We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best people you could find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
International House of Washington
Reviewed October 12, 2011

the room great, with spacious lockers where two big luggage fit easily, the bath great, the place great, the people INCREDIBLE.

i had a serious problem and they helped me as real friends!
and this was AFTER my stayed....

absolutely selfless help from all the staff.

RON, an outstanding person.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JFDBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 35 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. It is within easy walking distance of all of the major sights; however, there is a nearby metro station should you want to use that. There are also a couple of bikeshare racks nearby as well.

From the outside the place looks a little worn; however, after entering you will encounter a fun, friendly, and knowledgeable staff that takes all effort to make you comfortable.

Thank you to Ron and Greg for organizing events and giving advice as to what sights to see and when to see them.

On the downside the continental breakfast is very spartan. Toast and Tang.

Stay here hostel goers. Great value!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamiltonTraveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Me and my two friends we're travelling down the East coast from England and we stopped here for 3 nights whilst in Washington DC!
Great location, can walk everywhere which was a bonus as we were on a bit of a budget!
It was a lovely hostel, friendly atmosphere and had everything you could need! after what felt like an age on a bus we were glad to have a nice shower!!
We we're also around when the Fringe Festival was on and we saw (by recommendation) a comedy show which was a great memory to have from Washington!
I'd also like to mention Greg, we arrived a bit bewildered from New York and he helped us soooo much with a problem we had from our previous hostel, he was so nice and made sure we had an enjoyable stay so THANK YOU! :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_Peanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

The hostel has a private ensuite room but the noisy is terrible at night. Across the street is a music playing venue that goes on all night and if it rains, the rain makes a drumming noise against the A/C unit in the room.

The bathroom has a small sink and bathtub, as well as an unpleasant smell emitting from those aroma wall plug.

There is access to 2 kitchens and a washing/dryer machine.
The distance to attractions is a short walk and there is a convenience store about 3 mins away from the hostel.

If noise is not an issue, then it's a perfect stay. The price is affordable, there is free coffee, free internet and phone calls, and they have helpful staff on site.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjo008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel_Aguiar1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amaurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown Washington Hostel
#5 of 48 in Washington DC
165 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Capital View
Capital View
#16 of 48 in Washington DC
127 reviews
HI Washington DC Hostel
#2 of 48 in Washington DC
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duo Housing
#6 of 48 in Washington DC
253 reviews
DC Lofty
#18 of 48 in Washington DC
157 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International House of Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House of Washington

Address: 1110 6th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-3629 (Formerly International House of Unitedl Tel)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing