We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sightseeing”

City Sightseeing Washington DC
Ranked #62 of 139 Tours in Washington DC
Attraction details
usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“sightseeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was a very good trip and educational for my grandson. had a blast. We also took a duck tour that was awesome. Would go back again to finish the trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gingerelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    41
    21
    8
    39
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tour of the monuments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We took a sightseing tour with Clara Champ (301) 423-0252 .3415 Weltham Street, Maryland, she is a licensed tour guide. She will pick you up and drop you off wherever you like. She is a delightful charming older woman that gave us plenty of history and information about the DC area and the monuments that we saw. Clara drove us to all the monuments and the white house, she drops you off at each site and gives you plenty of time to look around, you just go back to the car when you're done. Clara will only take up to 4 people at a time. This worked out perfectly for us because we didn't want a big bus tour group and we didn't want to wak to all the monuments (our feet were tired from all the walking we had already done). Clara does several different tours. I highly recommend taking a tour with her.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy43493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Washington DC visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to Washington DC to see the cherry blossom. It is so beautiful that everybody must go during that period of time. Besides the weather during this month is excellent, not so cold so you can walk a lot, go with your walking shoes. Museums are free and you can learn a lot, going with your children is a must to teach them why we are living in the best country of the world. We advise using public transportation, metro is excellent. Bring your camera because the city is incredible.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Cherry Blossoms 4-2013 in Washington, DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This year's cherry blossoms are peaking now around the Tidal Basin in Washington, DC. The weather got very warm the last couple of days and they just popped out. They are amazing and I recommend anyone in the DC area to see them. You should consider taking public transportation although we took a car yesterday in the late afternoon and found parking, but it it hit or miss. You may end up in some nasty traffic nightmares, especially on the weekend. Since the cherry blossoms are very weather-controlled, it's difficult to plan a vacation around them. Last year, they arrived almost a month earlier in March with a warmer weather pattern. Walking around the Tidal Basin presents the best views or perhaps pedaling with a paddle boat which some rent. Boat cruises are available from Washington Marina, but their route does not include the Tidal Basin. This year the Washington Monument does have scaffolding around the bottom half of it, so photos may not be ideal or as picturesque. However, the Jefferson Memorial captures everyone's interest as it's encircled by the blossoms. Enjoy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SUZSVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Drive into D.C. and use public parking facilities vs. Metro, especially for large families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were in D.C. for three days and couldn't afford Metro tickets for our entire family, so we looked up D.C. area public parking sites. For $18-$23, we parked in a parking garage and stayed the day in D.C. We were there right before Spring Break, so this may contribute to the ease of driving into D.C. at 9:30-10 am each morning. The first morning we parked in the L'Enfante Plaza Hotel parking. This was a great alternative to the expense of 7 people riding the Metro! Definitely check into this and save money. Our favorite stops were Arlington National Cemetery's changing of the guard, the Smithsonian American History museum, and walking the National mall to see the monuments! FYI, the Natural History Museum does have many life-like statues of naked men and women unashamedly on display; and the entire museum, of course, is centered around the teachings of evolution. In the past, we toured the Capitol through our Senator's office, and that was our favorite stop then. Make sure you schedule a tour well in advance of your visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SandP H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Washington DC also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing