We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #82 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a new, elegant, very clean hotel just one stop by metro from Union Station. My room was huge and very comfortable, with a great bed that can be adjusted for firmness. The complimentary internet service (both wifi and cable, the latter available in the room) worked well. Soundproofing was not perfect, I could hear every single guest opening and closing their doors (but otherwise the room on the 11th floor was quiet). Almost all staff members were very friendly, although at checkin I had some problems using the Hilton family rate (booked by my sister who works for Hilton)... I had to explain everything to three different teams of receptionists and they didn't really agree with each others' viewpoints concerning the exaxt rules of this rate... but at the end I paid what I was supposed to. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: On the upper floors - the restaurant on th 2nd floor seemed to be very popular and it was noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiloptaelanevemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,166 - 1,172 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is such a nice hotel! Evidently Hilton is reinventing this brand because this new hotel is gorgeous and has a destination chef-driven restaurant inside. My room is huge and quiet as a tomb. The bed has a sleep number dial for firmness, and the work area is better than my office. And the staff is super nice! I travel almost every week and this place is the best surprise I've had in years.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallas David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I am very disappointed with Hilton Inn in this regard. I have tried to use my livingsocial voucher that I paid $133 to stay specificically at this hotel, however they have repeatedly told me that there was no availabilty for rooms when using livingsocial coupon. I called other times and got a room booked immediately without any question when I did not mention this voucher. This is a sad day when a company this large is unwilling to honor a deal that they had with the purchaser. Unfortunatly, by next month the coupon will expire without the opportunity to even use it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank traveler1212123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Thank you for your comments but I think a can clear this up for you.

The promotion you were looking for was offered at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Capitol, not the Downtown location. Please see the link below:

http://www.livingsocial.com/escapes/243114-luxury-capitol-hill-hotel?msdc_id=1-washington-d-c

That is why when you asked for a Living Social discount, none were available because it is not offered but you were able to book at a regular rate. If the agents behind the desk did not know of a Living Social discount, they were not attempting to be unhelpful but they are not aware of the promotions the other hotel may be running.

I hope the helps! I want you to be happy and if you contact me I will work with you to resolve the matter.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I arrived to find the only parking was $30.00 overnight and valet. Hummm, what did AA Vacations get me into? A wonderful experience the parking valet was polite, through, with the instructions for payment and retrieving my rental car.

My experience with the front desk personnel was world class, since I usually stay in http://www.lhw.com/ properties I know what I am speaking of when it comes to service and professionalism. Whitney and Katrina were both very professional, friendly and informative my entire stay with the hotel.

I had a problem with my HDTV and Keith the on-duty engineer was to the room in less than 5 minutes. He was professional, knowledgeable about the equipment and out of my room in 2 minutes. I usually don't take the time to write reviews but this is a jewel called pearl in NW side of D.C. Thanks folks

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clbutler152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I paid $238 a night (plus tax) for a king room with free wifi, free breakfast (Hilton Honors) and a spacious bathroom with a great shower. In comparison to the prices charged in other parts of DC this is amazing value for money. In addition, there's a pool and gym which I didn't use this time so can't add anything.

I was on a business trip and was within walking distance of my office. But I would reckon that the hotel is also well located for the Capitol and all the museums and monuments in that area. And if you're arriving by train it's an easy walk to Union Station.

The other really pleasant, and I've got to say surprising, element of the hotel is how friendly and helpful the staff are.

I'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Atmosphere very calm and serene. Rooms and facilities clean. Quiet neighborhood on weekends (during the day). Close to many attractions. Great restaurant/bar on 2nd floor. Night club across the street if you are into clubs. All around one of the best stays in the area for that price range. Wasn't overpriced. Beds were a little firm. Offers Free Wi-Fi in rooms and in lobby, always a plus.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Evolution room (King) basic room pretty big enough space for friends or clients for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EC528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Our family (my husband, I and our 2 kids) spent a Christmas vacation in this hotel.
We quite enjoyed staying there. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We found a reasonable price on kayak site – around 90$ including all taxes.
There is a big grocery store in the same building that sells prepared food as well.
Metro station is located in 2 minutes walking from hotel, and US capitol is just one metro station from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank inna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#84 of 141 in Washington DC
2,648 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $100 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing