offers a great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for providing such a detailed review of the hotel. As a Diamond member I know that you stay in many hotels and it means a great deal that you had such a great experience while staying with us. I hope that you choose our hotel again on your next trip to Washington!

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel is a little bit off the beaten path - NOMA is a very much upcoming area and there isn't much as far as restaurants and the like.

HOWEVER -

STAFF - 5 stars.
BAR - 5 stars
FOOD / VALUE in bar - 5 stars
BREAKFAST - 5 stars


I travel about 200ish days a year. This property is a breath of fresh air, and as a Hilton Diamond (with a giraffe) - i don't say that very often.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milguy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello!

Thank you so much for ranking us 5 STARS all around! We love our Diamond members and I thank you so very much for your loyalty to Hilton! Hurry back soon!

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Oregon
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The customer service and staff was some of the best I've experienced. The bed was uncomfortable. Okay value for the money. Quiet neighborhoond. Starbucks nearby. Proximity (next door) to a good supermarket (Harris Teeter) that serves buffet meals a plus. Really easy to reach from the Metro line (NoMa station). The weekend rates were very reasonable. Don't know if I'd pay that amount for weekdays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thanks for taking a moment to tell us about your stay. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our adjustable beds, but I am glad that overall you had a great experience!

Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
209 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

You aren't going to get good value in.DC, so you may as well get good service. They have a very helpful staff who greets you with a smile. The Harris Teeter next door saved us during Hurricane Sandy. If you need a hotel in the Noma district, this is the one to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandemBikeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello!

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, even through Hurricane Sandy! Come back and see us again very soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#73 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,369 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing