We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #84 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel was new, modern and clean. The location is great although it was not very close to tourist locations. The hotel is near newly built office buildings and condos. There is a grocery store, sandwich shop and CVS within a few feet of the hotel. NoMa metro stop (red line) is behind the hotel. The staff was friendly, polite and attentive, especially Cedric at the front desk. We only ate at the hotel's restaurant once for breakfast. It waa disappointing - the bacon was burned and the omlet was not the best I've ever had. The room was spacious and clean. There was a glass shower in the bathroom but no tub. The electric bathroom mirror was a nice addition. My only issue was the bed and A/C. Although the mattress was a Sleep Number, it was very hard and very uncomfortable no matter how I attempted to adjust it. The A/C could not be lowered past 65 degrees which was frustrating when the warm got too warm. Overall a good experience for the excellent rate I received through Hotel Tonight.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ka24howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Hello!

I am so happy to hear you liked our new, modern hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast and have shared your comments with our Food & Beverage team. However, I am thrilled that you had a great overall experience. Come back soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,100 - 1,106 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our expectations were surpassed EVERY time we had a venue with them. We have had 4 different experiences with them and every single member of the various teams they have working in the hotel/restaurant check in and make sure that our every need has been taken care of. Working with Jim Rizzo, Lois Evans and other staff ensures that our business will return again and again...I have been so impressed that even when I need to stay in DC for personal reasons, I don't even consider going anywhere else. I feel welcomed, remembered and respected. THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: The corner rooms afford you a wonderful view but if over First St on a weekend, the nose from the Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Hello!

Thank you for giving the hotel such a great review. Jim & Lois are delighted to be recognized! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I visited the DC area in April for a business conference. Some of the past reviews had negative comments but I must say I have none.
The staff was phenomenal from the minute I checked in until the day I left. The room was clean and I had a beautiful Capitol view. I would recommend this location which was a short walk to the Metro and also having the Harris Teeter grocery store on the corner was great. Walked to the capitol and many of the city's attractions and monuments. Would recommend this location and will stay again on my next trip to DC.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Hello!

I am so happy you enjoyed everything about your stay and the surrounding area. Come back and see us soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Great room, fridge and microwaive, harris teeter next door . Never had to
Eat out. Staff very friendly and helpful. Short walk to subway (no-mo station). Pool perfect size to see child while in hot tub. They provide pool towels.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyaflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thanks for providing such a nice review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I travel about 2.5 weeks per month and am a faithful Hilton Honors member, and this one deserves mention. Picked this one because of its AAA price and general proximity tocapital bldgs. Rooms were outstanding, and hospitality of all staff was extraordinary, vrom the maid who helped me get in the room, to the maintenance guy who volunteered to increase the water pressure in my room, to the restaurant mgr who let me use a table for a business mtg through breakfast and into lunch. The only negative is how the bathroom doors are positioned and if not shut, swing open to the walkway. (Count on hitting it late at night if you don't turn a light on.) All an all, a GREAT Hilton property.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOATDirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Hello,

WOW...I am so happy that you had so many great encounters with our team. We look forward to providing you with another great experience on your next trip to DC!

Thanks for choosing us!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Me and a friend recently stayed here for a few nights in early August. The pictures do not do it justice! The hotel is absolutely stunning!!! The staff was great, specifically William who helped us tremendously and was so nice! The attached restaurant was pretty and also served excellent food at a decent price. I will agree and say it is not located in the most attractive location, but that is only because there is a lot of construction. I would imagine once the area is done being built it will be a beautifully located hotel.

The only complaint I have would be the pressure in the sink. It was pitiful and borderline unusable. I ended up using the bathtub faucet for everything. I would imagine that this wasn't a problem with every room, just ours, because I haven't seen anything about it in the other reviews. It certainly wasn't something that would deter me from staying here again, it was just annoying. Oh also, the beds are very firm even when set to the softest level. This wasn't a problem for me, but if you need a soft bed be warned.

Overall I had a great stay and I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful and new hotel and I am so happy that you enjoyed it so much.

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Each time I travel to DC for business, I stay at this hotel. Lois Evans in Sales has always taken care of everything that I need. Each time I call Lois with last minute details, she has gone above and beyond to address the situation. The hotel is clean and the staff is extremely friendly. The location is great and prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PavH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Good Day!

Lois was so excited to see your comments! Thank you for being loyal to us!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,662 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#114 of 141 in Washington DC
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $138 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing